AAA

Warwickshire Industrial Archaeology Society
SITES DATABASE

TESTING PAGE BETA VERSION

SORT THE COLUMNS USING THE BLACK ARROWS – UP AND DOWN.
TOP LEFT BOX SETS NUMBER OF RECORDS TO DISPLAY – UP TO 100.
TOP RIGHT BOX IS A SEARCH ENGINE – TYPE IN A FEW LETTERS OR NUMBERS.
DIRECT LINK TO PHOTOS – FIRST THREE RECORDS DEMO – CLICK ON THE PHOTO NUMBER AND THE ALBUM WILL OPEN IN A NEW TAB – A FEW SCONDS LATER THE RELEVANT PHOTO WILL APPEAR.

IDNameOS mapNGRDistrictLocationIndustryAccessDescriptionPic Ref
1Coventry Canal Basin140SP333796COVBishop Street, CoventryCanal:WharvesAA canal basin at the termination of the Coventry Canal in Coventry. A twin basin completed in 1769 with a mix of older features and modern redevelopment. The former includes weighbridge office, crane, coal storage vaults and canal-side wharves with canopies.0001
2Coat of Arms Bridge140SP325767COVCoat of Arms Bridge Road, CoventryRail:BridgesAA masonry arch bridge carrying the line of the Coventry to Leamington railway line over Coat of Arms Bridge Road. Built 1844. Bears the coat of arms of the Gregory family who owned the land through which the railway passes. Engineer Robert Dockray.0002
3Coleshill Bridge139SP199895NORColeshillRoad:BridgesAA six span masonry arch bridge carrying a road over the River Cole. Originally built in the 15th or 16th century but widened in brick in 1900 on the east side. Arches span between 12ft 9in to 13ft 3in.0003
4Seeswood Reservoir140SP329905NORB4102 road, Nuneaton to FillongleyCanal:ReservoirsVAn early canal reservoir, probably the earliest when built in 1764. Supplied water to the private canal system at Arbury Hall built by Sir Roger Newdigate. Unusually there is a (later) lock through the embankment to allow boats to enter the reservoir. (Lock now disused and forming the spillway.)0004
5Chesterton Windmill151SP348594STRChestertonPower:WindVA unique tower windmill dating from 1632. The circular arcaded base of the windmill is surmounted by the first floor housing the two pairs of stones above which is the rotating domed timber cap with four common sails with a diameter of 60ft. Built for Sir Edward Peyto.0005
6Warwick Gas Works151SP275656WARBirmingham Road, WarwickPower:GasVThe site of one of the earliest gas works in the world. The original buildings, erected in 1822 included the two existing octagonal towers which contained the gas holders. In 1905 an office block was erected between the towers. Other buldings to the rear have been demolished.0006
7Tile Hill Water Tower140SP272763COVCromwell Lane, CoventryWater:TowersVThis large prominent water tower was erected in 1932. It is a reinforced concrete tower with a capacity of 300,000 gallons. The tank is supported by a central shaft and prominent reinforced concrete ribs. It is now out of use.0007
8Mill Road Bridge151SP322656WARJephson Gardens, Leamington SpaRoad:BridgesAA suspension footbridge between Mill Road and Jephson Gardens. Built 1903, designed by Wiliam de Normanville. Span 100ft. The bridge is supported by wrought iron rods extending from the tops of the two towers to the handrail truss, a design which foreshadows the modern cable stayed suspension bridge.0008
9Bearley Aqueduct151SP162609STRNear Bearley, WarwickshireCanal:AqueductsAThe second longest cast iron aqueduct in Britain. 14 spans of about 34ft. with a total length of 498ft. The waterway is carried in a cast iron trough with the towpath alongside level with the base of the trough. Engineer William Whitmore, completed in 1816.0009
10Tramway Bridge151SP206548STROver River Avon in Stratford upon AvonRail:BridgesAA nine arch brick bridge woth semi-elpitical arches built in 1826 to carry the line of the Stratford and Moreton Tramway over the River Avon. It was the largest structure on the tramway which was one of Britain's earliest railways. Engineer James Rastrick. Now used as a public footpath.0010
11Binley Bridge140SP369786COVBinley Road, CoventryRoad:BridgesAAn early reinforced concrete bridge, built in 1911 with a single segmental arch of 36ft. span. Designed by L.G.Mouchel using the Hennebique system. The Contractors were Lambrick & Co. Only the northern face of the bridge is visible owing to later widening of the road.0011
12Hawkesbury Junction Bridge140SP363846NUNHawkesbury Junction, BedworthCanal:BridgesAThis relatively large bridge carries the towpath of the Coventry Canal over the entrance to the Oxford Canal. Erected in 1837 with a single cast iron arch of 60ft. span. Engineer John Sinclair, ironwork cast by Handysides of Derby.0012
13Spon End Footbridge140SP327789COVSpon End, CoventryRoad:BridgesAA single span cast iron bridge carrying a footway over the River Sowe. Originally located on the Oxford Canal north of Coventry. Taken down and re-erected at Spon End during the construction of the M6 Motorway.0013
14Berkswell Windmill139SP249759SOLWindmill Lane, Balsall CommonPower:WindOA tower mill standing on a low mound and surrounded by a circular wall. A red brick tower with a boat shaped cap. Two common sails and two patent sails spanning 60ft. Two pairs of stones. Built in 1826 and worked by wind until 1927. Recently restored.0014
15Furnace End Bridge139SP248913NORB4114 Road, Furnace EndRoad:BridgesAA single span bridge with a ribbed arch over the River Bourne. Span about 12 ft. Medieval but the bridge has been widened on the east side and it is now nearly impossible to see the original arch.0015
16Polesworth Bridge140SP261023NORPolesworth, over River AnkerRoad:BridgesAA bridge designed by Thomas Sheasby senior. Ten semi-cirular arches , spans between 15ft 8in and 20ft 9in. Built in 1776. Widened on the east side in mass concrete in 1924. Parpet stone inscribed 'HL 1776 TS'. The HL almost certainly refers to Henry Lakin.0016
17Water Orton Bridge139SP174914NOROver River Tame at Water OrtonRoad:BridgesADates from 16th century with six segmental arches in sandstone. Spans vary from 13ft 6in to 14ft 2in. Cutwaters form pedestrian refuges. Unusual in not having been widened.0017
18Arbury Hall Canals140SP366883NUNIn the grounds of Arbury Hall, NuneatonCanal:RoutesOA network of private canals built by Sir Roger Newdigate starting in 1770. Seven separate canals can be identified including a link to the Coventry Canal together with the Griff Hollows Canal (1785-7). 13 locks on the system which extended for about 6.25 miles. The triple lock on the Arbury Upper Canal was Y-shaped with two sets of upper gates. Traces of the canals remain.0018
19Cosford Aqueduct140SP503771RUGOxford Canal NE of RugbyCanal:AqueductsADating from about 1834 and built when the line of the Oxford Canal was being straightened. Carries the canal over a road. An iron trough 15ft wide spanning 23ft 6in, supported by four segmental cast iron arch ribs (renewed in 1991).0019
20Wolston Viaduct140SP409761RUGIn Wolston Village on Coventry to Rugby railway line.Rail:BridgesVAn original structure on the London & Birmingham Railway, dating from about 1837. Nine main semi-eliptical arches in brick with stone facings. At each end are smaller arches of 10ft span. Designer Robert Stephenson0020
21Hampton Packhorse Bridge139SP215801SOLOn lane between Bradnocks Marsh and Hampton in ArdenRoad:BridgesAA packhorse bridge only 6ft wide over the River Blythe. Five masonry arches, three pointed arches and two segmental arches. Spans from 9ft 9in to 10ft 2in. Bridge probably dates from the 15th century and has been extensively repaired.0021
22Bidford Bridge150SP099518STROn B4085 road over River Avon at BidfordRoad:BridgesAA late medieval bridge dating from the 15th century. Eight main arches and one flood arch. Arches have various forms and spans, having been rebuilt over a long period of time. The seven triangular cutwaters are extended upwards to form pedestrian refuges.0022
23Clopton Bridge151SP206548STROn A34 road over River Avon at Stratford.Road:BridgesADates from about 1485. 14 arches, part segmental with a slight point with spans varying from 18ft 6in to 18ft 0in. Widened in 1814 by building new arches 5ft 3in wide on new piers. 1827 a cast iron footway was added on the upstream side.0023
24Earlswood Lakes Reservoir139SP113742STREarlswoodCanal:ReservoirsAThree pools which form a canal reservoir designed and built by Thomas Baylis for the Stratford Canal. Windmill Pool, Engine Pool and Terry's Pool. Windmill and Engine pools are retained by an earth dam 1,400ft long and 20ft high. A feeder channel runs from the dam to the canal. Top water level is only a few inches above the canal water level. The brick building at the north-east end of the dam housed a beam pumping engine installed in 1823 which worked until 1936.0024
25Hampton Lucy Bridge151SP258572STRHampton Lucy over River AvonRoad:BridgesAA cast iron arch bridge with a single span of 60ft. Four arch ribs each of four segments with bolted joints. Ironwork cast by Horseley Ironworks, design probably by William Mackenzie. Contractor Thomas Townshend.0025
26Oxford Canal Towpath Bridge151SP433524STRFenny Compton 'Tunnel'Canal:BridgesABridge No. 137A was built following the opening out of the tunnel on the Oxford Canal at Fenny Compton. It is a cast iron arch bridge which transfers the towpath across the canal. Semi-eliptical arch of 26ft 9in span formed from two half arch ribs on each side with a central bolted joint.0026
27Umberslade Hall Drive BrIdge139SP119709STRUmberslade Hall Drive, Tanworth in ArdenRail:BridgesAA bridge carrying the line of the GWR line from Tyseley to Stratford over the drive to Umberslade Hall . Three masonry arch spans on an acute skew angle, arches semi-eliptical in form in finely dressed sandstone ashlar. Built about 1908. Engineer was H.D.Smith, Contractor was C.J.Wills & Son.0027
28Wellesbourne Water Mill151SP287537STRWellesbournePower:WaterPA water mill powered by the River Dene with a breast shot water wheel 17ft diameter powering two sets of stones. Dated 1834 on the building. Water retained by a dam with spillway. Last worked by water power before 1939 but continued with external power. Dam repaired in 1988, mill restored to use in 1989.0028
29Wixford Bridge150SP087546STRB4085 road Wixford over River ArrowRoad:BridgesAA brick bridge with a single segmental arch of 65ft span. Arch ring is 30in thick. Designed by Henry Couchman senior. Completed in 1801. A fine example of brick arch construction.0029
30Wootton Wawen Aqueduct151SP159630STROver A3400 road at Wootton WawenCanal:AqueductsAThe second largest of three similar aqueducts on the Stratford Canal. Cast iron trough made up of twelve sections with bolted joints. Towpath level with base of the trough. Engineer William Whitmore October 1813.0030
31Yarningale Aqueduct151SP184664STROn Stratford Canal adjacent to Lock 34, Yarningale CommonCanal:AqueductsAThe smallest of the three cast iron aqueducts on the southern sectionof the Straford Canal and, unusually, situated immediately adjacent to a lock. Structurally identical to Wootton Wawen and Bearley aqueducts with a cast iron trough. Ironwork by Horseley Company. Dates from 1834, built to replace an earlier aqueduct destroyed in a flood.0031
32Hatton Locks151SP250665WARGrand Union Canal near HattonCanal:LocksAA flight of 21 locks which lowers the Warwick & Birmingham Canal (Grand Union) 147ft into the Avon valley. Originally built 1799 as narrow locks. Widened in 1932-34 for 14ft wide boats. The original lock chambers have been retained in most cases as overflows.0032
33Hunningham Railway Bridge151SP383665WAROn trackway south of HunninghamRail:BridgesAAn unusual bridge carrying a trackway over the line of the LNWR railway from Leamington to Rugby. Built 1850, Engineer W.T.Doyne. Originally a 150ft span lattice girder bridge (longest in the world) but later propped at the third points by a complex arrangement of four lattice columns thus converting it into a three 50ft span bridge. Listed Grade 2*.0033
34Leafield Bridge151SP280630WAROn private road south-west of WarwickRoad:BridgesPA near twin of Castle Bridge at Warwick but built earlier in 1776 to a design by Robert Mylne. A single 102ft span segmental arch in banded ashlar masonry. Restoration needed.0034
35Leamington Aqueduct151SP303653WAROn Warwick & Napton Canal where it passes over the GWR line between Leamington and WarwickCanal:AqueductsVA cast iron aqueduct built by the Great Western Railway to carry the Warwick & Napton Canal over their line. Water is retained in a cast iron trough which is supported by six cast iron arches of unusual design. The ribs are cast as double cantilevers which engage with lugs cast on the bottom of the trough. Towpath is carried on external brick arches. Contractors were Peto and Betts and it was completed in 1852.0035
36Portobello Bridge151SP301658WAROver River Avon on A445 WarwickRoad:BridgesAOpened in May 1832 with two 60ft arches. In 1892 the arches were rebuilt in brick with stone facings following the sinking of the crowns of the original arches. Widened on both sides with an iron footway on the north side and modern widening on the south side.0036
37Princes Drive Bridge151SP309655WAROver River Leam on Princes Drive, Leamington SpaRoad:BridgesAA relatively early reinforced concrete bridge opened on 14th June 1923 to a design by the Trussed Steel Concrete Co. Three 39ft 5in spans over the river with two flood spans to the north. There are ten beams across the width of the bridge supported on six reinforced concrete columns with transverse beams connecting the tops of the columns.0037
38Shrewley Canal Tunnel151SP213673WAROn Warwick & B'ham Canal, ShrewleyCanal:TunnelsAA 443 yard long canal tunnel under the village of Shrewley completed in 1799. At the west end the towpath, rising from the side of the deep cutting, passes through a short tunnel of its own high above the canal. The towpath tunnel is 175ft long on a steeply rising gradient. A very rare, if not unique, feature.0038
39Grecian Lodge Bridge140SP317715WAROn drive leading to Stoneleigh Abbey from B4115 roadRoad:BridgesOBuilt in 1813, an elegant masonry arch bridge with a single segmental span of 91ft and two small side arches. Designed by John Rennie for Lord Leigh.0039
40Swimming Pool Roof151SP318657WARAt rear of Pump Room, Leamington SpaRecreation:RoofOSwimming Pool built in 1890 by William de Normanville. An iron and timber roof spanning 60ft and 120ft long. Hipped roof at the east end and a five sided apse at the west end. Timber purlins and rafters with iron trusses. Trusses have cast iron compression members and wrought iron tie rods. Two tensioned tie rods 2 in diameter connect the ends of the roof. Complex castings where the end trusses meet at the apex of the roof. Now converted to the Public Library.0040
41Warwick Castle Bridge151SP288647WAROver River Avon at Warwick on A4177Road:BridgesAA masonry arch bridge with a single span of 105ft. Built by William Eboral, a stonemason, opened in 1793. Follows closely the design of Leafield Bridge of 1776. Replaced the nearby 'Great Bridge' of which traces remain. (See record No. 359)0041
42Avon Aqueduct151SP301655WAROver River Avon on Warwick & Napton CanalCanal:AqueductsACarries the canal over the River Avon about 30ft above normal river level. Three masonry arches of 43ft span dating from about 1798. Built by Benjamin Lloyd, Moses Wilson (masons) and John Docker and Thomas Wilson (carpenters). Engineer William Felkin until 1796 then Charles Handley.0042
43Burton Green Water Tower140SP268753WAROn private land on a lane south of Burton Green.Water:TowersVBuilt about 1933, a reinforced concrete tower with a circular drum of 20,000 gallons capacity on four reinforced concrete columns. Now out of use and in 2019 converted into a dwelling.0043
44Stare Old Bridge140SP329714WAROn B4113 1 mile south of StoneleighRoad:BridgesAThis bridge, with nine arches of varying sizes and styles dates from 14th or 15th century. The five southernmost arches, the first three of which cross the river, have pointed arches, the next two arches are segmental and the two northernmost arches are pointed. The roadway, now confined to pedestrian use, is only about 10ft wide.0044
45Stoneleigh Bridge140SP332727WARIn Stoneleigh village, over River SoweRoad:BridgesAA red sandstone masonry arch bridge with 8 segmental spans. The fifth arch from the north is ribbed with three rectangular ribs. Widened on the downstream side in 1844, the new arches being discontinuous, having a greater span. Timber footbridge added in 1971.0045
46Tainters Hill Water Tower140SP290728WARKenilworth, on Tainters HillWater:TowersVThis tower, now a house, was built in 1788 as a tower windmill. In 1854 the mill was converted to steam power and in 1884 was further converted into a water tower by placing a 26,000 gallon tank on the top of the tower. In 1925 the tank was replaced by one of 50,000 gallons capacity. The tower was derelict by the 1960s and in 1974 was converted to a dwelling by Architect E.R.Byron.0046
47Edge Hill Water Tower151SP382483STROn crest of Edge Hill near B4086Water:TowersVA large reinforced concrete water tower with a circular tank 49ft in diameter with two compartments supported by a central shaft and twelve columns 45ft high. 180,000 gallons capacity.0047
48Fenny Compton 'Tunnel'151SP438523STROn Oxford Canal 1 mile E of Fenny ComptonCanal:TunnelsAThe Oxford Canal originally passed through a shallow tunnel 1,138yd long. In1838-40 it was partially opened out to leave two short tunnels. In 1866-69 the remaining tunnels were opened out. The Engineer for the later work was Richard Gillett and the contractor was William Death.0048
49Charlecote Water Mill151SP258572STROn Hampton Lucy to Charlecote lane near R. Avon bridgePower:WaterOA red brick three storey mill probably built in the 18th century on the site of earlier mills. Two undershot water wheels. West wheel drives two pairs of stones, east wheel drives the ancillary machinery. Restored to use.0049
50Harbury Windmill151SP373600STRIn Harbury village.Power:WindVA 60ft high tower mill, the tallest in Warwickshire. Built about 1805 with three pairs of stones. Worked until the early 20th century when the sails were removed and a steam engine (later electrical power) substituted. Now converted into a dwelling.0050
51Compton Verney Bridge151SP313529STROn drive leading to Compton Verney off B4086Road:BridgesOThree segmental arches in ashlar masonry. Designed by Robert Adam, built in the late 18th century.0051
52Ashlawn Water Tower140SP507729RUGOff B4429, south of RugbyWater:TowersVBuilt in 1934 this water tower has a cirular reinforced concrete 500,000 gallon tank supported on 12 reinforced concrete columns.0052
53Alpha House, Coventry140SP352798COVStoke Heath, W. of Coventry City centreHousing:DomesticVThe first multi storey building in the world to be built by the 'Jack Block' system. Construction began with the roof which was then jacked up and the next storey added below. This process was continued until all 17 storeys had been added. Completed in 1963. Contractor Richard Costain for Coventry City Council.0053
54Danzey Green Windmill139SO952683ZMUAt Avoncroft Museum of Buildings BromsgrovePower:WindOA post mill originally situated at Danzey Green, Tanworth in Arden in Warwickshire. Disused since the 1870s, it was removed to Avoncroft Museum of Buildings in 1969 and restored to use. Four sails spanning 60ft, originally common sails but rebuilt with two common and two spring sails. The upper part of mill is mounted on a massive timber post and is rotated by a hand winch.0054
55Corley Water Tower140SP296851NORCorley, Church LaneWater:TowersVA sectional steel tank on a 50ft steel tower. 6000 gallons capacity. Built 1974.0055
56Marton Bridge151SP407691STRMarton village, over River LeamRoad:BridgesAA two span masonry arch bridge with segmental pointed arches dating from 1414 with two nearby flood arches. Scheduled Ancient Monument. Recently restored to its original configuration by Warwickshire County Council.0056
57Mill Bridge, Rugby140SP501763RUGRugby, on A426 1km north of Rugby town centreRoad:BridgesAA three span masonry arch bridge over the River Avon. The original bridge, dating from the 18th century is on the SW side of the present bridge. Brick arches with sandstone facings. Widened on the NE side in 1857 with matching arches. Modern reinforced concrete footway extension on the NE face.0057
58Kineton Bridge Sign151SP335514STRLighthorne Road, KinetonRoad:StreetfurnitureAA cast metal warning sign restricting traffic on the former railway bridge. Stratford upon Avon & Midland Junction Railway, company name at bottom of sign.0058
59Pedlars Bridge140SP429806RUGOff Smeaton Lane 1km NNW of BrinklowRoad:BridgesAA packhorse bridge now a footbridge over the Smite Brook. Two semicircular arches in sandstone ashlar Spans about 6ft. Rebuilt 1873. 5ft 6in wide, 3ft 8in between brick parapet walls.0059
60Tramway Wagon151SP207549STROn Tramway Bridge footpath at Stratford upon AvonRail:TramwaysATramway wagon from the Stratford & Moreton Tramway now sited on the old tramway bridge over the River Avon at Stratford. Maximum laden weight 4 tons. Woodwork recently restored. Horse drawn. Stands on a typical section of fish-bellied cast iron rail.0060
61Barford Bridge151SP268610WARBarford, N of village over River Avon.Road:BridgesAA five arch bridge dating from the 18th century now bypassed by a modern concrete bridge.0061
62Deppers Bridge Water Tower151SP397594STRDeppers Bridge villageWater:TowersVA square concrete water tower on four concrete legs. Built about 1920. Disused. DEMOLISHED.0062
63Washbrook Bridge140SP291726WARKenilworth, Manor Road over Finham BrookRoad:BridgesATwo span masonry arch bridge. Semi-circular arches with span 10ft 9in. Cutwaters on both sides of central pier. Some patching in red brickwork. Widened on east side with reinforced concrete beams on brick asbutments to form a footway.0063
64Kingswood Canal Junction139SP185708WARLapworthCanal:RoutesAThe site of a 250 yard Link Canal built in 1803 to conmnect the Stratford upon Avon Canal to the Warwick & Birmingham (now Grand Union Canal). Originally the Link was accessed through a lock off the Stratford Canal to hold back water. It is now accessed through a cutting to a lower level basin. On this site are also examples of split bridges, two small reservoirs, maintenance and toll buildings and a barrel roofed lock ottage.0064
65Tidmington Bridge151SP261383STROn A34 road 2km. S of Shipston on Stour over River StourRoad:BridgesAThree span bridge widened on the east side. Original bridge has semicircular brick arches of 12ft, 16ft and 12ft span. Cutwaters on brick piers. Northern arch has a larger radius arch above the main arch. Widened on the west side by reinforced concrete beams supported on concrete blocks on the tops of the cutwaters. Widened on the east side by casting concrete arches to the same form with red brick spandrels and abutment walls.0065
66Lye Green Water Tower151SP197657STRLye Green villageWater:TowersVLarge reinforced concrete circular tank 35ft diameter supported by a central ribbed shaft. 70,000 gallons capacity, 60ft overall height. Supplies high ground in Claverdon area. Built 1965/66.0066
67Tidmington Pack Horse Bridge151SP245375STROn County boundary over Knee Brook on footpath between Todenham and High FurzeRoad:BridgesAA packhorse bridge with two masonry arches, the north arch is pointed 10ft span, the south arch is semi-circular 11ft span. Overall width of bridge is 7ft. Modern tubular steel post and single rail parapet May date from 1615. Listed Grade 2.0067
68Stratford Tramway Track151SP203546STRStratford, south of the River Avon through parklandRail:TramwaysAThe route of the Stratford & Moreton Tramway in Stratford, now a public footpath. From the canal basin it crosses the River Avon by means of the Tramway Bridge (q.v.) then on a low embankment through parkland at the rear of houses on the A3400 road. Tramway originally opened on 5th September 1826. Horse drawn thoughout until the conversion of the section between Moreton and Shipston on Stour by the G.W.R. in 1889.0068
69Water crane base151SP280654WARCattell Road, WarwickRail:BuildingsAThe base section of a water crane which was formerly located in the coal yard of Warwick Station. The site is now a small industrial estate.0069
70Claybrookes Marsh, Binley140SP379771COVGrange Avenue, BinleyExrtract:CoalOClaybrookes Marsh is a nature reserve utilsing waste land from the rail sidings of Binley Colliery, a mine that operated in Coventry for over 50 years. The mine was sunk in 1907 by Scottish Iron and Coalmasters Merry and Cunninghame, of the Glenarnock Iron Works. Coal winding was achieved in 1911 and rail commections were made with the L.N.W.R., with extensive sidings constructed. Much of the surrounding housing was constructed as accommodation for miners and their families. Over one thousand men were still emplyed in the 1950s, but the mine closed in 1963. The site of the mine is now Herald Way Industrial Estate but Claybrooke Marsh is a reminder of the industry as the site is named after Jack Clay and James Brookes, two of the miners killed by a roof fall un the mine in 1947, and it acts as a memorial to all those killed in accidents at Binley Colliery.0070
71Long Itchington Stone Bridge151SP406650STRStonebridge Lane, Long ItchingtonRoad:BridgesAThree segmental arches in sandstone ashlar carrying a minor road over the River Itchen. Red brick piers. Spans are 9ft, 14ft 3in, 9ft. Large cutwaters on upstream face, butresses on downstream face of piers. Modern raked steel handrails.0071
72Hawkesbury Junction Basin140SP363846NUNAt junction of Coventry and Oxford canals.Canal:RoutesAA basin situated at the junction of the Coventry and Oxford canals requiring a sharp U turn between the canals. Greyhound Inn at canalside. Stop lock on Oxford Canal just to the north of the basin. Junction originally sited about 1 mile south.0072
73Deppers Bridge151SP400593STREast of Deppers Bridge over River ItchenRoad:BridgesAReinforced concrete beam bridge built 1939. Single span of 22ft 6in (square) on a 60 degree skew. Date stone in south parapet wall.0073
74Tuttle Hill Water Tower140SP340934NUNOn B4111 NW of Nuneaton.Water:TowersVA square reinforced concrete water tower built in 1938. Nicely decorated. Capacity 25,000 gallons. Disused?0074
75Honington Bridge151SP263422STRSouth west of Honington village over River StourRoad:BridgesAMasonry arch bridge in yellow sandstone with 5 unequal spans. All arches segemntal but the two NE arches have smaller arches underneath - possible widening? The easternmost arch is almost completely blocked. Stone parapet with ornamentation of stone balls on plinths. Pevsner considers the bridge may be earler than 1682.0075
76Fieldon Bridge140SP308995NOROn B4116 north of AtherstoneRoad:BridgesAA single masonry arch in sandstone with deep V-jointed voussoirs. About 34ft span. To the north are two flood culverts in brick both circular in section. To the south is a pointed arch in brick with stone facing over a mill leat. Dates from 1786.0076
77Leamington High St. Bridge151SP320652WARHigh Street/ Bath Street Junction Leamington SpaRail:BridgesAA large steel (?) railway bridge carrying the Leamington to Banbury railway line over the High Street/Bath Street/Clemens Street junction. An unusual configuration. The north girder has a single span of about 136ft. The centre girders cross in two spans of about 84ft supported by a single steel rivetted column and the south girders cross in two spans of about 100ft supported by a brick pier. The outer girders are hogged back rivetted lattice trusses, the centre girders are similar rivetted plate girders. It is uncertain if the present bridge is the original bridge of 1852 which was designed by Brunel with T.H. Bertram as Resident Engineer and Peto & Betts as Contractors. The present bridge may be a rebuild of unknown date.0077
78Kings Newnham Bridge140SP449770RUGKings Newnham to Church Lawford Road over River AvonRoad:BridgesATwo span brick arch bridge. Unusually the arches are of different spans, 21ft 3in and 16ft 6in. Pier is sandstone ashlar with a triangular cutwater. Built about 1800.0078
79Shuttington Bridge139SK249051NORTamworth to Shuttington road over River Anker (on County boundary)Road:BridgesASix span masonry arch bridge. Spans 1 and 6 are flood arches, spans 2,3,4 and 5 over River Anker. Two different periods - old south-western section (spans 1 to 3) in sandstone ashlar with three unequal spans abuts the newer north eastern section (spans 4 to 6) with three unequal brick arches. The newer section rebuillt in 1816, older section may be much older and there are records of repairs to the bridge from 1650.0079
80Snowford Bridge151SP399664STRLong Itchington to Hunningham road over River ItchenRoad:BridgesAA three span brick arch bridge, segmental arches with spans of 10ft 2in, 17ft, 10ft 2in. Blue brick arch rings, remainder red brick. Built 1868, repaired 1900.0080
81B.T.H. Factory Site140SP508765RUGOff Leicester Road, RugbyMfg:ElectricalVRemaining buildings of former British-Thomson Houston Works. Part of buildings No. 4 and 29 (dating from 1913-14) and building 140 (dating from 1940s and 1950s) and building 193 (1980s). Building 29 is an early example of a precast concrete framed building.0081
82Old Water Pump, Coventry140SP336790COVBayley Lane, Coventry.Road:StreetfurnitureAA water pump (handle missing) outside St. Mary's Hall in Bayley Lane, Coventry. The drain gird at the foot of the pump is marked 'LOWES PATENT No.2 1851'. The pump mechanism is enclosed in a timber box.0082
83Chedhams Yard151SP277554STRChurch Walk, WellesbourneMfg:AgriculturalOYard incorporating blacksmith's shop and wheelwright's shop working for the local farming community. Closed in 1965 but restored and open to the public at times. Visitor Centre.0083
84Aero Engine Test Beds140SP348738WARBubbenhall Road Baginton CV8 3BBMfg:AviationVBuildings formerly owned by Alvis Company comprising workshops, offices and engine test beds. Probably constructed prior to W.W.II. Alvis Leonides engines tested here. Test track at rear used for testing Alvis military vehicles. See Flight Magazine 15.2.1957.0084
85Baggeridge Brick140SP218992NOROff Rush Lane, Tamworth (E. Of A51 road)Extract:BrickVThe only brickworks in Warwickshire still in production . Since 2007 owned by Austrian Company Weinberger. Modern tunnel kilns with some older kilns converted to other uses. Large area of clay extraction to the south of the works, up to the M42.0085
86Pit Wheel Memorial140SP273984NORBaddesley Ensor, corner of New St. and The CommonExtract:CoalAMounted pit wheel with inscription 'This wheel was erected by the Baddesley Ensor Parish Council in 1991 in memory of all the miners who for 300 years worked and many who died in the mines at Baddesley Ensor. The last mine closed in March 1989'0086
87Mancetter Quarries140SP307955NORMancetterExtract:StoneVMancetter Quarries refers to three quarries - Purley Quarry, Jubilee Quarry and Oldbury Quarry. The stone quarried is Diorite (an igneous rock of the granite family). It may have been quarried over a long period but there is certainly evidence of quarrying activity from 1873. Originally in private hands, the quarries have passed through a number of different corporate owners, with Larfarge Tarmac the present operators of the site. Current activities are visible from public footpaths. The quarries have been the subject of research by the Warwickshire Geological Conservation Group.0087
88Victor Works, Atherstone140SP306978NORStation Street, AtherstoneTextiles:HatsVFootwear (slipper) works developed on the site of a former hat making premises. Originally part of Willdays, taken on by Hall and Phillips, and then by Joseph Lester Vero as a slipper manufactory (until 1988). Inscribed 'Victor Works' above the entrance. Now converted to a variety of other uses including a night club. Forms part of a group of buildings that represent a remnant of the once typical indistrial townscape of this part of Atherstone.0088
89Knitwear Factory, Atherstone140SP306978NORStation Street, AtherstoneTextiles:WoolVPreviously used by Vero and Exeritt as a factory for making (principally) skirts as it diversified its hatting business. Three story brick building constructed in the early 20th century after fire destroyed previous premises. Now used for other purposes. Forms part of a group of buildings that represent a remnant of the once typical townscape of this part of Atherstone.0089
90Pooley Hall Colliery Site140SK257033NORPooley Country Park, Pooley Lane, PolesworthExtract:CoalASite of Pooley Hall Colliery, now converted to Pooley Country Park. Coal was first dug on this site in 1850 and the Pooley Hall Colliery was formed in 1897 to be combined with other local collieries to form the North Warwickshire Colliery in 1951. It closed in 1965. The Country Park includes the mine waste tip, a stretch of the Coventry Canal with coal wharf, a pit wheel from Pooley and a visitor centre with memorabilia of the coal industry donated by local miners.0090
91Miners' War Memorial140SK257030NORPooley Lane, PolesworthExtract:CoalAMemorial to miners from the Pooley Hall Colliery who lost their lives in the First World War. The inscription reads: 'This pillar of remembrance is erected by the workpeople and owners of Pooley Hall Colliery to the undying memory of those from this mine who answered the Nation's call and fell in the Great War 1914-1919'.0091
92Pit Head Baths, Polesworth140SK257033NORPooley Lane, PolesworthExtract:CoalVPit head baths opened in 1928, reputedly the first in the country. Buildings now in commercial use.0092
93Pithead Wheel, Baxterley140SP279969NORBaxterley, opposite The Rose InnExtract:CoalAA pithead wheel memorial with inscription: 'In memory of the Baxterley pits and the people of this village who worked there 1850-1989'. Manufacturer's name 'Thompson Southwick Ltd. Tamworth, England.0093
94Alvecote Pools, Alvecote140SK253047NORAlvecoteExtract:CoalAPools in the course of the River Anker created by mining subsidence. Most are in Warwickshire with the Pretty Pigs Pool in Staffordshire. Subsidence occurred over a long period, but was most noticable during 1940-45 as a result of more intensive working of coal during the war period. The whole area is now a nature reserve.0094
95Spoil Heap, Birch Coppice Colliery140SP250997NORDordonExtract:CoalVThe Hall End Colliery opened in 1878 and became the main colliery within the group known as Birch Coppice Collieries. The collieries were closed in 1987 and the area has been transformed into the Birch Coppice Business Park and Distribution Centre. The huge (partly landscaped) spoil heap remains.0095
96Railway Station, Atherstone140SP304979NORLong Street, AtherstoneRail:BuildingsVBuilt in 1847 as part of the Trent Valley Line. Designed by J.W.Livock. Brick building with limestone dressings and interesting architectural detail - patterned brickwork, steeply pitched tiled roofs with decorative chimney stacks and finials. Saved from demolition in the 1980s. Now offices, external viewing only.0096
97Hattons Hat Factory140SP307979NORRear of Long Street, AtherstoneTextiles: HatsVOne of the few surviving buildings of Atherstone's hat making industry. The firm of W.A.Hatton was established in 1871 and in 1899 moved to the Long Street premises (originally built for Messrs. Sharrot & Furnace in 1873). Hattons remained in business until 1956 since when the buildings have been used for a variety of light industrial purposes. An Historic Building Record was carried out by Birmingham Archaeology in June 2009 prior to redevelopment of the site for housing. Five remaining buildings were identified as premises of Hattons, typically small scale, utilitarian in design with generous fenestration to provide natural light.0097
98Baddeley Colliery Offices140SP279969NORMain Road, BaxterleyExtract:CoalVOne of the few remaining buildings of Warwickshire's coal mining industry. Baddesley Colliery was begun in 1850 and eventually closed in 1989. The Colliery Offices were saved and converted for modern office use.0098
99Wilson & Stafford Hat Factory140SP306974NORColeshill Road, AtherstoneTextiles:HatsVThe last hat factory operating in Atherstone, closing in 1999. The site dates from 1828 but there have been several additions since then to create a mix of buildings. An interesting series of 19th century buildings fronting Coleshill Road with a high proportion of glazing in the ranges facing the Coventry Canal. Suffered from neglect, vanalism and fire but currently (2014) being considered for redevelopment.0099
100Milestone, Atherstone140SP308978NORRed Lion Hotel, Long Street, AtherstoneRoad:StreetfurnitureAAn eighteenth century milestone attached to the front wall of the Red Lion Hotel. Triangular with top inscribed 'To London 100 Ms'; western face inscribed 'Lutterworth 17 3/4 Ms'; eastern face inscribed 'Litchfield 15' Black with gilt lettering.0100
101Midland Quarry, Tuttle Hill140SP349925NUNSouth side of Nuneaton-Atherstone road B4114 (Tuttle Hill)Extract:StoneVA disused and flooded diorite and quartzite quarry previously supplying roadstone and railway ballast. Recent regeneration as a feature of Camp Hill Development. Excellent views of the quarry from Corrib Road (off Tuttle Hill).0101
102Tollgate Cottage140SP267912NUNMonwode Lea on B41441 Nuneaton RoadRoad:TollhousesVBuilt in 1769 for the Coventry and Over Whitacre Turnpike Trust. Two storey mainly red sandstone building with a prominent porch. Gothic style with ornate finials and windows.0102
103Tuttle Hill Windmill140SP341932NUNTuttle Hill, off B4114 roadPower:WindVA 4-storey red brick tower mill with the top cemented over. Originally 4 sails; rebuilt in 1905 with 5 sails. The last working windmill in Warwickshire, ceasing work in 1936 after storm damage. Currently used as a store.0103
104Hartshill Maintenance Yard140SP328952NORAtherstone Road, HartshillCanal:BuildingsVMaintenance yard on the Coventry Canal with covered dock and workshops in blue-purple brick, together with a distinctive clock tower. Canal side crane.0104
105Jee's Hartshill Quarry140SP333940NORSW of B4111 Nuneaton-Atherstone roadExtract:StoneVOriginally started by Richard Gee in1822, these workings became a very extensive roadstone quarry, occupying a large area between the B4111 and Hartshill to the west. Quarry working ended by 2000, the buildings abandoned and the quarry is flooded. Only viewable through security fencing.0105
106Bridge Cottage, Hartshill140SP329952NORApple Pie Lane, HartshillCanal:BuildingsVBridge Cottage adjacent to Bridge 31 on the Coventry Canal is part of Hartshill Canal Maintenance Yard. Built of purple-blue brick, the cottage is 2-storey to the road but 3-storey to the canal. On the canal side there is a wide low basket-arch which previously gave access to the wharf. It is now blocked off. Plaque on the cottage reads 'Take Notice: This bridge is insufficient to carry any weight beyond the ordinary traffic of the district. G.F.Twist Clerk to the Company. February 1892'0106
107Jackson's Brickworks (former)139SP206830SOLCoventry Road, Bickenhill. Off slip road from A45 W of Stonebridge roundabout.Extract:BrickVThe remaining chimney of Jackson's Brickworks. Now within the Waste Recycling Centre.0107
108Calcutt Brothers Offices140SP344788COVFar Gosford Street, CoventryMotor vehiclesVOne of the few remaining city centre locations of Coventry's motor industry. Calcott Brothers started as cycle manufacturers in the late 19th century, turned to motor cycles in 1905 and motor vehicles in 1913. Office buildings constructed in 1896. Three storey brick with hipped slate roof and prominent Dutch gables as well as yellow terracotta (including 1896 date). Trace of 'CALCOTT BROS' sign remains. High quality internal decoration including mosaic floors, etched glass screens and oak staircases. Manufacturing took place in sheds behind the building. Taken over by Singer in 1927, closed soon afterwards. Site sold to Astleys in 1939. Recently became part of Coventry University.0108
109William Morris Building140SP341788COVGosford Street, CoventryMotor vehiclesVIn the First World War Hotchkiss (a French arms manufacturer) transferred its production to England and chose this site (formerly Arno Motor Works). After the war Hotchkiss gained a contract to produce Morris engines but in 1923 Morris acquired Hotchkiss, renamed it Morris Engines Ltd. and embarked on an expansion programme. The western part of the current building is the original factory whilst the lower part was built by Morris as his engine plant. Morris soon had to move further out to Courthouse Green to meet production needs. The Gosford Street factory went through various changes of function with Coventry University adapting it to its current use with the addition of two top floors above the original red brick and stone building.0109
110Judkins Quarry Tuttle Hill140SP343932NUNNE of B4111, Tuttle Hill, NuneatonExtract:StoneVA very large, disused, roadstone quarry. Quarrying began in the early 19th century with the Judkins family certainly involved from mid-century. The Judkins company through land purchase and absorption of other quarries created a large operation which in the 1970s was taken over by Amey Roadstone Corporation (ARC). Quarrying has now ceased and after a period as a landfill site, part of the quarry has become the Judkins Waste Recycling Centre. Partial views through security fencing.0110
111Mount Jud, Tuttle Hill140SP349929NUNTuttle Hill, NuneatonExtract:StoneVThe waste tip of the extensive Judkins Quarry. A local landmark known as 'Mount Jud'.0111
112Townsend/Humber Works140SP346791COVFar Gosford Street, CoventryMotor vehiclesVBuilt as a factory for Townsend Brothers in 1891 with impressive office frontage to Far Gosford Street and extensive workshops to the rear. Bought by Coronet Motor Co. (motor cycles, later cars) in 1903 and by Humber in 1906 although a fire soon persuaded them to move location. Front of the building converted into shops although some of the buildings were utilized by Payne's Lane Motor Engine Works. More recently the building has been reduced in size to accommodate road improvements and is currently occupied by Lloyds Bank. Three storey white rendered building with prominent central gabled porch, partially obscured by later developments.0112
113Coventry Top Shops140SP345790COV67-72 Far Gosford StreetTextiles:SilkVThree storey red brick terraced houses with top shops on the second floor with generous supplies of light through the large (7 x 5 pane) windows. Used for weaving and ribbon making. Built in the first half of the 19th century. Shops now occupy the ground floor and recent renovation has included new window frames.0113
114Whitacre Water Works139SP216912NORStation Road, ShustokeWater:PumpingVMagnificent example of public works architecture on the grand scale. Pumping station functional from the early 1880s designed by Martin and Chamberlain for Birmingham Corporation. Ornate Venetian Gothic in style. Red brick with stone dressings with a variety of ornate windows. Tall gabled central part flanked by distinctive blocks with semi-conical roofs. After the Elan Valley scheme was completed in 1904 Whitacre was placed on standby and from 1908 was used to supply water to Coventry. Steam powered beam engines long since removed. Pumping station itself plus filter house, water well and Superintendent's house.0114
115Cash's Cottage Factory, Cov.140SP336806COVCash's Lane, CoventryTextiles:SilkVQuakers John and Joseph Cash decided in 1857 to move their ribbon weaving business to a site in Kingfield alongside the Coventry Canal. They created a model factory with two rows of three storey terraced cottages with living space on the first two floors and top shops on the third. The individual workshops were converted to a single factory in 1862. Steam powered beam engine for the looms throughout. 100 cottages were planned but only 48 were built and some of these were lost to wartime bombing. One row faces Cash's Lane, the other faces the canal. Red brick with barge boarded gables in centre and at either end and top shops well lit via large windows. Cash's moved elsewhere in Coventry and the cottages are now housing.0115
116Challenge Cycle Co. Offices140SP337803COV216 Foleshill Road, CoventryMotor vehiclesVThe Challenge Cycle Company moved to premises on the Foleshill Road in 1906 where they went on to make motor cycles and cars. The factory consisted of rather grandiose offices fronting the Foleshill Road and extensive workshops behind. The offices remain today, red brick and stone, with large gables at either end of a central entrance. Subsequently passed through a range of other uses.0116
117Quinton Works, Coventry140SP336785COVCorner of Mile Lane and Parkside, CoventryMotor vehiclesVBuilt in 1890 as the office block of S.& B. Gorton's Cycle Works, then occupied by Quinton Cycle Co. from 1891, and the New Beeston Cycle Company from 1896. An important site for the development of Coventry's motor industry for early experiments by the Beeston Company produced a motorised tricycle in 1896. The Beeston Car Company used the site until 1900, then becoming Rademaker's Chocolate factory until 1905 before being occupied by the Swift Motor Co. until 1931. The buildings were restored in 1999 and part was adapted to become a hotel.0117
118Armstrong Siddley Gate140SP338784COVCoventry University Technology Park, Parkside CoventryMfg:AviationAThe Parkside area of Coventry was home to a number of motor manufacturers in the first half of the 20th century, dominated by Armstrong Siddley Motors (1919-1959) which went on through mergers to be involved in aero and rocket engines, eventually being absorbed into the Rolls Royce conglomerate. Site cleared in 1996 to be developed into Coventry University Technology Park with the remaining production moving to Rolls Royce at Ansty. A small reminder is provided by the ironwork from No. 2 gate of the Parkside factory.0118
119Clopton Bridge Toll House151SP206548STRNorth end of Clopton Bridge, Stratford upon AvonRoad:TollhousesVA ten sided stone toll house with crenellated parapet constructed in 1814. Disused for many years and in poor condition.0119
120Cox's Timber Yard151SP205549STRStratford upon Avon, between Tramway Bridge and Clopton BridgeTimber:SawmillVA collection of buildings including chimney, with main (weather-boarded) timber warehouse constructed in ?1830. Two storey with attic, five bays with painted signs:'J.COX AND SON TIMBER MERCHANTS'. Now converted into Cox's Yard restaurant complex.0120
121Miners' Housing, Piccadilly139SP229980NORPiccadilly, KingsburyHousing:MiningVTwo terraces built in 1906 specifically to house the miners working at the nearby (newly opened) Kingsbury Colliery.0121
122Kingsbury Colliery, Piccadilly139SP229981NORPiccadilly, KingsburyExtract:CoalVConverted buildings that previously housed the baths and medical centre of Kingsbury Colliery. Now used by Spline Gauges.0122
123Miners' Memorial, Piccadilly139SP227981NORTrinity Road, PiccadillyExtract:CoalAA memorial dedicated to all those who worked in the Kingsbury and Dexter collieries. Opened in 2009, miner's names are recorded on the (Baggeridge) bricks in the wall.0123
124Topshops, Hurst Road140SP351838COVHurst Road, Longford, CoventryTextiles:SilkVA row of three storey red brick weavers' cottages with former topshops now bricked up and replaced by smaller modern windows.0124
125Tollgate Cottage Warwick140SP291642WARGallows Hill, WarwickRoad:TollhousesVA single storey 19th century stone toll house with Gothic arches to doors and windows. Sympathetically modernised and extended, it now occupies an island within a redesigned road junction.0125
126Art Deco Factory frontage140SP286813COVA45 Birmingham Road. AllesleyMotor vehiclesV1930s Art Deco frontage with workshops behind. Occupied by a variety of firms over time including engineers Peerless Ericsson & Co. and the Service Division of the Standard Motor Company. Currently HPL Proto, a firm specialising in the production of prototypes for the automotive and aerospace industries.0126
127Thurlaston Windmill140SP469710RUGChurch Lane, ThurlastonPower:WindVTall (5-storey) tapering red brick tower built in 1794. Milling ceased in 1920s. Now converted to a house with modern tiled conical roof.0127
128Singer Office Block Coventry140SP342794COVCanterbury Street, CoventryMotor vehiclesVThe Singer Company was formed in 1874 by cycle manufacturer George Singer and the office block of the Canterbury Street works was built in 1891 to front a large works behind. Chateau-syle building designed by Harry Quick, now white rendered. Singer moved from cycle to motor cycle (to 1915) and car manufacture (from 1905). The building, known as Singer Hall, is now accommodation for Coventry University students.0128
129The Maltings Brewery151SP316667WARLillington Avenue, Leamington SpaDrink:BrewingVBrewing on the Lillington Avenue site began in 1841 with significant buildings constructed in 1861 and further changes in 1896. The brewery passed through a number of hands, in 1885 becoming Lucas, Blackwell and Arkwright, later Lucas & Co. It was eventually sold to Ansells and in its later years served as a store for the local authority. Two of the original buildings remain - the long malthouse and beer store and the brewmaster's house and office. The imposing malthouse is mainly red brick with attractive detailing in stone and blue brick, with two prominent sack hoists retained. The buldings are now converted to housing. Impressive gates and railings by renowned manufacturer Bayliss, Jones and Bayliss of Wolverhampton.0129
130Dunchurch Milestone140SP485712RUGDunchurch crossroadsRoad:StreetfurnitureAMilestone, SW corner of junction of the Coventry Road (B4429, previously A45) and Rugby to Southam road (A426). Inscriptions read: 'Erected Anno Domini 1813; To LONDON 79 miles/To Holyhead 178 miles: To OXFORD 43 miles/To LEICESTER 23 miles'. Renovated in 1953 and 1977.0130
131Little Lawford Watermill140SP469771RUGClaymill Lane, Little LawfordPower:WaterVEvidence of a mill on this site for a long period prior to the construction of the current buildings in the 19th century. Three storey red brick mill, integrated with the milll house. Milling continued to the 1920s but the water wheel was removed in the 1940s. Recent renovation for enhanced residential accommodation.0131
132Bluemels Office Block140SP411758RUGBluemels Drive, WolstonMotor vehiclesVOriginally built for Cash's of Coventry in 1899 as a location for their (unsuccessful) experimentation with artificial silk. The London based Bluemel Brothers purchased the site in 1902 to supply Coventry's rapidly growing cycle and motor industry with a range of accessories such as cycle pumps and mudguards for cycles and spark plugs and accumulators for cars. After the closure of the factory in 1985 the workshops became a Business Park before being demolished in 2004. The Office Block was saved, now converted to housing. Two storey red brick with additonal stone and browner brick detailing. Impressive wood panelling and staircase inside. Over the front entrance is the familiar Bluemel 'no weight' trademark, a 'B' with feather entwined.0132
133Electric Wharf, Sandy Lane140SP333801COVOff Sandy Lane, CoventryPower:ElectricVCanalside location of Coventry's power station and depot. Operated from 1896 until 1936. It has been imaginatively converted to accommodate business premises and homes, retaining bold elements of the original structure.0133
134Daimler Power House140SP333800COVSandy Lane, CoventryPower:ElectricVThe Power House, Sandy Lane, one of the few remaining buildings of the Daimler Works, first established by Harry Lawson in 1896 in a converted cotton mill. ('Motor Mills')0134
135Rotherhams Offices, Coventry140SP329791COVSpon Street, CoventryWatchmakingVThe offices of Rotherhams, the only surviving building of one of the largest watchmaking firms in Coventry. Founded in the mid 18th century, Rotherhams took the industry from top shop production into a factory environment. Three storey red brick with stone detailing. Blue plaque on the Coventry Watchmakers Trail.0135
136Hawkesbury Engine House140SP362846NUNHawkesbury Canal Junction of Coventry and Oxford CanalsPower:SteamVAn engine and pump house used to raise water into the Coventry Canal. First used in 1821 with 'Lady Godiva', a Newcomen beam engine. Later supplemented by a more powerful engine. 'Lady Godiva' was moved to Dartmouth (birthplace of Thomas Newcomen) in 1963 where it is on display. Solid three storey blue brick building with chimney.0136
137Coventry Colliery Memorial140SP318845COVBennets Road, Keresley, CoventryExtract:CoalAOne of four pithead wheels in use at the time of closure, now serving as a memorial to the workers at Coventry Colliery and the Homefire Plant. The Coventry Colliery opened in 1912 and finally closed in the 1990s. The Homefire (smokeless fuel) Plant was operational 1960 to 2000. Site now developed for Prologis Business Park.0137
138Newbold Quarry Park140SP495770RUGNewbold on AvonExtract:LimestoneAA flooded limestone quarry which provided raw materials for the local cement industry until the 1920s. Later used as a top-up reservoir for the Oxford Canal. Now a nature reserve - Newbold Quarry Park.0138
139Parkfield Road Quarry Rugby140SP493759RUGParkfield Road, RugbyExtract:LimestoneVAn abandoned quarry of the Rugby Cement (now Cemex) works. Currently (2014) being converted into a nature reserve.0139
140Milestone, Henley in Arden151SP151658STRMilestone Cottage,185, High Street, Henley in ArdenRoad:StreetfurnitureAA 1748 Milestone incorporated within the wall of Milestone Cottage. Inscribed 'From London CII miles/From Stratford VIII/To Birmingham XIV/1748'0140
141Great Alne Mills150SP122589STRMill Lane, Great AlnePower:WaterVA collection of buildings clustered round a red brick four storey water powered corn mill of (mainly) 19th century buildings which have been much altered over time. These changes have been conditioned by the need to expand production, the introduction of new technology (turbine and diesel engine) and the accommodation of grain handling facilities. The complex includes the mill manager's house. Latest incarnation as a series of luxury apartments and houses.0141
142Tollbar Cottage, Haselor150SP122566STRTollbar Cottage, Rollswood Junction, Haselor. NW corner of crossroads between A46 Stratford Road and Croft Lane.Road:TollhousesVNineteenth century single storey tollhouse with three sided bay facing the main road. Painted brick with attractive drip moulding around some of the windows and a slate roof. Some modern alterations and extensions.0142
143Minerva Works, Alcester150SP086576STRStation Road, AlcesterNeedlemakingVFormer Minerva Needle Works built in the 1880s for Alfred Allwood, needlemaker. An unusually large premises for needle making - an industry characterised by outworking of some of its processes. Three storey red brick with terracotta dressing. Sold in 1912 to Terry's Springs and then to a series of other firms before being restored and converted into a number of small business units under its present status as Minerva Mill.0143
144Rock Mill, Leamington Spa151SP301662WARRock Mill Lane, Leamington SpaPower:WaterVAn important site, for in 1792 it was constructed by Benjamin Smart as a cotton mill, very unusual for the county. It later converted to corn and eventually animal feedstuffs, and was extended in the late 19th century with an additional wing on the eastern end. It was run by Kench and Sons from 1888 to 1961. The mill is a four storey building with attics, with the remains of two breast-shot wheels and a chimney on the western end associated with later conversion to steam power. Ground floor constucted of stone with brick upper floors with stone dressing. It has recently been converted to accommodation with additional new properties built at the rear of the mill. Fine (stone and brick dressing) mill house to the east of the mill.0144
145Fenny Compton Brick Kiln151SP437524STRA short distance to the east of the A423 bridge over the Oxford Canal near Fenny Compton. Access from the road or canal.Extract:BrickVThis 19th century intermittent downdraught kiln is an unusual surviving example of a small local brickworks. The kiln - using spoil from the opened out Fenny Compton Tunnel on the adjacent Oxford Canal - produced bricks for use on the canal network and to supply local builders. It operated until at least 1917. Since closure it has been the subject of a survey by WIAS, and a recent restoration project by the Guild of Bricklayers - a considerable task in view of the pace at which vegetation returns to invade the site.0145
146Coventry Ordnance Works140SP346803COVRed Lane, CoventryMfg:ArmamentsVThe enormous buildings that housed the Coventry Ordnance Works, established in 1905, which had a major role to play in the production of munitions in World War One. Taken over by English Electric in 1919 and closed in 1925. Subsequently used by a number of firms and today forms part of an industrial estate.0146
147Blackdown Mill, Leamington151SP311691WARHill Wootton Road, Leamington SpaPower:WaterVLong history of milling on the site with activity probably ending in the 1920s. Current building is a mix of 18th and 19th century buildings and later conversions. Oldest part is the three storey brick building housing the remains of a low breast shot wheel, viewable through a grille beneath a stone arch. Wooden extension plus elaborate doors and balconies create a unique building, togther with chimney and large flywheel (associated with steam power installed in the mid 19th century) at the rear of the building. Original mill race filled in. There have been futher alterations in recent years at the rear of the building which is now used for accommodation.0147
148Kineton Windmill151SP325517STRPittern Hill, KinetonPower:WindVA tower mill built of stone, now much patched with brick, with dome cap. Long out of use as a mill.0148
149Rail Link to Ordnance Works140SP346801COVSmith Street, off Red Lane, CoventryMfg:ArmamentsAThe remains of the rail link that served Coventry Ordnance Works.0149
150Arley Tunnel140SP304913NUNB4114 SE of AnsleyRail:TunnelsPA tunnel on the railway between Nuneaton and Water Orton. Opened November 1864 by the Midland Railway. Original length 999 yards*. Closed December 1948 to passengers, wholly in January 1949 due to subsidence. Opened out over 300 yards, Tunnel (now 709 yards) re-opened December 1949. Close dgain in 1993 for further repairs. _x000d_
*further information on warwickshireraiways.com. Further images on web._x000d_
Not accessible.
0150
151Tower Court, Courtaulds Way140SP339808COVCourtaulds Way, off Foleshill Road, CoventryTextiles:SyntheticVCourtaulds opened a factory on the Foleshill Road in 1905 and expanded production facilities considerably over a number of years to become a major presence in the city. Since closure much of the site has disappeared but the remaining clock tower buildings (1912) have been converted into offices (with modern extension). The original buildings were constructed with distinctive deep red brick with terracotta detailing. They were previously attached to the laboratory block which has disappeared.0151
152Courtaulds Entrance Gate140SP367914NUNMarlborough Road, NuneatonTextiles:SyntheticVOne of the few remaining elements of the large Courtaulds factory, and its clock tower, that once dominated the skyline in this part of Nuneaton. Entrance gate with date 1920. Familiar deep red brick and terracotta. Other former Courtaulds buildings on Marlborough Road have been converted to other uses.0152
153Watchmakers House, Coventry140SP327791COV16 Norfolk Street, CoventryWatchmakingVResidence and workshop of Bahne Bonniksen, watch manufacturer and inventor of the Karousel movement for watches and chronometers 1894. Modest two storey red brick house with workshop (with top shop windows) at rear accessed through (private) alleyway. Part of the Coventry Watchmakers Trail developed by Coventry Watch Museum.0153
154Nelson Club, Stockton151SP440639STRNapton Road, StocktonExtract:CementVA working men's club built in 1914 for workers at the Charles Nelson Lime and Cement Works, Stockton. Still functions as a club.0154
155Webster-Hemming Brickworks140SP342804COVStoney Stanton Road, CoventryExtract:BrickVClay was first dug in 1870 and brick production continued until the 1990s. Websters had ownership from 1896, with the Hemming name added in 1938. Firing took place in an 18-chamber Hoffman kiln (rebuilt in 1950). Visited whilst still in operation in 1993 by WIAS. Some of the site has been cleared but in 2014 two chimneys, kiln, some sheds and a reception office remain. Site is destined for conversion to housing.0155
156Distance marker, Shipston151SP259407STRStratford Road, Shipston on Stour. W side of Stratford Road A3400 N of Telegraph StreetRoad:StreetfurnitureAAn unusual cast iron ('gaslight style') distance marker. One of six identified by the Milestone Society in various states of disrepair.0156
157Shipston Mill151SP260404STRMill Street, Shipston on StourPower:WaterVThree storey (painted) brick mill on the River Stour. Undershot water wheel and machinery removed when the mill closed. Converted into an hotel.0157
158Pillar Box, Shirley139SP129771SOLDog Kennel Lane, Shirley, SolihullComms:PostalAA cast iron pillar box, mid 18th century. Fluted column on base, tapered towards the top. Band on top marked VR and POST OFFICE, with royal crests. Manufactured by Smith and Hawkes Ironfoundry, Broad Street, Birmingham0158
159Nelson Village Housing151SP295659WARCharles Street & All Saints Road, WarwickAnimal:GelatineVHousing built by George Nelson Dale & Co. (gelatine manufacturers) for its workers and managers at the end of the 19th century. Interesting cement block construction. Managers' housing located in road now known as All Saints Road (previously Charles Street)0159
160Nelsons Gelatine Works151SP293657WARWharf Street, WarwickAnimal:GelatineVSome of the remaining buildings of what were the extensive works of George Nelson Dale & Co., gelatine manufacturers at Emscote Mills, Wharf Street, Warwick bounded to the north by the Warwick & Napton (now Grand Union) Canal. The firm was founded in 1837, moved to Emscote in 1841 and was in production until 1972. The various buildings are now used for a mix of light industrial and commercial purposes.0160
161Nelson Club, Warwick151SP295656WARCharles Street, WarwickAnimal:GelatineVA Club provided by George Nelson Dale & Co. (gelatine manufacturers) for its workers and their families, opened in 1883. Designed by Frederick H. Moore, it included a theatre/dining hall, library and reading room plus billiard room, bagatelle room and amusment room. Now much changed internally, the frontage to Charles Street remains largely intact. Attractive red brick two storey building with brick and terracotta detailing, including 'AD 1882' and 'THE NELSON CLUB'. Still functions as a club.0161
162Ansley Colliery Pit Head Baths140SP307935NUNB4114 Coleshill to Nuneaton road.Extract:CoalVAnsley Hall Colliery opened in the 1870s and continued mining coal until 1959. Surviving pithead baths and offices are on the opposite side of the road from the former colliery. Opened in 1938, suitably reflected in the architectural style. Used by engineering firm A.B.M. Precisions (Nuneaton) until recently.0162
163Easenhall Finger Signpost 1140SP463796RUGJunction of Brinklow Road, Farm Lane and Main StreetRoad:StreetfurnitureAA cast iron sign post (painted in black and white sections) with finger boards (BRINKLOW; RUGBY; BRIDLE ROAD TO STRETTON under FOSSE). Marked Wm. Glover & Sons Ltd. Warwick.0163
164Easenhall Finger Signpost 2140SP465795RUGEasenhall Village Green, junction of Brinklow Road, Rugby Road and Cord LaneRoad:streetfurnitureAA cast iron signpost (pianted in black and white sections) with finger boards (BRINKLOW; HARBOROUGH MAGNA/RUGBY; PAILTON). Probably by Wm. Glover & Sons Ltd. Warwick though not marked as such.0164
165Stretton on Dunsmore Signpost140SP406724RUGJunction of Church Hill and Fineacre LaneRoad:streetfurnitureACast iron sign post with finger boards missing. Marked Wm. Glover & Sons Ltd. Warwick.0165
166Knowle Locks139SP189761SOLOff Knowle to Kenilworth roadCanal:LocksAA flight of five locks which are 14 ft. wide. Locks have side ponds (now silted up) and intermedaite pounds. These lower the Warwick & Napton Canal (now Grand Union) 42 ft. from the summit height to 90m AOD (295 ft.). The original narrower 7 ft. locks can still be seen next to the wider locks. They were established in 1793 by Act of Parliament and in use by 1799. The wider locks were built in the early 1930s. A signpost reads: London 124 miles/Birmingham (Gas Street Basin) 13 miles.0166
167Rowington Windmill139SP205702WARRowington GreenPower:WindVLate 19th century small three storey red brick tower mill. Converted to residential use with replacement roof and windows. Known as 'Bouncing Bess'.0167
168Priory Needleworks, Alcester150SP087575STR81, Priory Road, AlcesterNeedlemakingVPriory needleworks at the rear of The Priory - the frontage to Priory Road gives no indication of what lies behind. Two storey red brick building at right angles to the main house. Row of 11 arched cast iron window frames on top storey. Ninteenth century needleworks later converted to bicycle manufacture. Strictly no access - partial view of rear of building from School Road.0168
169Ragley Needle Mill, Alcester150SP086580STRRagley Mill Lane, AlcesterNeedlemakingVLong history of a watermill on the site which was given over to needlemaking in the 18th and 19th centuries. Ceased woking as a mill in the 1920s, with buildings subsequently utilised for agriculatural and residential purposes. An intricate 2 and 3 storey red brick set of buildings arranged in a right angle. Major renovation in the 1980s to create a number of dwellings. Some machinery remains in one of the (private) houses. Only a general view of the buildings is available from Ragley Mill Lane.0169
170Automotive Products Factory151SP320651WAROffice and Factory 32 Clemens Street Leamington SpaMotor VehiclesVAutomotive Products of London bought the Zephyr Carburettor Co. in Clemens Street in 1929 and started making Lockheed Brakes and later Borg and Beck Clutches. They expanded to a new factory in Tachbrook Road in 1931. The Clemens Street site was used for their Test Equipment manufacture well into the 1970s.0170
171Pillar Box, Eastgate Warwick151SP284650WAREastgate, WarwickComms:PostalACylindrical Pillar Box cast in 1856 at Smith & Hawkes Eagle Foundry Broad Street, Birmingham. Fluted cast iron with vertical aperture marked 'LETTER BOX'. Round cap embossed on each side with POST OFFICE VR with crown between the intials and a conical top, Similar version at Westgate, Warwick (q.v.)0171
172Pillar Box, Westgate, Warwick151SP280647WARWestgate, WarwickComms:PostalACylindrical Pillar Box cast in 1856 at Smith & Hawkes Eagle Foundry, Broad Street, Birmingham. Fluted cast iron with vertical aperture marked 'LETTER BOX'. Round cap embossed on each side with POST OFFICE VR with crown between the intials and a conical top. Similar version at Eastgate, Warwick (q.v.).0172
173Copeswood Grange, Coventry140SP365785COVStoke, CoventryComms.TelephoneVA grand three storey red brick mansion with stone detailing and a prominent porch and entrance. Built in 1872 for the wealthy silk ribbon weaver James Hart, passing on to Sir Richard Moon of L.N.W.R. fame before eventually being bought by Peel Connor - later GEC - in 1921 as a club and hostel for its employees. It gained a reputation for the excellence of its facilities. Continued as a club through company changes GPT and Marconi until the demise of the company and the demolition of the site. Copsewood Grange remained but was subject to a series of arson attacks and is now in poor condition. Its future is uncertain with the development of the GEC site for housing.0173
174Renold & Coventry Chain Works140SP322791COVArches Industrial Estate, Spon End, CoventryMotor VehiclesVFormed as a cycle chain business in Dale Street in 1896 by Alexander Hill (of the Hill watchmaking family) the Coventry Chain Co. moved to new premises in Spon End in 1907. The firm grew considerably and in 1930 decided to merge with (former rival) Hans Renold Ltd. to form Renold and Coventry Chain Company. Eventually the Renold company ended production in Coventry and the buildings now make up part of the Arches Industrial Estate. The distinctive office block and various production units remain, now occupied by a mix of industrial and commercial enterprises. Interesting war memorial in front of the office block with the inscription 'Erected by the Employees of The Coventry Chain Co. in Memory of their 45 comrades who fell in the Great War 1914-1918'.0174
175Warwick Road Goods Yard140SP330782COVWarwick Road, CoventryRail:BuildingsABelieved to be part of the blacksmith's buildings in the former goods yard adjacent to Coventry Station. Location is alongside the footpath to the station, just the car park side of the Warwick Road bridge. Now modernised and used for plant.0175
176Warwick Road Goods Yard Stables140SP329783COVWarwick Road, CoventryRail:BuildingsAStables located under the footbridge ramp from Grosvenor Street to Spencer Park in the former Warwick Road Goods Depot, Warwick Road, Coventry. The stables are now bricked up but hinges for the doors are still clearly visible, set in blocks. Curved engineering bricks also visible.0176
177BTH War Memorial140SP509763RUGTechnology Drive RugbyMfg:ElectricalVRemaining evidence of the size and importance in Rugby of the British-Thomson Houston Company. Designed by Sir Edwin Lutyens RA it was erected in 1920 in the entrance to the works and relocated in July 2010. It carries the names of 418 B-TH workers and the inscription is: 'In memory of the men of British-Thomson Houston Company who gave their lives in the Great Wars'.0177
178Newbold Tunnel E. Portal140SP487774RUGNewbold, RugbyCanal:TunnelsVThis tunnel was built in the 1830s when to route of the Oxford Canal was shortened by Charles Vignoles by 14 miles from that built by James Bridley. Earthworks were carried out by George Watson and then Charles Dutton and Thomas Hough laid the bricks in the new tunnel in 1833. The tunnel has two towpaths and is 204 yards long. The Resident Engineer was John Ferguson and the Company Engineer was Frederick Wood.0178
179Newbold Tunnel W. Portal140SP485775RUGNewbold, RugbyCanal:TunnelsVThe west portal of Newbold Canal Tunnel. Built during the straightening of the Oxford Canal in the 1830s. The tunnel is 204 yards long and 24 ft. wide with a towpath on both sides. For further details see Newbold Canal Tunnel W. Portal (0178)0179
180Newbold Canal Tunnel (Old)140SP484770RUGAdjacent to the church yard of St. Botolphs Church, NewboldCanal:TunnelsVThe bricked up south portal of the disused tunnel of the Oxford Canal. Situated in a field adjacent to the church yard of St. Botolph Church in Newbold. Part of the original route of the Oxford Canal engineered by James Brindley until his death in 1772 (succeeded by Samuel Simcock) which followed the contours of the ground. The tunnel was 125 yards long with a towpath built out from the wall with the water passing beneath. The tunnel was abandoned when the line of the canal was straightened in the 1830s. (See also Newbold Canal Tunnel Portals (0178 & 0179).0180
181Oxford Canal Bridges 45 & 48140SP481779RUGOxford Canal near Newbold, RugbyCanal:BridgesAThe left hand bridge - No. 48 Falls Bridge- carries the B4112 road over the Oxford Canal. The right hand bridge - No. 45 - takes the towpath over the disued Newbold Arm of the original course of the canal built in the 1770s which was kept open for a period to Newbold Wharf. It is a cast iron arch bridge cast by the Horseley Company and erected during the straightening of the lilne of the canal in the 1830s.0181
182Coundon Reservoirs, Coventry140SP319806COVScots Lane, Coundon, CoventryWater:ReservoirsVThree covered reservoirs constructed 1896-2011 to provide resilience to the Coventry potable water distribution system. Visible from Scots Lane. Reservoir No. 1 c. 59 x 74 m.; No. 2 59 x 74 m (out of use); No. 3 57 x 89 m. Heights vary 5.5 to 8 m. depending upon site gradient. Nos. 1 and 2 (1895) of brick construction with soil and grass cover; No. 3 (2011)( built on the location of a 1932 concrete reservoir) of reinforced and mass fill concrete construction with 250 mm. slab and a membrane/drainage sheet/sand/topsoil and grass cover. No. 1 is suffering ingress and is close to the end of its asset life. Population exapnsion and a lack of chlorination [at] Whitley (until 1915) pushed Coventry to sek further supplies. In 1907 a pipeline was built between Whitacre pumping station at Shustoke and Coundon to provide 2 - 3 million gallons per day.0182
183London Taxi Company140SP323795COVHolyhead Road, Coventry CV5 8JJMotor VehiclesVIn 1928 Carbodies, a coach builder, moved from West Orchards in the centre of Coventry to the Holyhead Road site to increase production capacity. A 1934 aerial photograph shows a fairly well developed site. The company built car bodies for a range of manufacturers including Alvis, Austin, MG, Rover and Rootes Group before WW2. During the war they switched to military vehicle bodies and pressed aircraft components. Post war body shell customers included: Austin, Daimler, Ford, Hillman and the Austin FX taxi plant. In 1958 final assembly, finishing and delivery was started for the FX taxi. The full production of the taxi was completed with the move of the FX4 chassis line from BL Adderley Park in 1971, Carbodies taking full responsibility for design and production from 1984. Taxi production is now the prime manufacturing focus and continues to date. Over time Carbodies has also produced prototype car bodies and motor cycle panels. Carbodies changed ownership a number of times, moving to BSA, Manganese Bronze Holdings, London Taxi Intenational and fianlly the London Taxi Company in 2010. The company has now entered a partnership with Geely, a Chinese auto manufacturer, to build a plant for London Taxi production in China for export purposes.0183
184Crackley Pedestrian Tunnel140SP295736WARNear Crackley Hill, Coventry RoadRoad:BridgesAA blue brick pedestrian tunnel under the former Kenilworth Junction to Berkswell railway line. Now part of the Greenway route. Access from Coventry Road, Kenilworth.0184
185Common Lane Railway Bridge140SP298731WARCommon Lane, KenilworthRail:BridgesAA railway bridge of stone construction at Common Lane, Kenilworth. Crosses the Coventry to Leamington railway line at the former Kenilworth Junction.0185
186Kenilworth Common Viaduct140SP296728WARKenilworth Common, KenilworthRail:BridgesAA brick viaduct srossing Finham Brook on Kenilworth Common. Tie bars and plates visible. Carries the Coventry to Leamington railway line.0186
187Mill End Bridges140SP296727WARMill End, Dalehouse Lane, KenilworthRail:BridgesAA railway bridge carrying the Coventry to Leamington railway line over Dalehouse Lane at Mill End, Kenilworth. Brick arch and sandstone construction on the west side and iron girders on the east side. Single span. At this point there is a passing loop on the single track railway line.0187
188K'worth Common P. Station140SP294728WARKenilworth Common, near Forge Road, Mill End, KenilworthWater:pumpingVA water ttreatment pumping station built in 1884. Brick construction with pitched roof.0188
189Common Lane Railway Bridge140SP298731WARCommon Lane, KenilworthRail:BridgesAA blue brick arch bridge over the former Kenilworth Junction to Berkswell railway line carrying Common Lane, Kenilworth. Now over part of the Greenway and cycle route with access from Coventry Road, Kenilworth.0189
190Castle Works, Coventry140SP334802COVAldbourne Road. Bishopsgate Green, CoventryMotor vehiclesVThe Riley Engine Company was formed in 1903 by Percy Riley to supply engines to the Riley Cycle Co. and Singer. In 1906 it moved to Castle Works. An existing factory building with riveted steel frame with brick panel infill and a north light roof. Additions have been made but the original building detail is still visible. In 1931 Riley Engines was taken over by the Riley Company. The Riley Engine Co. was taken independent in 1938 by Percy Riley. In 1941 following Percy's death the company, now renamed PR Motors, started design and manufacture of gearboxes and transmissions for construction dumpers expanding later to marine and other specialist applications. In 1964 a No. 2 factory was acquired in Earlsdon. In 1966 the company was taken over by Newage Engineers. Since then there have been a number of owners and names. Most recent, in 2014, is PRM Marine. The Castle Works is still operational but the main works is now Barlow Road, Aldermans Green.0190
191Cunard Works/Riley140SP340823COVDurbar Avenue, Foleshill, CoventryMotor vehiclesVIn 1916 Stanley Riley established the Nero Engine Company in the Cunard Works to build a 4cyl 10hp car. After making a contribution to the WW1 war effort, the company was absorbed into Riley (Coventry) Ltd. in 1918. By 1919 Riley had disposed of their Nicholas Street works and moved to Durbar Avenue. A May 1929 aerial photograph shows an expanding site covering a number of phases. The buildings are mainly northlight construction though two large sheds are in build progress. Compared to a c. 2012 aerial photograph it can be seen that most of the 1929 buildings have survived. An external site inspection confirms the position with the building framework showing through later cladding. Many high end models were produced in the 1920s and 30s but the company over extended itself leading to a takeover by Nuffield in 1938 and assignment to Morris Motors. Following WW2 war production, car building re-started in 1945. However production of Riley cars was moved to MG in Abingdon in 1948. Morris Motors took over in 1948 (as Engine Division) and continued for a number of years. This was followed by Unipart spares and Unipart Eberspacher Exhaust Systems (2014).0191
192British Leyland Capmartin Rd.140SP334810COVCapmartin Road, Radford, Coventry CV6 3LTMotor vehiclesVWork on the Capmartin Road Shadow Factory, designated Daimler No. 1 started in 1937. The plant was located adjacent to the main Daimler plant by the Coventry to Nuneaton railway line. The standard design was adopted, containing a manufacturing hall along with boiler and compressor houses, an office block and messing facilities. All the above were the original build. Wartime production focussed on aero engine components employing c. 2,500 emplyees. Postwar the plant continued with production of Daimler Scout cars until 1957. The Standard Motor Company took a 30 year lease in 1958 and the site was fenced off. Production centered on the manufacture/assembly of axles and trasnmissions for BL cars. In 1987 Jaguar purchased the site from BL. Redevelopment started in 1987 with demolition/disposal of surplus buildings. The first building disposed of was a wartime Robin Hanger which was donated to the Midland Air Museum. The manufacturing hall Paint Shop was demolished. Bays 1 - 14 were stripped of services and cladding. Bays 15 upwards were demolished. Isolated bases for KTM CNC machine tools were built and then new steelwork for bays 13 - 30. The buiding was reclad and serviced. The Capmartin site was sold to Kings Automotive Systems before the main Daimler site was redeveloped for housing. The Capmartin Road building bays 1 to 14 is the largest part of the former Daimler site remaining.0192
193Jaguar Cars Swallow Road140SP329823COVSwallow Road, Whitmore Park, CoventryMotor vehiclesVJaguar Cars original name was Swallow Sidecars. They started business in Blackpool in 1922 maufacturing motorcycle sidecars. They eventually expanded into car body coach building in 1927 making the Swallow body for Austin 7's. The company ran out of manufacturing space in 1927 and moved to Coventry in 1928. The first site was in Whitmore Park, Holbrooks. They occupied the two NW blocks of a 16 block former White and Poppe WW1 shell filling factory. By 1932 they had occupied half of the original site. An office block was added along with other smaller buildings. Two or more of the original shell filling buildings are thought to be still in existence. Further land was purchased in 1937 and 1938 to cater for the new pressed steel SS car body. Motor Panels was purchased for the same purpose in 1938 - sold to Rubery Owen in 1941. Production developed in the 1930s to SS car bodies and full vehicles in 1935. In 1939-40 an 8 acre Air Ministry funded factory for the manufacture and repair of military aero components was built to the west. In 1945 car production moved into the new plant. The site still exists. In 1945 the company changed its name from SS cars to Jaguar Cars because of obvious wartime links. By 1950 the site was very cramped. Jaguar negotiated puchase of the former Daimler No. 2 Shadow Factory at Browns Lane in 1951. Full production was transferred to Browns Lane by November 1952 and the old site was sold for £443,000.0193
194Jaguar Cars Browns Lane140SP301817COVBrowns Lane, Allesley, Coventry CV5 9DRMotor vehiclesVBrowns Lane was built as WW2 Shadow Factory in 1939 managed by the Daimler Motor Co. and designated Daimler No. 2 Shadow Factory. The plant comprised a 51 bay 1530 ft x 240 ft manufacturing hall and supporting service buildings for production of aircraft sub-assemblies - which may have included complete engines. Jaguar Cars acquired the site in 1951, moving from Swallow Road by November 1952. (see 0193 - Jaguar Cars Swallow Road). Extensive building took place post 1952, part of which was designated 'No.2' factory, at various times this included: vehicle finish lines; Service workshops; Seat build; No. 2 paint shop and Veneer manufacturing - VMC. Jaguar vehicles built at Browns Lane 1952 - 2005 included: XK, XJ, E Type, Mark VII-X, XJS with Daimler and Van Den Plas badged variants and limousines. Trim and final assembly operations were tranferred to the Jaguar Castle Bromwich site by 2005 because of production over capacity. A large part of the site comprising the majority of the original shadow factory was then sold off in 2008 for demolition and redevelopment. All that remains of the original shadow factory is the 36 MW 'Lamont' site central boiler house. In 2010 the VMC was sold to Lawrence Automotive Interiors and the site was split again. Jaguar, now named Janguar Land Rover, operate the remainder. 2014 operations are: vehicle pilot build; Education in the Community; support operations. Vehicle manufacturing returned in 2014 to build 6 No. 'Lightweight E Types' in a new 'Customer Heritage Vehicle' facility to complete the original 1962 plan for 18 No. vehicles. A prototype was completed in August 2014.0194
195Alstom Power Willans Works140SP498759RUGNewbold Road, Rugby CV21 2NHMfg:MetalsVWorks opened by Willans and Robinson in 1897 for the manufacture of Willans Central Valve engines.0195
196Station Road Level Crossing151SP155478STRStation Road, Long MarstonRail:BuildingsAA level crossing on the site of the former Long Marston station on the G.W.R. Brimingham, Stratford upon Avon, Cheltenham and Bristol route. Closed in the Beeching era.0196
197Wolston Railway Bridge140SP419760RUGPriory Road, WolstonRail:BridgesAA Tudor style arch bridge carrying the London & Birmingham Railway over Priory Road, Wolston. Skew arch. Blue brick with stone dressing. Engineer Robert Stephenson.0197
198Water Pump, Barford151SP271607WARChurch Street, BarfordRoad:StreetfurnitureAA cast iron hand operated jack pump in the Memorial Gradens, Church Street, Barford. Cast by T.Roberts of Warwick (name cast on barrel). Probably resited from elsewhere.0198
199Burton Dassett Qry & Beacon151SP395522STRBurton DassettExtract:Iron OreAThe Burton Dassett Hills are of Jurassic Ironstone and were quarried for stone and iron ore. The quarries have existed since early times but were most active during the periods 1898-1909 and 1918-1925 after which they were abandoned. Ore was moved by horse walkways around the site and by an aerial endless wire ropeway. This was 1.5 miles long, ran down to the Burton Dassett sidings on the S.M.J. railway and could tranport 200 tons per 10 hour day. A stone beacon is also on the site, circa 1500. The site is now a Warwickshire Country Park.0199
200Curdworth Bridge140SP186918NORLichfield Road, CurdworthRoad:BridgesACurdworth Bridge is situated on the A446 Lichfield Road near Curdworth over the River Tame. Rebuilt 1886, earliest record 16th century. County bridge 1764-1959. Five equal spans, segmental brick arches. Tie bars through arch rings. Brick piers. Brik parapet walls with stone copings. Northernmost span accomodated tramway from Minworth Sewage Works. (See 0201)0200
201Curdworth Tramway Route140SP186918NORCurdworth Bridge, CurdworthRail:TramwaysAThere was once a mineral tramway running underneath Curdworth Bridge along the bank of the River Tame at this point. The tramway was part of the extensive network around Minworth water treatment works. The track was still in place in the 1970s and at least one of the small diesel locomotives is in preservation. The inset photographs (album ref. 0201) show the track in situ in the 1970s. The main photograph is taken from Curdworth Bridge. The metal bridge in the small photograph is visible in the back ground of the main photograph.0201
202Stoneleigh Abbey Fountain140SP320711WARStoneleigh Abbey, StoneleighBldgs:ArchitecturalOCoade stone or Lithodipyra was stoneware that was often described as an artificial stone in the late 18th and early 19th centuries. It was used for moulding Neoclassical statues, architectural decorations and garden ornaments that remain virtually weatherproof today. It was first created about 1770 by Eleanor Coade who ran Coade's Artificial Stone Manufactory, Coade and Sealey and Coade in Lambeth London from 1769 until her death in 1821 after which it was continued to be manufactured by her last business partner William Croggon until 1833. _x000d_
_x000d_
The recipe and techniques for producing Coade stone have ben rediscovered by the team at Coade Ltd. who now reproduce a range of Coade sculpture at their workshops in Wilton (Wikipedia)
0202
203Healey Motor Works151SP259660WARLock Lane, WarwickMotor VehiclesVRemaining buildings of the motor works established in 1945 by Donald Healey. Early Healeys and Austin Healeys manufactured here. Since 2008 the site has been occupied by JME Healeys (John Everard), a firm dedicated to the restoration of Healey cars.0203
204Goldfinger House151SP129775SOLCranmore Boulevard, SolihullBldgs:ArchitecturalVFormer offices of Carr Protective Paper Co. built in 1955 adjacent to the factory and intended as a prestigious headquarters for the company. Notable because of the architect Erno Goldfinger and the building is reagrded as the first of Goldfinger's 'mature phase'. It has 'a clean crisp design, with a rhythm created by the regularity of its grid construction, expressed through the concrete frame and piloti,' Various occupants since the demise of the company, wth the Chartered Institute of Payroll Professionals (CIPP) currently in residence.0204
205Research Building, Shirley139SP126774SOLStratford Road, Shirley, SolihullBldgs:ArchitecturalVOriginally built as the Research Centre for Lucas Industries in 1965 to the design of Clifford, Tee and Gale. It is a two storey building constructed in concrete, glass and brick, with a sweeping elongated front elevation, complemented by a projecting circular canopy with a flat conical roof resting on slender supports. Impressive internal design as well, with murals by George Mitchell. The landscaping was reputedly designed by Sylvia Crowe, an acknowledged expert in her field. The building is now (2015) occupied by TRW Automotive.0205
206Wilsdon Coachworks139SP153810SOLLode Lane, SolihullMotor vehiclesVThe former premises (the 'Herculite Works') of Wilsdon and Co. Coachworks, a firrm specialising in bodywork and coachwork for a range of vehicles. Established in 1892 in central Solihull, the firm moved to the new Lode Lane industrial estate in the 1960s. Extensive workshops lie behind and to the right of the frontage. Taken over in 1995, production was moved elsewhere and the buildings became the home for a Christian Renewal Centre.0206
207Miners' Housing, New Arley140SP297902NORHill Top, New ArleyExtract:coalVA street of 34 terraced houses specifically built for local miners which passed into National Coal Board, and then council, ownership. Recently (2012) refurbished.0207
208Terminal Building, Elmdon139SP170835SOLOff A45 Coventry Road, ElmdonAir:BuildingsVThe original terminal building for the Elmdon (Birmingham) Airport by architect Nigel Norman and engineer Sir Graham Dawbarn, opened in 1939. Innovative design with 50 ft. (5m) wing canopies on either side of the round-nosed main structure. Period detailing together with coat of arms of the City of Birmingham. With the opening of the new Terminal in 1984 the original terminal concentrated on freight transport.0208
209Signpost, Birmingham Airport139SP183838SOLOutside Terminal 2, Birmingham AirportAir:BuildingsVOriginally located at the entrance to Elmdon Airport, the signpost was moved to its present site in 1985 to commemorate the first-year anniversary of the opening of the new Terminal Building.0209
210Leamington Spa Station151SP317652WAROld Warwick Road, Leamington SpaRail:BuildingsVThe original GWR 1852 station on the Birmingham-Oxford line was replaced by the current Art Deco building in 1937-39. Many period features with sympathetic renovation of waiting rooms, booking hall and installation of period-style benches and running in boards. Gardens well maintained by Friends of Leamington Station. (To the north lies the site of the L.N.W.R. Leamington Avenue station serving Coventry-Rugby, originally separate but later linked to the GWR station).0210
211Wilmcote Station151SP167582STRStation Road, WilmcoteRail:BuildingsVOriginal 1860 station replaced in 1908 as part of he development of the North Warwickshire Railway Birmingham to Stratford on Avon line. Red brick station buildings with wooden canopies with a notable footbridge. Cast iron columns support latticed iron frame and corrugated iron roof. Decorated with date 1883 and Great Western initials. Wooden canopies and finials with wooden staircase either side.0211
212Olton Station, Solihull139SP133822SOLStation Drive, Olton, SolihullRail:BuildingsVOriginal GWR station of 1869 re-modelled in 1933. Brick built booking hall with stone dressing, formerly with canopy fronting Station Drive. Tiled booking hall and underpass.0212
213Maglev Carriage, Burton Green140SP265762WARField off Hodgetts Lane, Burton GreenRail:VehiclesVOne of the carriages from the 'Maglev' (Magnetic Levitation) system that operated at Birmingham Airport from 1984 to 1995. The track length (between Birmingham International railway station and the Airport Terminal) was 600 metres and trains 'flew' at an altitude of 15 mm., levitated by electromagnets and propelled by linear induction motors. Inceased unreliability and the obsolescence of electronic equipment caused its closure. The carriage was purchased by a private individual and placed on private land but can be seen from Hodgett's Lane.0213
214GEC Midland Bank Branch140SP361787COV74, Crescent Avenue, CoventryComms:TelephoneVOne of the few remaining buildings of the GEC site. Originally a wireless laboratory, but for many years served as the Midland Bank branch for GEC employees. Now the home of T.S.Coventry Sea Cadet Corps.0214
215Warwick Castle Engine House151SP284646WARWarwick Castle groundsPower:WaterOA watermill had been in existence on the site since the 14th century, supplying corn to the castle but in 1894 a re-building created a facility for the generation of electricity from water power. This was done via the 19th century low breastshot water wheel and a water turbine (of which little remains) with links to dynamos and thence to batteries. This is an early example of the generation of hydro-electric power, used for the provision of lighting for the castle and also to power electric vehicles and an electric boat. Gas engines were also used. There was also an electrically powered pump for supplying water for fire hydrants to the castle and the town. The engine house was abandoned in 1954 but a recent restoration seeks to illustrate these various methods of generating power, with some original material and some engines brought in from elsewhere to illustrate what would have been present. The latter include a Crossley gas engine with throttle governing gear, originally from the Co-op Dairy Association, Fenwick, Kilmarnock and a Crossley cold start oil engine from High Royds Hospital, Menston, W. Yorkshire. Admission is via entry ticket to Warwick Castle.0215
216Clifford Chambers (Old) Mill151SP199520STRClifford Chambers (River Stour)Power:WaterVOne of two mills in Clifford Chambers located on the River Stour. A mill had long existed on the site but the current brick building dates from the 18th century. It was a water mill until 1926 when an electricity generating turbine was installed. Adapted for various uses over time, including a laundry for Clifford Chambers Manor, it is now a private house. A public foorpath runs directly in front of the mill and evidence of the building's former life as a mill can be seen.0216
217Clifford Chambers (Forge) Mill151SP197527STRClifford Chambers (River Stour)Power:WaterVOne of two mills in Clifford Chambers on the river Stour, the mill is known as Clifford Mill or Clifford Forge Mill, for it had been used as an iron forge in the 18th century. It was rebuilt in 1853 and used for flour milling. In 1946 Tibor Reich - the renowned textile designer - set up business within the mill buildings. He designed and produced fabrics that were innovative in their textured surfaces and abstract patterns. A weaving unit flourished for many years, with a maximum workforce of 80 and Reich received many high profile commissions. The mill was closed in 1978, a decision much influnced by the constant risk of flooding. Much conversion and extension has taken place since then and the buildings are now converted into dwellings and small business units, with an impressive chimney remaining. The mill manager's house - Clifford Forge House (listed) - is nearby.0217
218Alfred Herbert Social Club140SP347814COVCross Road, CoventryMachine ToolsVThe Social Club of machine tool giant Alfred Herbert Ltd., one of the very few buildings associated with the firm that remain. According to the moulding above the entrance (with the AH logo), it was built in 1938. It is now used by the Sikh community of the area.0218
219Toye, Kenning & Spencer140SP352869NUNNewtown Road, BedworthTextiles:HatsOOn of the most important textile sites remaining in the county, specialising in regalia for civil and military markets. With origins in London in 1685, in the 20th century the firm moved its textile-based operatons to Bedworth and its metal-based manufacturing to the Birmingham Jewellery Quarter. The firm is still in production in Bedworth, specialising in narrow fabric weaving (such as ribbons and braids), hand and machine embroidery and crafted hats and caps. The site has a range of buildings of different ages with the older buildings at the rear. Important examples of textile machinery are contained within these buildings. No access to the factory, but the shop is housed in the more modern block at the front and is open to visitors in the working day.0219
220Milepost, Bedworth140SP359870NUNAll Saints Square, BedworthRoad:StreetfurnitureAA 'five-mile' milepost with the centre of Bedworth five miles from the centre of Coventry. Metal sign, now attached to the gate of the Almshouses. Marked 'To Coventry V Miles To Hinckley VIII Miles'. In earlier times the Five Mile Act forbade the establishment of non-conformist assemblies within five miles of a corporate town such as Coventry, thereby giving the opportunity for such assemblies in Bedworth beyond the milepost.0220
221Pump House, Bedworth140SP359870NUNNicholas Chamberlain Almshouses, BedworthWater:PumpingVThe current Almshouses date from 1840 and the square brick and stone building in the centre of the quadrangle was the Pump House, supplying fresh water to the residents from the Halesowen Sandstone beneath. Two hand pumps were housed within the building (no longer operational).0221
222Miners' Welfare Park, Bedworth140SP359867NUNBedworthExtract:CoalOThe gates to the Miners' Welfare Park, Bedworth, a large recreation area in the heart of Bedworth reflecting the importance of coal mining to the community. It was built in the early 1920s and opened in 1923, financed by funds donated from the Miners' Welfare Fund.0222
223Newdigate Colliery Wheel140SP361867NUNMiners' Welfare Park, BedworthExtract:CoalOThe winding wheel from the Newdigate Colliery, the last working mine in the Borough of Nuneaton and Bedworth until its closure on 5th February 1982. Erected 'to commemorate and in tribute to the miners of the local Coal Mining Industry'. Manufactured by Thompson and Southwick, Makers, Tamworth.0223
224Guy's Cliffe (Saxon) Mill151SP291671WARCoventry Road, WarwickPower:WaterVReputedly of Saxon origin, a mill has long existed on this site, with a granary attached. The mill buildings are of stone with brick additions, particularly to the rear. Previously two waterwheels but only the smaller one remains. The iron axle of the main wheel is mounted on the wall adjacent to the mill pool, and two millstones are in evidence. The mill closed in 1938 and was converted to a restaurant in 1952. but the mill retains its attractive setting and is a popular venue for visitors.0224
225Hoo Mill, Haselor150SP106578STRHaselor, AlcesterPower:WaterVAn interesting mill complex that contains a former corn mill and a needle-pointing mill, together with a mill house. The mill buildings largely date from 1810 with the needle mill added in the mid 19th century. The mills were powered by a low breast-shot waterwheel. Now a private residence it can be (partially) viewed from a footpath that runs alongside the River Alne.0225
226Cider Mill, Walcote150SP126581STRWalcote, HaselorDrink:BrewingVRemains of a cider mill and cider press attached to Cider Mill Cottage. The cider mill has a notable stone trough and roller.0226
227Kingsbury Water Park139SP206960NORKingsburyExtract:sandgravelOPart of the sand and gravel landscape of the Tame valley. An area covering 625 acres with 15 lakes, which was previously used for sand and gravel extraction. Workings began in the 1930s and lasted until the 1980s. The first gravel company involved was Midland Gravel who were later bought out by Blue Circle Aggregates which later became Amey Roadstone Corporation and eventually Hanson Aggregates drew the extraction to an end in 1981. The Water Park - providing a wide range of recreational options - was first opened in 1975 and has become a very popular site for visitors.0227
228Brandon Marsh Nature Reserve140SP385754RUGBrandon Lane, BrandonExtract:sandgravelOPart of the sand and gravel landscape of the Avon valley. The first pools were created by mining subsidence in the 1940s and 1950s from nearby Binley Colliery. The area then became a site for gravel extraction and a large area of flooded pits, fen and scrub now remain. It has become a Nature Reserve and an important site for bird watchers. Hope Construction Materials currently (2015) maintain a ready-mixed concrete plant on a site adjacent to the approach road to the Reserve.0228
229Lea Marston Lakes139SP213942NORCoton Road, Lea MarstonExtract:sandgravelVPart of the sand and gravel landscape of the Tame valley. Originally flooded gravel pits, in the 1960s they were incorporated in a scheme to improve the (highly polluted) River Tame. The river was re-directed into the lakes as a means of cleaning the water, with regular dredging and disposal of the resulting waste. The scheme was very successful and water purity was much improved. This, together with developments elsewhere on the system, has meant that this purification role is no longer required and consideration is being given to the future use of the lakes.0229
230Alvecote Cottages139SK247045NORAlvecote Lane, AlvecoteExtract:CoalVFormer miners' cottages serving the nearby Alvecote Colliery. This colliery was later merged with Pooley Hall (in Warwickshire) and Amington (in Staffordshire) to create the North Warwick Colliery in 1952. Alvecote Colliery was closed soon afterwards and the merged operation closed in 1965.0230
231Telegraph Cable Marker151SP285648WARSt. Nicholas Church Street, WarwickComms:TelegraphAOne of a series of (Victorian) telegraph cable markers in the centre of Warwick indicating the early existence of a telegraph system in the town. Cast iron, set in the wall at ground level and marked 'V (crown) R' with 'ft in' beneath. Originally identified and researched by WIAS member John Brace.0231
232Queen Elizabeth Rd. Nuneaton140SP336923NUNCamp Hill, NuneatonExtract:coalVCamp Hill, Nuneaton was chosen by the National Coal Board in the 1950s as the site for housing specifically for workers in the local mining industry. Many of these workers were attracted from the north-east (and elsewhere) to the (then) bouyant job opportunities in the N. Warwickshire coal industry. It also received displaced workers from overseas e.g. Hugarians fleeing the 1956 uprising. The main NCB housing was between Queen Elizabeth and Edinburgh streets whilst council housing occupied the streets higher up the hill. The NCB estate was seen as a pioneering post-war scheme, cheap and easy to construct with rough-cast finish. With the decline of coal mining in Warwickshire the Camp Hill estate suffered considerably and the rather drab nature of much of the housing did little to help. A major renovation programme is currently in operation. Many of these ex-NCB houses are due for demolition but those on Queen Elizabeth road will remain. They overlook Whittleford Park, a green space which was once the location of coal mining and then Haunchwood brick and tile manufacture.0232
233Watts Garage140SP152728SOLStratford Road Hockley HeathRoad:AncillaryVWatts Garage, established since at least 1917. Old petrol pump still located on side of road.0233
234Griff No. 4 Granite Quarry140SP363887NUNGipsy Lane, NuneatonExtract:StonePOne of several granite quarries that once existed in the area, Griff No. 4 Granite Quarry has been in existence for over 90 years and now covers an area of over 60 acres. It has been operated by a number of different companies over the years (most recently Midland Quarry Products), supplying granite products to the Midlands aggregates market. Quarrying has now ceased and a long term plan of infilling has been enacted, with the eventual goal of returning the site to agriculture, nature conservation and the preservation of the on-site geological SSSI. Midland Quarry Products currently (2015) continue to operate an on-site asphalt plant.0234
235Clay Pool Whittleford Park140SP335919NUNWhittleford Park, NuneatonExtract:BrickAThe former clay pit of the Haunchwood Brick and Tile Company is the principal physical remains of the (large) Haunchwood Brick and Tile Company that occupied land between Stockingford and Camp Hill. The works closed in 1970, the buildings were demolishedand the land became derelict, before a recent renovation project has created Whittleford Park, a green space for the community. The (flooded) clay pit now known as Clay Pool forms part of this Park. To aid interpretation of the space - and to remind the community of past history - the Park also contains an industrial heritage trail which has been created with a series of modern sculptures (often using Haunchwood products) concentrating on different aspects of the industry.0235
236Bermuda Village Nuneaton140SP354899NUNBermuda Road, NuneatonExtract:CoalVA small pit village constructed in 1893 to house miners for the new mine originally known as 'New Winnings', later 'Griff Clara'. Ninety houses were built, with a working Men's Club and Mission Hall (both of which have subsequently been demolished).The name 'Bermuda' was chosen because the driving force of the Griff Colliery Company Sir Francis Newdigate had once been Governor of Bermuda. Previously a relatively isolated row of houses in a fairly bleak industrial area, the land around Bermuda village has been subject to a great deal of redevelopment in recent years.0236
237Top Shop, Bedworth140SP356870NUNMill Street, BedworthTextiles:SilkVOnce a common sight in Bedworth, the Mill Street silk weaving topshops are a rare surviving example in the town. With modern rendering and changes in windows these are not obviously recognisable as topshops, but they did serve this purpose in the past.0237
238Top Shops, Bedworth140SP361868NUNRye Piece, BedworthTextiles:SilkVTwo three-storey former silk weaving topshops. Once a common sight in the town, these are rare surviving examples of topshops in Bedworth. The first two floors are living quarters, the top floor housed the loom(s). Chequered red and yellow brickwork, with the original top windows (designed for maximum light) now replaced by smaller versions, although the previous dimensions can still be seen in the brickwork.0238
239The Tens, Wilmcote151SP162580STRoff Aston Cantlow Road, WilmcoteExtract:LimeVRow of ten stone-built quarrymen's cottages to house workers for the Wilmcote limestone quarries. Their appearance has been altered by the addition of various styles of porch at front and rear. Separate coal house and toilet at rear. A current resident suggested that 'The Tens' were foremen's cottages, whilst 'The Eighteens' (see database entry) were workers' cottages.The quarries themselves closed at the beginning of the twentieth century and few traces remain. The name of the local pub - the Masons Arms - serves as a reminder of this activity0239
240The Eighteens, Wilmcote151SP158583STRAston Cantlow Road, WilmcoteExtract:LimeVThree sets of six stone-built quarrymen's cottages (making ‘The Eighteens’) to house workers for the Wilmcote limestone quarries. Their appearance has been altered by the addition of various styles of porch at the front and extensions to the rear. The quarries themselves closed at the beginning of the twentieth century and few traces remain. The local pub - the Masons Arms - serves as a reminder of this activity.0240
241Milestone, Wootton Wawen151SP155631STRWootton Bridge, Wootton WawenRoad:StreetfurntiureAMilestone, dated 1806, on the north side of Wootton Bridge. It forms part of the balustrade to the bridge which in turn is part of the low parapet wall to Wootton Hall. Inscription reads: To / London / 100 Miles /_x000d_
Stratford on Avon 6 / Henley in Arden 2 / Birmingham 8 / _x000d_
1806'. Renovation to the parapet in 1906 is recorded_x000d_
on the south side of the bridge: `The / Stone Parapet_x000d_
/ of this Bridge / was erected by / G H Capewell Hughes Esq JP/ Wootton Hall / 1906'.
0241
242Wootton Wawen Mill151SP156631STRStratford Road, Wootton WawenPower:WaterVThere is evidence of mills on the river Alne at Wootton Wawen over a long period, and in the 18th. century the mill was converted to paper making. It had become a corn mill by the mid-19th, and this lasted until 1912. The waterwheels were replaced by water turbines and electricity was supplied to nearby Wootton Hall. The impressive brick-built 5-storey mill complex fronting the Stratford Road dates from the 18th. century and has been used for number of purposes since milling stopped, (including storage for Atco lawnmowers) and has now been converted into a number of residential units.0242
243Coal Sidings, Leamington Spa140SP310653WARnear Princes Drive, Leamington SpaRail:RoutesOFormer coal sidings now heavily overgrown with trees and undergrowth. Used to deliver coal to the nearby foundry. Visible from Foundry Wood, Princes Drive - open to the public daily.0243
244Mayflower Green, Stratford151SP198555STRBirmingham Road. Stratford upon AvonDrink:BrewingVA terrace of seven cottages built for Flower’s brewery workers in 1938. It is a late example of company-provided housing but an early example of this style of housing, which became popular in the 1960s. Two storey, buff brick, with end wall of stone0244
245Maltings, Stratford151SP199553STRClopton Road, Stratford upon AvonDrink:BrewingVPart of a block of former maltings of the Flower's brewery. Converted to housing, with major modern extensions in the 1990s.0245
246Topshops, Coventry140SP328791COVLower Holyhead Road, CoventryTextiles:SilkVA row of workers’ topshop cottages, with the typically larger top floor windows for maximum light for working purposes. Built in two phases, the lower row (13-23) was built in 1819; the higher row (25-29) in 1837. Formed part of a longer row truncated by the building of the Inner Ring Road. Used by workers in the ribbon weaving (and/or watchmaking?) industry.0246
247Watchmakers 35 Mount St.140SP317788COV35, Mount Street Chapelfields CoventryWatchmakingVIn this building the Coventry Co-operative Watch Manufacturing Society concentrated on assembling watches, using parts made by members of the Society0247
248Herbert Art Gallery140SP337789COVJordan Well, CoventryTextiles:SilkOThe Herbert contains a range of material relating to the history of Coventry industries. Most significant is the unique collection relating to the ribbon weaving industry including over 250 sample books, with 80 from Franklin and Son and about 50 from J and J Cash. The collection has several thousand individual pieces of ribbon, dating from 1760 onwards. There are also ribbon designs and other archival material, together with weaving equipment, including a rare handloom and a large jacquard loom. There is material relating to other Coventry industries e.g. watchmaking and machine tools, and the Herbert houses the Coventry History Centre available for research purposes0248
249Watchmaker 21 Allesley Old Road140SP319790COV21, Allesey Old Road, CoventryWatchmakingVSubstantial residence and large rear workshop of watch manufacturers Thomas and (son) Rowland White, who operated on this site from 1851 to 1896. Part of the Coventry Watchmaking Trail, developed by the Coventry Watch Museum0249
250Watchmakers 22 Craven St.140SP319789COV22, Craven Street, Chapelfields, CoventryWatchmakingVThe premises of watchmaker Charles Flint 1876-1886; later watch manufacturer C.T. Hewitt 1896-1909. Part of the Coventry Watchmaking trail developed by the Coventry Watch Museum.0250
251Watchmakers 2 Mount St.140SP317789COV2, Mount Street, Chapelfields, CoventryWatchmakingVThe premises of George Rice, watchmaker and jeweller, trades continued from the site by his son, also George Rice. Rendered front is a later development. Part of the Coventry Watchmaking Trail developed by the Coventry Watch Museum0251
252Watchmaker 49 Allesley Old Road140SP318790COV49, Allesley Old Road, CoventryWatchmakingVPremises of William Williamson, gold watch dial maker. The metal framed windows of the (long) workshops at the rear are an original feature. Part of the Coventry Watchmaking Trail developed by Coventry Watch Museum.0252
253Old Nail Factory, Earlsdon140SP318781COVMoor Street, Earlsdon, CoventryCyclesVBegan life as a nail factory in 1885, but this was short-lived, and it soon became the premises of Fred Allard's Cycle Works. Allard was joined by William Pilkington and between them they developed particular styles of motor cycles. Subsequently, the Moor Street building experienced many changes in occupancy, mostly associated with the cycle, motor cycle and allied trades. Part of the Earlsdon Heritage Trail.0253
254Weavers' Cottages, Coventry140SP320778COVBerkley Road South, Earlsdon, CoventryTextiles:SilkVUnusual example of weavers' cottages in Earlsdon, primarily a watchmaking district. Three storey red brick building, with typical topshop windows (with modern window frames). With the decline of the ribbon trade after 1860, the cottages eventually became watchmakers' workshops. Part of the Earlsdon Heritage Trail.0254
255Watchmaker 13 Allesley Old Road140SP320790COV13, Allesley Old Road, CoventryWatchmakingVThese sizeable premises, with large workshops at the rear, were the home and factory of Philip Cohen 1874-1898. Cohen claimed that every part of all the watches he produced were made on these premises. He was a significant employer, and a prominent member of the Jewish community in Coventry. Some modernisation of the rear workshops has been carried out. Part of the Coventry Watchmaking Trail developed by Coventry Watch Museum.0255
256Watchmaker 164 Allesley Old Road140SP315790COV164, Allesley Old Road, CoventryWatchmakingVThe premises of W.H.Adams (1889-1953), thought to be one of the last watchmakers in Coventry. Part of the Coventry Watchmaking Trail developed by Coventry Watch Museum0256
257Midland Air Museum140SP355751WARCoventry Airport, Rowley Road, BagintonAir:AirfieldOThe Midland Air Museum – located adjacent to Coventry Airport – has 45 aircraft on display, some in the hangar, others in the open. The Museum also houses the Sir Frank Whittle Jet Engine Centre, and has a display on the history of aviation in Coventry.0257
258Whitley Pumping Station140SP357767COVLondon Road, CoventryWater:PumpingVBuilt in 1893 to the design of John Hawksley, the Pumping Station housed two beam engines to pump water from the river Sowe to a reservoir. Fine gothic-style building, red brick (Websters) with stone dressing. Ornate porch carries the arms of the City of Coventry. Some adjacent buildings already demolished and the building is currently abandoned and in poor condition. Lodge at the entrance to the site built in similar style (and in similar condition).0258
259Coventry Transport Museum140SP334793COVMillenium Place, Hales Street, CoventryMotor:VehiclesOThe Museum’s collection consists of motor cars, commercial vehicles, cycles and motorcycles, many with local connections. In addition, extensive collections of automobilia, books, photographs and a wealth of other archive material is held and conserved.0259
260National Motorcycle Museum139SP200828SOLCoventry Road, SolihullMotor CyclesODeveloped by millionaire Roy Richards the Museum houses the world's largest collection of British motorcycles. Some local producers are featured. Suffered a disastrous fire in 2003 when 380 motor cycles were lost, including some of the rarest exhibits0260
261Coventry Watch Museum140SP328790COVCourt 7, Spon Street, CoventryWatchmakingOThe Coventry Match Museum Project - run by a group of dedicated volunteers - is geared to encouraging the study of the history of watchmaking in Coventry and to develop a Museum to reflect that goal. Premises in Spon Street were secured in 2002, and the plans are to develop this site over time.0261
262Watchamkers 28 Lord Street140SP318789COV28 Lord Street, Chapelfields, CoventryWatchmakingVHouse and workshop of watchmaker Charles Read, who specialised in silver cased watches with gold (garter) inlay. Brickwork now rendered. Part of the Coventry Watchmaking Trail developed by Coventry Watch Museum.0262
263Watchmaker 31 Allesley Old Road140SP319790COV31, Allesley Old Road, Chapelfields, CoventryWatchmakingVThe residence and workshop of William Henry Hill, a leading figure in the development of Chapelfields as a watchmaking centre. The workshops at the rear have in fact been re-built in the style of the original workshop buildings. Part of the Coventry Watchmaking Trail developed by Coventry Watch Museum.0263
264Watchmakers 11 Craven St.140SP320789COV11, Craven Street, Chapelfields, CoventryWatchmakingVThe premises of Thomas and Ebenezer Player, enamel watch dial makers and painters 1850-1909. Part of the Coventry Watchmaking Trail developed by the Coventry Watch Museum.0264
265Watchmakers 125 Craven St.140SP317787COV125, Craven Street, CoventryWatchmakingVPremises of watchmaker James Adams, 1874-1886. Bay window is a later addition. Part of the Coventry Watchmaking Trail developed by the Coventry Watch Museum0265
266Shotteswell Milepost151SP421454STRWarwick-Banbury Road, Shotteswell turnRoad:StreetfurnitureAShottesewll milepost and benchmark. This milestone is situated by the main Warwick to Banbury road close to the junction with 'First Turn' for Shotteswell.0266
267Watchmakers 102 Spon End140SP323790COV102, Spon End, CoventryWatchmakingVWorkshop of William Henry Christie, watch case maker and movement cap maker 1896-1909. Part of the Coventry Watchmakers' Trail developed by Coventry Watch Museum.0267
268Chapelfields Watch District140SP320789COVChapelfields, CoventryWatchmakingVThe broadly triangular area that lies between Allesley Old Road, Hearsall Lane and Mount Street (including Lord Street, Duke Street and Craven Street) represents a unique district of watchmakers' living and working premises. Developed from the mid-nineteenth century, it was specifically designed for the industry, with accommodation for all classes, from leading manufacturers to the humblest journeyman. The masters' houses were located mainly on Allesley Old Road, with rows of terraced housing elsewhere for the workers performing the multitude of tasks involved in watchmaking. Viewing these houses from the front gives no real indication of the workshops that lie behind, often with typical topshop windows for maximum light. One place where this can be viewed is on Hearsall Lane looking up at the backs of the Craven Street properties. The Coventry Watch Museum has developed a Watchmaking Heritage Trail around Chapelfiels, with blue plaques on several properties, covering all types of accommodation. These sites are recorded as individual entries elsewhere in the database.0268
269Motor Heritage Ctr., Gaydon151SP356546STRGaydon, WarwickshireMotor VehiclesOA collection of nearly 300 cars, covering a number of UK producers from the smaller manufacturers such as Morgan, via niche producers such as Land Rover, to the mainstream producers such as Austin and Morris. The Museum Trust also works closely with the heritage arms of Britain’s major car concerns, including Ford, Jaguar and Vauxhall.The Museum has a considerable archive collection as well, covering documents, photographs, and films.0269
270Milestone, Ufton151SP386620STRSoutham Road, UftonRoad:StreetfurnitureACast iron milepost by Tarver Foundry, Daventry (name on base). Triangular prism form with curved top. Top face shows distances to NORTHAMPTON 25 LONDON 85 MILES. The left face shows distances to SOUTHAM 2 DAVENTRY 12 ¼. The right face shows distances to WARWICK 7 LEAMING-TON 50270
271Milestone, Shuckborough151SP492624STRPark Hill, Lower ShuckboroughRoad:StreetfurnitureACast iron milepost by Tarver Foundry Daventry (name on base). Triangular prism form with curved top. Top face shows distances to NORTHAMPTON 20 LONDON 80 MILES. The left face shows distances to SOUTHAM 3 DAVENTRY 7 ¼. The right face shows distances to WARWICK 12 LEAMING-TON 100271
272Kaye's Arm W. & N. Canal151SP422642STRLong ItchingtonCanal:RoutesVAn arm of the Warwick and Napton Canal serving Kaye's cement works in Long Itchington. It pre-dates the Marton Junction-Weedon railway from which also served the works. The arm is now used for as mooring for a range of residential and commercial boats, but beyond the railway bridge it is still possible to see the head of the arm as it enters the cement works site.0272
273Atherstone Locks140SP300893NUNAtherstoneCanal:LocksAA flight of 11 locks on the Coventry Canal, with 5 concentrated in Atherstone town centre. The locks are unusual because they have sideponds to assist in the conservation of water. Some of these have been filled in, others no longer function, but the pond adjacent to lock 6 can still operate with paddle gear intact.0273
274Redland Tile Works140SP361859NUNBayton Road, BedworthExtract:BrickVIn 1838 Staffordshire firm G.W.Lewis Tileries began producing 'Rosemary' (after Lewis's daughter) roof tiles from the local Etruria Marl clay. In 1920 G.W.Lewis joined with Haunchwood of Nuneaton. In 1984, Redland bought the Staffordshire company and decided to build a new production plant at Bedworth. Redland (part of worldwide Braas Monier Building Group) continues to produce the Rosemary tile.0274
275Victoria Terrace Housing151SP437639STRVictoria Terrace, StocktonHousing:CementVStockton is a village that developed as a result of the growth of the nearby Nelson's cement works. The company was instrumental in providing housing for its workers, and there are many examples in the village - e.g. Victoria Terrace, Napton Road, George Street, Elm Row (where the manager's house was also located). The houses are distinctive in their use of red and yellow brick, and Victoria Terrace has some interesting concrete pillars supporting the front porches. Nelsons also funded the provision of Stockton Methodist Church and The Nelson Working Men's Club, such that it lays claim to be one of Warwickshire's best examples of a 'company village'.0275
276Cement Works, Long Itchington151SP419639STRSoutham Road, Long ItchingtonExtract:CementPThe closure of Southam Cement Works in 2000 signalled the likely demolition of many of the associated buildings. For the time being (2015), some of these buildings remain, including the kiln chimney - a notable local landmark. The quarry and Cemex's National Technical Centre remain in operation on the site.0276
277Cemex Cement Works151SP420641STROff Southam Road, Long ItchingtonExtract:CementPSubsequent to the closure of the Southam cement works, Cemex now use the remaining premises as a National Technical Centre.This includes the 1913 building with 'Kaye & Co. Ltd AD 1913' displayed above the entrance, reminding visitors of the firm's founding family.0277
278Southam Cement Quarry151SP421624STRSouthamExtract:CementPThe large quarry which served Southam Cement Works is still operative although the quarried material is now taken to Rugby for processing. Some parts of the quarry are undergoing restoration0278
279Model Village, Long Itchington151SP415641STROff Southam Road, Long ItchingtonHousing:CementVA 'model village' provided by Kaye's Cement for its workers which still retains a certain atmosphere with a broad, tree-lined main road with houses either side. Started in 1912, it was built in several stages (reflected in the different house-styles), although the plans for a shop and village hall never materialised. The early concrete-built houses used the Calway System. In 1934, Kaye's was taken over by Rugby Cement, and the houses were sold off into private hands from the 1980s onwards. In several instances new types of windows and the addition of porches have altered the uniformity of the housing but the fundamental lay-out remains the same.0279
280Clothing Factory, Abbey Green, Nuneaton140SP360922NUNCentral Avenue, Abbey Green, NuneatonTextiles:WoolVOriginally built in 1910, this branch of Hart & Levy of Leicester occupies the corner site of Central Avenue and Bath Road. Largely re-built in 1946 after war damage, the factory made 'Harlevia' suits, coats and other outerwear. Frontage to Central Avenue with workshops behind. The Central Avenue facade has 'HART & LEVY Ltd.' engraved in stone over the entrance. After closure it has been occupied by other manufacturers, the most recent being Cascade Textiles (swimwear and garment manufacturer). The site is currently empty (2015).0280
281Bishop's Bowl Lakes151SP386588STRBishops ItchingtonExtract:LimePThe 90 acre site of the former Greaves, Bull and Lakin limestone quarries that fed the nearby cement works. The quarries have been abandoned and allowed to flood and these are now used by Bishops Bowl Fishery. Most of the pools lie to the west of the B4451, and the site can be accessed by fishermen!0281
282Greaves Club151SP390578STRBishops ItchingtonExtract:CementVA club established for workers at the Greaves, Bull and Lakin Cement Works. A plaque on the wall reads 'GREAVES CLUB 1887'0282
283Greaves Cement Works151SP392583STRBishops ItchingtonExtract:CementPThe site of the Greaves, Bull and Lakin Cement Works, Bishop's Itchington, originating in 1820 when Richard Greaves first started quarrying Blue Lias from a quarry to the north of the village. It expanded into a large site in the twentieth century, but in 1970 Blue Circle ceased cement-making and the site was cleared in 1994. It is now derelict and there are plans for redevelopment for housing. The works has an interesting railway history, with some remaining evidence, particularly of the links to the Great Western Railway.0283
284Hey Machine Tools140SP343822COVLythalls Lane. CoventryMachine ToolsV One of the few remaining sites of the (renowned) machine tool industry of Coventry. Reception and office building fronting the workshops behind0284
285Albion Buildings, Nuneaton140SP368910NUNAttleborough Road, NuneatonTextiles:SilkVBuilt in the 1840s for silk ribbon weavers. Originally three storey, but the top floor for the steam-powered looms has been removed. Brick built with stone facing around doors and windows. Later used by A.W. Phillips, tennis ball manufacturer, and Phillips Tuftex who made a range of sports goods. Southern section (towards Nuneaton town centre) has been renovated, whilst the northern section remains empty (2015).0285
286Sheldon's Wine Warehouse151SP258404STRNew Street, Shipston on StourCommercial:RetailOEdward Sheldon Wine Merchants have been trading in Shipston-on-Stour since 1842. Richard Badger, who started the business, passed the reins to his nephew, Edward Sheldon in the late 1850s. The firm experienced considerable expansion in the late 19th. century supplying wines to many parts of the Empire, and the business continues to this day. Interesting stone and brick building with 12,000 sq. ft. of original cellars (occasionally open for public tours) and engraved stone 'SHELDON WINE MERCHANTS' above the New Street entrance.0286
287Ashwin's Warehouse151SP201550STRUnion Street, Stratford upon AvonCommercial:RetailVAn extensive warehouse occupying much of the western side of Union Street and the corner of Guild Street. A fine 3-storey red, blue and yellow brick building, with stone facing, it seems to have been built in several stages with the changes in red brick colours in different sections of the building. Two broad entrances on Guild Street capable of receiving carts/vehicles. Ashwin's were general merchants, trading, for example in 1873, in 'Agricultural Implements, Corn, Seed & Oil Cake', and provided valuable commercial facilities to traders on Stratford's canal, river and roads. Now occupied by a number of different businesses.0287
288Rugby Cement Works140SP487756RUGLawford Road, RugbyExtract:CementVAs the UK's oldest cement works site still in operation, the Rugby Works are an important site in the history of the cement industry, both local and national. With origins in the 1850s, the quarries and works occupy an extensive site to the north of Lawford Road. Trading as Rugby Portland Cement 1871-1979 and the Rugby Group 1979-2000, upgrading of the plant (with associated closure of the Southam works) was undertaken from 2000 under RMC (Ready Mixed Concrete) ownership, with Cemex (Cementos Mexicanos) taking over in 2005.The modern works are a dominant feature of the local landscape, with some elements of former operations occasionally visible.0288
289Dicks Lane Canal Bridge Sign151SP186699WARDicks Lane, Stratford CanalRoad:StreetfurnitureAThe Great Western Railway Co. bridge sign showing the weight limit for the split canal bridge No. 39 on the Stratford upon Avon Canal. There is a Warwickshire County Council Unclassified County Road crossing the canal which is unsuitable for motors. The sign on the other side of the canal is similar but damaged. The G.W.R. owned the canmal from 1865 until 1948 after whcih it was nationalised. See the Stratford uon Avon Canal Society for more details.0289
290Leicester Line Viaduct140SP502766RUGA426 Leicester Road, RugbyRail:BridgesVA viaduct with 11 eliptical arches approximately 700 ft long which carried the Midland Counties Railway between Leicester and Rugby over the Leicester Rd. Engineered by Charles Vignoles and opened in 1840. Red brick with facings of Staffordshire blue brindles and sandstone dressings.0290
291Leicester Line Viaduct Footway140SP502766RUGA426 Leicester Rd. RugbyRail:BridgesALeicester line viaduct (see 0290 for description) reopened to cyclists and pedestrians in 2007 by Rugby Council. Listed Grade 2 in 2000.0291
292Rugby Wharf Junction Bridge140SP502770RUGRugby Wharf Junction, Newbold, RugbyCanal:BridgesVA cast iron bridge carrying the towpath of the Oxford Canal over the Rugby Wharf arm. Built in the period 1829-34 when the Oxford Canal was re-aligned to shorten the line from the 1773 route. Cast by the Horseley Ironworks.0292
293Oxford Canal Rugby Wharf Arm140SP501767RUGNewbold, RugbyCanal:RoutesVThe Rugby Wharf Arm is 2 furlongs long and is now a dead end with a winding hole and joins the Oxford Canal at Rugby Wharf Arm Junction. Once the main line of the canal, it went as far as Newbold before turning north to join the present alignment of the canal by Newbold Quarry. Built 1773 but altered to an arm in the 1830s.0293
294Rugby Station (a)140SP511759RUGMurray Road, RugbyRail:BuildingsAThe present Rugby Station was originally opened in 1885 and has been extensively modernised following the new track layout in the early 2000s. There is a new booking hall with cafe, toilets etc. which replaces the same, but much larger, facilities on the main island platform. The present station replaced two earlier stations to the west of the present site. Large steel and glass roof replaced in the early 2000s by modern 'gull wing' roofs over the platforms only.0294
295Rugby Station (b)140SP506761RUGWood Street Bridge, RugbyRail:RoutesVRail tracks to the east of Rugby Station. The photograph shows a train passing through the station en route for the line to Birmingham via Coventry. Previously in this area were the Engineers Lodging House, Wood Street Goods Yard and the BTH/AEI factories. Rugby still retains an important presence in the rail industry including Network Rail's Operating Centre and the plant depot of Colas Rail.0295
296Wood St. Footbridge, Rugby140SP506761RUGWood Street, RugbyRail:BridgesAA new structure opened in June 2009 to replace an earlier timber and riveted footrbidge (the 'Black Path') which gave access over the tracks east of Rugby Station. Originally gave access to the BTH factory complex but now connects Wood Street to the Webb Ellis Business Park and Industrial Estate.0296
297G. C. Raliway Station (Site of)140SP514745RUGHillmorton Road, RugbyRail:BuildingsAThe remains of the Great Central Railway Station opened in 1899 and closed in 1969. Typical G.C.R. station with island platforms with one up and one down. Freight pens on the left hand side of the main line. Booking Office situated at road level, platforms accessed by a staircase from the Booking Office. Now part of a nature walk. Line was between London Marylebone and Sheffield via Leicester and Nottingham. Opened in 1899 and various sections closed during the 1960s.0297
298Abutment of the 'Birdcage Bridge'140SP516757RUGAbbey Street, RugbyRail:BridgesAThe remaining abutment of the bridge which carried the Great Central Railway line over the London & North Western Railway (now the West Coast Main Line). The bridge was a large steel girder bridge which was demolished in recent times and known as the 'Birdcage Bridge'. Opened in 1899 the line continued northwards over a long viaduct before crossing the Oxford Canal. A large signal gantry was erected over the L.N.W.R. lines at the expense of the G.C.R.The area to the right hand side was a mecca for railway enthusiats spotting locomotives on the W.C.M.L., the G.C.R and from the Rugby Test House nearby.0298
299Railway Cutting, Clifton Road140SP523761RUGClifton Road, RugbyRail:EarthworksVA cutting on the railway line from Rugby to Market Harborough. The line 'split' after Clifton Station in order that the 'up' line did not need to cross over the L.N.W.R. London and Northampton lines. It then became the down line to take trains into the down side of Rugby SAtation. Passenger Services were withdrawn in 1966.0299
300Viaduct, Avon Street Rugby140SP523755RUGAvon Street, RugbyRail:BridgesPThis 13 arch viaduct was situated on the Rugby to Market Harborough railway line which opened in 1878 to allow trains to avoid a level crossing of the L.N.W.R. Northampton and London lines. It is now in the middle of a golf course. Passenger trains were withdrawn in 1966.0300
301Ice House, Stonleigh Abbey151SP315709WARStoneleigh Abbey GroundsFood:IceORemains of an Ice House on the west bank of the River Avon in the grounds of Stoneleigh Abbey estate. Approach with extreme care! Location is heavily over-grown and on a steep bank.0301
302Pumping Station, S. Abbey151SP316711WARStoneleigh Abbey estate.Water:PumpingOA stone built pumping station building for the Abbey lake. Due to be restored at a future date.0302
303Coundon Road Station (1)140SP325796COVCoundon Road, CoventryRail:BuildingsAThe former station building and house at Coundon Road Station, Coventry. Located at a level crossing approximately 2 mile north of Coventry Station on the Coventry to Nuneaton railway line.0303
304Coundon Road Station (2)140SP325796COVCoundon Road, CoventryRail:BuildingsVThe remains of the former 'up' platform at Coundon Road Station, Coventry. Located at a level crossing approximately 2 miles north of Coventry Station on the Coventry to Nuneaton railway line.0304
305Lock Keeper's Cottage151SP266855WAROld Budbrooke Road, Budbrooke, WarwickCanal:BuildingsVThe lock keeper's cottage at the bottom of Hatton Lock flight0305
306Stoneleigh Abbey Sluices (1)151SP320710WARGrounds of Stoneleigh AbbeyRiver:WeirsOLower sluice mechanism and stone bridge acoss the River Avon on the Stoneleigh Abbey Estate.0306
307Stoneleigh Abbey Sluices (2)151SP316711WARGrounds of Stoneleigh AbbeyRiver:WeirsOUpper sluice mechanism and stone bridge across the River Avon on the Stoneleigh Abbey estate.0307
308Stoneleigh Abbey C. I. Bridge151SP316711WARGrounds of Stoneleigh AbbeyRoad:BridgesOThe bridge spans over the River Avon in the grounds of Stoneleigh Abbey. Two spans with cast iron beams about 44ft. long, fish bellied, 20" deep at the ends and 24" at the centre. Lateral connection by cast iron cross beams and tie rods. Cast iron plate deck. Overall width 8ft 4in. Originally the cast iron beams, which are of a complex cross-section., contained large timber beams, hekl in position by a complex set of brackets. The reason for this is unknown and this form of construction may be unique. The date of the bridge is uncertain but 1821 is a possible date. The bridge has recently been refurbished.0308
309Lengthman's Canal Cottage139SP188677WARAdjacent to Lock 31, Stratford on Avon Canal, LowsonfordCanal:BuilingsVThe best example of one of the six barrel roofed Lengthman's cottages on the Stratford upon Avon Canal. Dates from 1812 and formerly occupied from 1926 by Ned Taylor, a canal employee who resided there for around 80 years. Currently a holiday let by the Landmark Trust. In 2015 a modern iron sculpture by Sir Anthony Gormley was placed next to the nearby Lock 31.0309
310Nuneaton Engineering Co.140SP352925NUNTuttle Hill, NuneatonMfg:MetalsVNuneaton Engineering Co. (former) Foundry. Constructed in 1898 to enable a larger foundry capacity for the Nuneaton Engineering Co. (formerly Hall West & Co.), owned by Reginald Stanley (of brick making fame). It made many different types of casting for the industries of Nuneaton (especially coal mining and brick making) aas well as carrying out general engineering work and repairs. The foundry is long closed with the site now known as Ratcliffe Buildings and, whilst some of the original brickwork on the frontage has survived, the site is generally in a poor state of repair.0310
312Arrow Tollhouse150SP080565STRJunction A522/B4085Road:TollhousesVA Tollhouse (originally two dwellings?) at the junctionj of the A422 (Worcester Road) and the B4085 (Evesham Road). Attractive two storey colour washed stucco building with arch-head windows with Gothic glazing. Hood moulds to door and wall above and to ground floor windows.0312
313Arrow Watermill150SP082560STRArrow, Near AlcesterPower:WaterVA long-established mill site, the current building dates from the early 19th century. The Sisam family ran the mill for many years after 1825, before Adkins & Thomas Ltd. assumed responsibility 1921-1962. The mill was then converted into a restaurant and hotel facility with considerable changes to the buildings.0313
314Bedworth Waterworks Tower140SP354865NUNTower Road, BedworthWater:TowersVBedworth waterworks tower was built by the local authority to meet the increasing demand for water at the end of the 19th century. It is an impressive brick and terracotta building, some 45 metres tall, reminiscent of an Italian campanile. There is a large framed panel above the door with the inscription 'BEDWORTH WATERWORKS 1898'. It is currently (2016) empty, awaiting redevelopment. Capacity was 60,000 gallons.0314
315Hillmorton Locks140SP537745RUGOxford Canal, HillmortonCanal:LocksAOpened in 1790, congestion on the Oxford Canal initiated the construction of a duplicate set of the three locks at Hillmorton in 1840. This created three pairs of two parallel narrow locks. The intention was that the locks would act as mutual side ponds, thereby saving water. Although no longer operational, the winding gear between the locks can still be seen.0315
316Hillmorton Yard140SP538745RUGOxford Canal, HillmortonCanal:BuildingsVHillmorton Yard contains a number of features that typify the work of a small canal yard. In particular the dry dock and boatbuilders' facilities, various ancillary buildings and a former engine house maintain the scale and atmosphere of this important canal location.0316
317Preston Bagot Lock Cottage151SP177656STRStratford Canal, Preston BagotCanal:BuildingsVOne of a small number of (unique?) barrel-roofed lock-keeper's cottages on the southern section of the Stratford upon Avon Canal. The barrel roof reputedly derives from the experience of building arch bridges on the canal. A private house, it has ben much altered and extended.0317
318Yarningale Cmn. Lock Cottage151SP183663STRStratford Canal Yarningale CommonCanal:BuiildingsVKnown as Bucket Lock Cottage, this is one of small number of (unique?) barrel-roofed lock-keeper's cottages on the southern section of the Stratford upon Avon Canal. The barrel-roof reputedly derives from the experience of building arch bridges on the canal. A private house, it has been much altered and extended.0318
319Lapworth Lock Cottage139SP186699WARDick's Lane Wharf, LapworthCanal:BuildingsVOne of a small number of (unique?) barrel-roofed lock-keeper's cottages on the southern section of the Stratford upon Avon Canal. The barrel-roof reputedly derives from the experience of building arch bridges on the canal. An integral part of Dick's Lane Wharf, it is now a private house, much altered and extended.0319
320Kingswood Junc. Lock Cottage139SP186708WARKingswood Junction, LapworthCanal:BuildingsVOne of small number of (unique?) barrel-roofed lock-keeper's cottages on the southern section of the Stratford upon Avon Canal. The barrel-roof reputedly derives from the experience of building arch bridges on the canal. Located at the start of the southern section it is now a private house.0320
321Priory Road Bridge140SP420161RUGPriory Road, WolstonRail:BridgesAAn unusual bridge in red and blue brickwork dating from the opening of the London & Birmingham Railway in 1838 which carries a trackway (public footpath) under the line of the railway. Single span brick four-centered 'Tudor' style arch with a skew angle of 30 dgrees. Square span 18ft 2in, skew span 21ft. Interesting skew brick coursing in arch. Six ring brick arch stepped in pairs spings from vertical side walls 7ft 6in. high with a much weathered sandstone decorative string course at the springing. Bridge is 33 ft wide with an overall maximum clear height in the centre of the arch of approximately 14ft 6in. Brick parapet walls with stone capping set away from the bridge on a 'corbelled' solid stone course. Wing walls of various configurations, the wall on the NW side is supporterd by a (modern) concrete buttress. The base of both wing walls on the south side is supported by a low brick wall 2ft 2in high with a grassed area between the two walls. Modern concrete roadway under the bridge. The section of the line on which the bridge stands was opened in April 1838. The Designer was Robert Stephenson and the Contractor was Samuel Hemmings (who failed and the work was taken over by the Company). Bridge No. RBS1/297.0321
322Guy's Cliffe Racksaw139SO951683ZMUAvoncroft Museum of BuildingsTimber:SawmillOA racksaw from the Heber-Percy estate at Guy's Cliffe, dating from 1896. The large-toothed circular saw would have originally been powered by a steam engine.0322
323Charlecote Park Brewery151SP259563STRCharlecote Park, Hampton LucyDrink:BrewingOBrewery buildings and equipment on display within the National Trust property of Charlecote Park. Brewing seems to have been in operation at Charlecote from Elizabethan times, but the equipment housed in the brewery building is mostly eighteenth century. A static display with information boards.0323
324Nelsons Lime & Cement Works151SP441648STRStocktonExtract:CementVAccess to the limited remains of the Nelson's Lime and Cement Works has been considerably enhanced by the current (2016) excavation and restoration work of Willow Wren Training. This has exposed a number of kilns on the canal arm. The nearby water tower (on private land) is marked with the trademark 'NELSON'S COCK BRAND CEMENT'.0324
325Nelson's Arm G. Union Canal151SP442649STRStocktonCanal:RoutesVA canal arm previously serving Nelson's Lime and Cement Works. Currently (2016) undergoing major excavation and restoration by Willow Wren Training. The former route of the Marton Junction to Weedon railway line passes over the arm.0325
326Farnborough Hall Ice House151SP429494STRFarnborough Hall, FarnboroughFood:IceOAn eighteenth century ice-house, brick lined with ironstone surround and curved retaining walls. Currently (2016) undergoing restoration after the collapse of a nearby yew tree damaged the structure.0326
327Compton Verney Ice House151SP313528STRCompton VerneyFood:IceOThe restored ice-house at Compton Verney dates from 1771 with an unusual thatched roof covering the brick built structure. Entry to Compton Verney is required in order to view.0327
328Warwick Castle Ice House151SP284648WARWarwick Castle, WarwickFood:IceOA double vaulted ice-house dating from 1830, located in the rose garden at Warwick Castle. Entry to Warwick Castle is required in order to view.0328
329Napton Quarry & Brickworks151SP456613STRNapton on the HillExtract:BrickVA brickworks (Nelson, Watson & Co.) was established in 1885 with a loading wharf to the Oxford Canal and a tramway serving the adjacent quarry. This became the Napton Brick and Tile Works in 1905. The brickworks closed in the 1970s and the last remaining buildings were demolished in 2016. The quarry contains much of geological interest and the brickworks area remains undeveloped. No public access but visible from a distance.0329
330Kendalls Mill, Stockton151SP446644STRStation Road, StocktonBldgs:ArchitecturalVEstablished by the (farming) Kendall family, it served the surrounding, mainly rural, community, utilising road, canal and railway connections. The mill dealt in coal and a range of agricultural goods including the processing of grains. The building continues this basic function today, serving as a Countrywide Store. It has been much altered but the upper floors contain evidence of its former life and the protruding hoist is a distinctive feature of the building.0330
331Barston Garage139SP197787SOLBarston Lane, BarstonMotor:AncillaryVSurviving buildings of a typical country garage supplying the needs of the local motorist.0331
332Catteralls Coach Depot151SP417644STRSoutham Road, SouthamMotor:AncillaryVA roadside garage (with inspection pit) acting as a depot for Catteralls Coaches, a small scale operator supplying local needs.0332
333Road sign, Baginton140SP346742WARCoventry Road, BagintonRoad:StreetfurnitureAA road sign 'BAGINTON PLEASE DRIVE SLOWLY' Manufacturer's mark 'ROYAL LABEL FACTORY STRATFORD ON AVON'0333
334Railway Cottages, Flecknoe151SP496645STRFlecknoe Station Road, FlecknoeHousing:RailVA terraced row of cottages built for staff at Flecknoe station on the L.N.W.R. line from Leamington to Weedon.0334
335Station Cottages, Stockton151SP447645STRStation Road, StocktonHousing:RailVA terraced row of cottages provided for staff at the Napton and Stockton station on the L.N.W.R. line from Leamington to Weedon.0335
336Station Cottages, L. Itchington151SP417641STRSoutham Road, Long ItchingtonHousing:RailVA terraced row of cottages provided by the L.N.W.R. for staff working at Southam and Long Itchington station on the Leamington to Weedon line.0336
337Lawton Copper Tubes, Coventry140SP296780COVTorrington Avenue, CoventryMfg:MetalsVA surviving example of a long-established manufacturing firm in Coventry. Founded in 1918 producing copper and brass tubes for the motor, rail and shipbuilding industries, it moved to its present site in 1937 and has recently opened a (striking) new facility on the opposite side of Torrington Avenue. It supplies a multitude of copper products to a range of companies including the Scottish distillery industry.0337
338Crossing Keeper's Cottage140SP318964NORQuarry Lane, MancetterRail:BuildingsVA crossing keeper's cottage built circa 1847 for the Trent Valley Railway. Designed by J.W. Livock who was also responsible for Atherstone Station. Attractive building of red brick with stone dressing, 'fish-scale' roof tiles and Dutch gables. Later replaced by a bridge over the line., Now a private house with extensions to the original cottage.0338
339Compton Garage, L. Compton151SP287329STRShipston Road, Long Compton on A3400 oppoiste churchMotor:AncillaryVThe twin arch entrance to a stone building functioning as a garage on the main street of Long Compton. Some old pumps and equipment remain.0339
340Mancetter Mill140SP322966NORMill Lane, MancetterPower:WaterVA small water mill on the River Anker, much reduced in height and showing scant evidence of mill activity. Mill Lane crosses the mill race on a footbridge with the (undershot) wheel pit discernible from the bridge.0340
341Sarginsons Factory140SP295778COVTorrington Avenue, CoventryMfg:MetalsVAn important survivor of manufacturing in the city, Sarginsons have been speciaising in aluminium diecasting in Coventry since the 1930s. They have kept pace with developments in foundry technology via investment on the (functional, brick built) Torrington Avenue site. Sarginsons are now one of the few European companies that can offer low pressure diecasting, sandcasting and gravity diecasting in a single foundry. Clients include some of the most respected names in the automotive, petrochemical, energy and engineering sectors including Rotork, Jaguar Land Rover, Caterpillar, Bosch, JCB, Aston Martin, Tata and Siemens.0341
342Packington Park water140SP226836NORPackington Park Estate, Great PackingtonWater:AncillaryPThe Great Pool has an issue fed by a circular spillway which flows through a series of small (abandoned) weirs and ponds into The Hall Pool. A similar circular spillway at the western endof Hall Pool carries the water into the River Blythe.0342
343Packington Park water building140SP225837NORPackington Park Estate, Great PackingtonWater:AncillaryPThe Lion's Mouth is an attractive stone building situated at the northern end of the Great Pool, well below lake level. A conduit overflow came down from the lake allowing the water to flow through the mouth of a lion's head set into the arched building and onwards towards the Hall Pool. The conduit is no longer used. Thought to have been constructed in the late 18th century.0343
344Offchurch Railway Viaduct151SP353649WAROver Warwick & Napton Canal Offchurch/Radford SemeleRail:BridgesAA skewed railway viaduct which formerly carried the Leamington to Rugby line over the (former) Warwick & Napton Canal. Excellent brickwork with stone dressing. Viewable from canal level. No access from the railway line, now partly restored as a path/cycleway.0344
345Packington Park Iron Bridge140SP223837NORPackington Park Estate, Great PackingtonRoad:BridgesPA circa 19th century cast iron bridge with two spans and stone abutments at both ends. Wooden decking. Ornate railing decoration to both spans. This attractive bridge spans the waterway and weir that connects the Great Pool built 1619-40 and the Hall Pool built by Capability Brown between 1752 and 1768.0345
346Packington Mill140SP216837NORPackington Park Estate, Great PackingtonPower:WaterPThe ruins of Packington Mill are sited deep in woodland. Some of the fabric dates from The 17th century. The overshot wheel was originally fed by a long leat from the Great Pool. After the Hall Pool was constructed a much shorter leat was made from this pool. The mill was disused by 1905 and largely dismantled during WWII. Remains of the waterwheel, millstones and some gearing are in the derelict (sandstone and brick) building.0346
347COVRAD Coventry140SP307778COVCanley Road, Canley, CoventryMfg:MetalsVThe 1930s factory of the Coventry Radiator and Presswork Company Limited (COVRAD) with the original Art Deco style office buildings facing Canley Road. The site was purpose built in the 1930s when the company, started in 1890 by the Jackson brothers, re-located from Trafalgar Street, Coventry. The company has a reputation for high quality products for the motor industry including radiators, plated parts and other components. The original 'fire pool' from WWII survives just inside the main gates and now serves as a duck pond.0347
348Hunningham Bridge140SP372685WARHunningham Road, Leamington SpaRoad:BridgesABuilt circa 1651. Sandstone ashlar with 3 semi-circular arches with cutwaters. Spans the river. 2 further semi-circular flood water arches on the west bank. Plain parapet with 2 pairs of splayed refuges off the roadway on each side in the cutwater piers. Said to have been probably built by the monks of Stoneleigh Abbey.0348
349Canal House, Coventry Canal Basin140SP333796COVCoventry Canal BasinCanal:BuildingsVProbably built in the 1840s to replace an earlier house which was demolished to provide new access to the basin via Drapers Field bridge. The house was used by successive canal managers. Now occupied by a children's nursery.0349
350Bridge No. 1 Coventry Basin140SP333796COVCoventry Canal BasinCanal:BridgesABuilt in 1769 but altered subsequently as shown by the changes in brickwork. Interesting because it has no towpath, designed for security reasons to prevent public access from the towpath of the canal. Originally boats were not allowed to moor inside the basin at night and at dusk a floating beam was locked into position on the northern side of the bridge.0350
351Canal Warehouses, Coventry Basin140SP333795COVLeicester Row, CoventryCanal:BuildingsVWarehouses serving the Coventry Canal Basin with roadside access from Leicester Row. The extensive frontage was built over the period 1787 to 1914 in four stages, reflected in the different styles, scale and roof heights. All in brick with slate roofs with interesting variations in arch entrances and windows. Warehouse at the southern end has COVENTRY CANAL BASIN painted on its front whilst the next door building has COVENTRY CANAL WAREHOUSE on the gable. Now converted for a variety of uses.0351
352Lapworth Water Tower139SP175710WARLapworth Street, LapworthWater:TowersVA relatively large water tower constructed in 1957. Capacity 200,000 gallons. A reinforced concrete (rc) drum tank with domed floor and supported on 8 rc columns. Circular rc wall about 8ft high around base. Central access shaft through drum. 77 ft high overall. Brick building at base of tower housing valves, sink, heater and remote level indicator. Telephone. Supplies N. end of former Warwick RDC north and west parishes network. Now has a new life in telecommunications with a considerable array of masts and dishes.0352
353Forge Garage, Kenilworth140SP294727WARMill End, KenilworthMotor:AncillaryVFormerly known as Forge Garage, now 'Just Tyres', the building (much altered), was originally a forge/smithy. Located on the corner of Mill End and Forge Road close to the site of a demolished mill.0353
354Maxstoke Station140SP212885NORMaxstoke, North warwickshireRail:BuildingsVColeshill station was opened by the Birmingham & Derby Junction Railway in 1839 to link Derby, via Whitacre Junction with Hampton in Arden from where trains travelled over the London & Birminham Railway's line to Curzon Street. The line lost its importance when the B.& D.J.R. opened its own direct route into Biringham in 1842. Closed to passenger taffic in 1917. In 1923 the station was renamed Maxstoke and retained as a goods facility until final closure in 1939 with the line being finally lifted in 1952. One platform with sloping ends is still visible, the red brick building and level crossing is long gone.0354
355Hollis Lane Bridge Kenilworth140SP285744WARHollis Lane, KenilworthRail:BridgesVAn interesting blue brick skew railway bridge at Hollis Lane, formerly used to carry the Kenilworth Junction to Berkswell railway line. The bricks under the arch are laid on the diagonal. The line closed in the 1960s and is now part of the national cycle route network.0355
356Barston Bridge140SP216783SOLBarston Lane, BarstonRoad:BridgesAAn interesting brick and stone twin arch bridge spanning the River Blythe. Modern brick parapet on the north side and metal railing on the south side. The bridge received serious damage from a road vehicle. The north side parapet contains a stone plaque with the wording 'Erected by public subscription 1859 Samuel Brett Shirreff Rector' There is also an Ordnance Survey arrow bench mark.0356
357Burmington Mill151SP261381STRBurmingtonPower:WaterVThis large 4-storey mill was built in two phases - the southern section in the 18th century, the northern in the 19th. Powered by two waterwheels, later replaced by turbines. These are now all removed. Milling ceased in the 1950s and the building was used by a firm manufacturing prefabricated buildings before being partly converted into flats, then becoming a Christian Retreat. A serious flood - and subsequent fire in 2007 when a faulty humidifier sparked the blaze - has resulted in a major refit internally and the removal of the external lucam from the eastern end of the mill. An (unrestored) forge exists on the western end and there is a separate mill house building marked 'J C E of N 1752'.0357
358Ribbon Factory Coventry140SP335791COVNew Buildings, CoventryTextiles:RibbonVBuilt in the mid-19th century with later additions, this former ribbon factory is three storeys high with the basement, opening out at ground level to the rear of New Buildings. Built of red brick with slate roofs, it has the characteristic large windows utilised in the weaving industry. Attached to the south-west of the factory is the office or manager's house, two storeys high. After weaving had finished the buildings trannsferred to other uses before being converted to accommodation and a bar/restaurant in 2002.0358
359Great Bridge, Warwick Castle151SP285646WARMill Street, WarwickRoad:BridgesVRemains of a late medieval stone ashlar bridge marking an early crossing of the River Avon beneath the walls of Warwick Castle. Three arches in the river with fragments on each bank and cutwaters upstream and downstream on the piers. Replaced by a later bridge upstream, opened in 1793 (see entry No. 41). Distant view from this new bridge but best seen either from Mill Gardens or the bottom of Mill Street (entry fee) or from Warwick Castle (large entry fee).0359
360Massey Ferguson Memorial140SP274794COVBanner Lane, CoventryMotor VehiclesAThe Massey Ferguson Memorial. At the former entrance to the site of the western world's largest tractor manufacturing plant. The plant produced 3,307,996 units for home use and export between 1946 and 2003. Nothing remains of the site today except some perimeter fencing. Close by in Broad Lane the MF Social Club still thrives. An early brick farm house building and pig sty are incorporated into the club which contains a wonderful collection of photographs, some taken indside the old plant.0360
361Grendon Hall Ice House140SP288010NORFarm Lane, GrendonFood:IceVThe Ice House at Grendon Hall (demolished 1933) is made from red brick with a domed ceiling. The building is buried under a covering of earth and thick ivy. There is a low and narrow arched entrance which is approximately 3.5 metres (11.5 ft) long and 1.5 metres (5 ft) high. The main body of the structure is approximately 3 - 4 metres (10 - 13 ft) in diameter and about 5 metres (16.5 ft) high. The fabric is in remarkably good condition and dry although a considerable amount of rubbish has been dumped inside.0361
362Sutton Stop Lock140SP360846NUNHawkesbury JunctionCanal:LocksASutton Stop Lock is a narrow lock situated near Hawkesbury Junction Basin. It was built to prevent the Oxford Canal losing water to the Coventry Canal at the junction. The fall of the lock is only 7 inches. The original lockkeepers were the Sutton family from which the lock is named.0362
363Shustoke Reservoir140SP227913NORShustoke, WarwickshireWater:ReservoirsAShustoke drinking water reservoir consists of two pools. A 90 acre pool and an 8 acre settling pool. It holds 422 million gallons and is fed from the nearby rivers Bourne and Blythe. Water held is pumped to the nearby Whitacre Treatment plant. It was built by the Birmingham Waterworks Co. from 1879 to 1884. It quickly became inadequate for Birmingham and was relpaced by the Elan Valley scheme. It then became an emergency supply only. Today it supplies Nuneaton, Bedworth, Atherstone and parts of Coventry. Recreational usres are the Shustoke Sailing Club, Shustoke Fly Fishers, birdwatchers and walkers.0363
364Wall Crane, Roebuck Inn Wk.151SP286651WARPriory Road, WarwickBldgs. AncillaryAA wall crane mounted on the rear wall of the Roebuck Inn in Priory Road, Warwick. To service a hay loft. A 'gallows' type structure with a horizontal beam with pulley at the outer end which is bracketed from a vertical pivoted member mounted adjacent to the brick wall of the building. Supported by a digonal member. On the right hand side of and adjacent to a doorway at first floor level.0364
365Napton Reservoir151SP466629STRNapton Junction, Grand Union CanalCanal:ReservoirsAA canal reservoir at the junction between the Grand Union Canal (Warwick & Napton Canal) and the North Oxford Canal. It is used to store excess water from the North Oxford Canal to supply water to the Grand Uinion Canal on its way down to Leamington Spa. Used as a fishery and in the past by Automotive Products Sports and Social Club as its Dinghy Sailing Club water. Old winch and concrete slipway remain.0365
366Locke & England Pillars140SP318661WAR12 Guy Street, Leamington Spa CV32 4RTBldgs:AncillaryOCast iron supporting pillars manufactured by W. Glover & Sons of Warwick. Located inside the rear of the building which may have been used for garaging or a coach house in the past. Visible anytime the auction house is open to the public.0366
367Alfred Herbert Surgery140SP346816COVoff Cross Road, CoventryMachine ToolsVOne of the very few buildings that remain of the Alfred Herbert Machine Tool Works in Edgwick, Coventry. The surgery was opened in 1934, with the expressed desire that it should be a perpetual memorial to Lady Florence Herbert (who died in 1930). When in operation, the surgery was open from 7.30 a.m. to 8.00 p.m. and dealt with between 70 and 80 cases a day. Though the building is now largely hidden from view by walls, barbed wire and undergrowth, the commenorative plaque is still visible. It reads:_x000d_
'BUILT BY ALFRED HERBERT LTD. IN MEMORY OF LADY (FLORENCE) HERBERT WHO DIED MAY 25 1930. HER CONSTANT LOVING CARE FOR US ALL IS NOT FORGOTTEN'
0367
368Former Kenilworth Rly. Stn.140SP288717WARStation Road, KenilworthRail:BuildingsAThe facade at the entrance to the former Kings Arms assembly rooms in Station Road was the facade which was originally part of the original 1844 Kenilworth railway station. It was re-erected in Station Road about 500 yards from the site of the station when the station was rebuilt in 1883. The Station Road building is now a bistro.0368
369Artesian Well House, Coventry140SP322791COVCumbria Close, Spon End, CoventryWater:WellsVCoventry Water Act authorised the construction of a waterworks and a deep artesian well in Doe Bank Lane. The works were completed in 1847. Large pumping houses with tall chimneys have long since gone and the site is now re-developed as housing. The works closed in the 1970s.0369
370Waterworks Manager's House, Coventry140SP323791COVDoe Bank Lane, Spon End, CoventryWater:TreatmentVConstructed circa 1844, mainly sandstone. Originally the Manager's house for the once extensive Coventry City Waterworks. Now a private residence, the site was re-developed for housing after closure in the 1970s.0370
371Black Swan Terrace, Coventry140SP325790COVBlack Swan Terrace, Upper Spon Street, Spon End, CoventryMotor VehiclesAOriginnally built as six cottages in 1455! After a variety of uses, converted to shop fronts between 1900 and 1914. The buildings housed Glover Brothers Motor Cars producing venhicles in the stables of the former Black Swan Inn. Glovers attenpted to build a 'plane to win the Daily Mail challenge for the first flying machine to cross the English Channel but were beaten by Bleriot. One of the cottages is fully restored to how it would have looked in 1540. This shows how John Croke, a Coventry narrow loom weaver and his family would have lived and worked.0371
372Lay-By, Holyhead Road140SP308801COVHolyhead Road, Coundon, CoventryWater:AncillaryAA lay-by on the north side of Holyhead Road originally constructed to enable water to be taken from the River Sherbourne by steam lorries operating from the flour mill in Cox Street Coventry. It was in regular use until circa 1949.0372
373Ansley Hall Colliery Pit Wheel140SP302911NUNJunction of B4112 and Tunnel Rd. ArleyExtract:CoalAPitwheel from Ansley Hall Colliery placed in the middle of the roundabout (actually some distance from the colliery). No plaque. Comprehensive book on Ansley Hall Colliery (1873-1959) by Lee Randle available from Nuneaton Local History Society. www.nuneatonhistory.com0373
375Mileposts, A3400151VariousSTRStratford to Long Compton roadRoad:StreetfurnitureAIn 2011, buried in a thick hedge by a stretch of the A3400 near Little Wolford one of a series of nationally unique 10' tall cast iron mileposts was re-discovered. There were three others still in position elsewhere along the former Stratford to Long Compton turnpike (1730-1877) and a fifth broken to pieces but rescued at Newbold on Stour. To complete the set there was a sixth of unknown origin at the Shipston on Stour Museum. The Little Wolford post was granted Grade 2 listed status in December 2011. This added impulse to a plan to restore all six posts. Speculation had abounded as to what they actually were. One theory was that they were for use by mail coaches. Bags of post would be suspended from the arms for onward local delivery. The mystery was solved when a photograph was uncovered at trhe Shakespeare Birthplace Trust. It was of the Shipston on Stour Picture House from just before WW1 and alongside it was the Shipston post complete with its milpost direction board inserted in the top castings. Now we had evidence not only of the shape and size of the direction board but also the typeface in use. Leander Architectural was appointed for the restoration and RM Installations to deal with extraction, transport and re-erection. We had nothing but full co-operation from Paul Cowley and his team at W.C.C. Highways. W.C.C. provided full surveys of services at the location of the posts and consent for the work. We had good support from landowners, Parish Councils and Long Compton and Shipston History societies. Long Compton PC provided an original site for the post after its restoration. IIn early 2017 work began at Leander and went very well. The posts were collected by RMI and re-erected at their sites all in one day. There is just one abiding problem - we still do not know who made the posts or when.0375
376Hearsall Common, Coventry140SP317786COVHearsall Lane, CoventryAir:AirfieldAHearsall Common is the location where jet engine inventor Sir Frank Whittle first experienced the power of flight. He flew kites here and saw an aircraft land in 1916. There is an urban myth that the aircraft blew his hat off and a plaque on the common shows this! He lived close by in Newcombe Road.0375
377Earlsdon Water Fountain140SP323776COVEarlsdon Avenue, CoventryWater:AncillaryABuilt in the 1860s by George Smith's Sun Foundry, Glasgow. One of a new generation of public drinking fountains designed to provide clean water as part of the war against water-borne diseases like cholera. Purchased by the City Corporation around 1870 and located outside St. John's Church in the City. Moved to its present location in 1921 shortly after the opening of the War Memorial Park close by. In use until the 1970s. After 150 years the fountain is again supplying clean fresh water and helping to reduce the number of plastic bottles in circulation.0377
378Electricity Station, Coventry140SP314787COVAbercorn Road, Chapelfields, CoventryPower:ElectricVA red brick electricity station supplying power to the western side of the City. Constructed in the early 20th century and proudly displaying the name of the city on the front.0378
379Symington's Corset Factory, Rugby140SP508755RUGSpring Street, RugbyTextiles:CottonVThe Market Harborough firm of R. & W.H. Symington, corset manufacturers, established a number of satellite 'stitching stations' in nearby towns and Rugby was chosen as one such location in 1881. It was one of the first factory industries to be established in Rugby and aroused much debate, but it was eventually decided to build a factory in Spring Street. By 1893 it was employing 250 workers. A modern concrete building was added in 1937 and further improvements were completed in 1949. In 1951 production was switched from corsets to brassieres and suspenders, then eventually to ladies' swimsuits. Symintons was taken over by Courtaulds in 1967 and the Rugby factory was the last of the Market Harborough based Symington sites to close in 1990. The building was subsequently used for a mix of business and commercial activities before its latest incarnation as residential units, although the recognisable shell of the factory remains.0379
380Napton Concrete Defences151SP456604STRCanal bridge SW of Napton on the HillDefence:ArmyAThese concrete blocks were intended to form obstructions in the event of am enemy invasion in the Second World War. The blocks were to be rolled into position and then tipped on their sides.0380
381Hartshill Concrete Defences140SP339955NUNLeather Mill Lane, HartshillDefence:ArmyAConcrete pyramids known as 'dragons teeth'. A device designed to restrict enemy movement. Arranged in multiple rows and in a staggered pattern the 'dragons teeth' were inpassible to vehicles. Second World War.0381
382St. Barnabas Church, Kenilworth140SP293725WARAlbion Street, KenilworthBldgs:ArchitecturalOA Victorian 'tin atbernacle' mission church clad in tradinitional corrugated iron material. Formerly known as St. Nicholas Mission Room. Services began in 1886.0382
383Water Pump, Stretton on Dunsmore140SP403730RUGPlott Lane, Stretton on DunsmoreWater:WellsACommon land in Stretton was enclosed in 1704. This affected the village and a hamlet called The Plott was set up for labourers in Plott Lane. Althouigh one cottage remains, the hamlet has virtually disappeared but the cast iron water pump commemorates the settlement.0383
384Saltisford Canal Basin151SP273656WARBirmingham Road, WarwickCanal:WharvesOOfficially opened in 1799, the Warwick & Birmingham Canal terminated in the town of Warwick, serviced by the Saltisford Wharf. Derelict for many years, now restored by the Saltisford Canal Trust Ltd.0384
385Canal Boat Rudder151SP273656WARSaltisford Canal Basin, Birmingham Rd. WarwickCanal:WharvesOThe rudder from a Warwick & Napton Navigation Company narrow boat found during dredging at Saltisford as part of the restoration of the Saltisford Arm to navigation.0385
386St. Catherine's Well, Coventry140SP322796COVBeaumont Crescent, Coundon , CoventryWater:WellsVA restored medieval chapel-like well of the Celtic type. Ashlar, gabled. Approximately 7 ft. by 5 ft. and 10 ft. high. Pointed arched opening. The well dates from the 15th C and at one time provided the west of the City with a supply of water, long since dried up.0386
387Stoneleigh Abbey Water Pump151SP316711WARStoneleigh Abbey Estate, StoneleighWater:PumpingOA restored and working water pump located in the pump house on the Stoneleigh Abbey Estate. Built circa 1851, the pump used to supply water to the main house from the adjacent River Avon.0387
388Tramway Pillar140SP331804COVLydgate Road, Sandy Lane junctionRail:TramwaysAPossibly the last remaining traction pillar (base only) for supporting cables of the overhead wiring of the Coventry Tramway system. The system never re-opened after the WWII raid on Coventry on the night of 14th November 1940.0388
389Bridge Rail Fence Post151SP189684WARLowsonfordRail:AncillaryVA length of GWR bridge rail used as a fence strainer post. In the boundary fence alongside the former Heley in Arden branch line at Lowsonford. Line opened 1894, closed completely in 19170389
390Railway Earhworks (incomplete)151SP409653STRHolmes House, near KnightcoteRail:EarthworksVUncompleted earthworks for the Oxford to Rugby Railway near Holmes House between Bishops Itchington and Knightcote.0390
391GWR Boundary Post151SP408567STRnear Holmes HouseRail:AncillaryVA GWR boundary post in the vicinity of uncompleted earthworks for the Oxford to Rugby Railway (see record 390) near Holmes House between Bishops Itchington and Knightcote. One of a number in fields indicating the extent of land take for the proposed junction with the Oxford to Birmingham railway.0391
392Long Itchington Viaduct151SP411645STRNear Long Itchington over River ItchenRail:BridgesVA blue brick viaduct carrying the former Marton Junction to Weedon branch line over the River Itchen at Long Itchington. Built for double track by Mesrrs. Scott & Co. Line opened 1895, closed completely 1985.0392
393Telegraph pole stump151SP293658WARBetween Emescote and Coventry Road, WarwickComms:TelegraphAStump of one of the poles erected by the United Kingdom Telegraph Company for its London to Birmingham telegraph in the early 1860s. One of many stumps to be found alongside the canal towpath between Emscote and Coventry Road, Warwick.0393
394Disc Pump and Chain, Offchurch151SP361661WARManor Farm, OffchurchWater:PumpingVDisused disc pump and chain, Manor Farm, Offchurch. Capable of dealing with liquids containing a high percentage of semi-solid matter. Unusual height allows discharge into farm vehicles.0394
395Cast Iron Columns151SP303586STRAshorne Hill Farm, AshorneBldgs:ArchitecturalVCast iron classical style columns by Glovers of Warwick on a Dutch barn at Ashorne Hill Farm, Ashorne.0395
396Corrugated Iron Building, Leamington Spa151SP328652WARRear of St. Mary's Church, LeamingtonBldgs:ArchitecturalVA corrugated iron building ('Tin Tabernacle') at the rear of St. Mary's Church, Leamington. Constructed of corrugated iron sheeting on a timber frame with matchboard lining. Made and erected by Glovers of Warwick, 1888.0396
397Cast iron grave markers151SP497617RUGUpper Shuckburgh churchyardMfg:MetalsACast iron gravemarkers, Upper Shuckburgh churchyard. Manufactured by John Smith of the Royal Label Factory, Stratford upon Avon.0397
398The Gatehouse Tavern, Coventry140SP329792COVHill Street, CoventryTextiles:WoolVThe North Warwickshire Worsted & Wool Spinning & Weaving Co. Ltd. (later the Leigh Mills Co.) was established in Coventry under the chaimranship of Lord Leigh in 1863, with the aim of introducing cloth weaving to the city. It was hoped that this would, in part, relieve some of the distress being caused at that time to the city's ribbon weavers. The works were greatly enlarged in 1910 and equipped with the latest machinery for the manfacture of worsted coatings ranging from fine tropical to heavy winter cloths and a range of other products. It closed in the 1960s and subsequently was largely demolished. Only the gatehouse remains, now functioning as a public house, 'The Gatehouse Tavern'0398
399Pavement Lights, Leamington Spa151SP318659WARLloyds Bank, Parade, Leamington SpaRoad:StreetfurnitureAPatented pavement lights at Lloyds Bank, Parade, Leamington Spa. Known as 'Haywards Patent Pavement Lights' after their manufacturer.0399
400Sluice Gate, Coventry140SP346780COVOn River Sherbourne, Charterhouse Road, CoventryWater:AncillaryVA W.W.II sluice gate on the River Sherbourne, Charterhouse Road, Coventry. The sole survivor of 10 installed in 1939. Manufactured by Glenfield of Kilmarnock, their purpose was to impound the river and store water for fighting fires. Paid for by a special grant from the Home Office.0400
401Boundary Marker, Coventry140SP309747COVGibbet Hill, Kenilworth Road, CoventryRoad:StreetfurnitureAA Coventry Corporation boundary marker situated at the junction of Gibbet Hill Road and Kenilworth Road, Coventry.0401
402Ettington Toll House151SP271488STR24, Main Street Ettington on A422Road:TollhousesVA brick built dwelling with protruding tollhouse frontage, maintaining much of its original form. Extensions to the side and rear. Roofed in slate with stone dressings to windows and front. Now known as Tollgate Cottage.0402
403Gunnery House, Leamington Spa151SP309661WARGunnery Terrace, Leamington SpaMotor vehiclesVAn interesting three storey building with a large archway access from Gunnery Terrace. The buildings run through to Guy's Cliffe Road, and ninteenth century maps appear to show them as a single entity. The buildings facing Gunnery Terrace are constructed in red brick with blue brick detailing on windwos, archway and doors. A date stone of 'VR 1859' and an external crane are attached to the second floor._x000d_
At present the original function of the building is unclear, but it certainly served as a dairy between the late 1880s and 1919. The sales particulars for 1919 give some idea of the extent of the premises. "STONELEIGH DAIRY, 7, GUY'S CLIFFE ROAD and GUNNERY TERRACE, occupying an excellent position and highly suitable for conversion into MOTOR GARAGE or FACTORY, having a frontage to Guy's Cliffe Road of about 30ft. and frontage to Gunnery Terrace of about 33ft. 6in. and a total depth of about 101ft. 6in. The premises conprise Shop with Office, Dwelling House with five bedrooms, spacious covered-in Yard with Stabling for seven horses and extensive Lofts and Store Rooms over, all substantially brick-built and slated. Available floor space about 8,349 square feet."_x000d_
Several light engineering firms seem to have been resident in the inter-war period before the premises became the wartime home of Supercars, a firm specialising in the production of small cars for the fairground. The Supercars firm vacated their premises in Coventry because of the threats of air-raids, and after the war moved again from Gunnery Terrace to Lock Lane in Warwick. The premises were then used by different firms over time, with a removals business utilising the space for storage as the last occupant before conversiuon in 1985 to Offices.
0403
404A.R.P. Warden Post, Kenilworth140SP285725WARThe Pound, High St. KenilworthBuildings:AncillaryAThe site of A.R.P.Post No. 12 is marked by the brick outline in the flags. Externally 10ft. x 8ft. with a 4ft. square extension forming a defence of the doorway. Essentially a small brick built air raid shelter where Wardens would keep equipment and a telephone. Last in the number chain of 12 posts in Kenilworth. Built October 1939.0404
405Victorian Post Box140SP284725WARThe Stone House, High Street, KenilworthComms:PostalASmall Victorian cast metal post box built into the garden wall of The Stone House in High Street. The post box was manufactured by W.T.Allen & Co. of London.0405
406Victorian Post Box 2140SP285730WARFieldgate Lane, KenilworthComms:PostalAA small Victorian cast metal post box built into a garden wall in Fieldgate Lane near to Upper Spring Lane, Kenilworth. The post box was manufactured by W.T.Allen & Co. London. Although similar in appearance to the VR post box in nearby High Street, there is a significant difference in the design of the opening for letters.0406
407Milcote Station (site of)151SP171516STRThe Greenway, Milcote, StratfordRail:BuildingsAThe remains of the down platform at the former Milcote Railway Station on the G.W.R. Stratford to Cheltenham railway line. Now a Greenway for cyslists and walkers.0407
408Railway Carriage, Milcote station site151SP170515STRMilcote station site, The Greenway, StratfordRail:VehiclesAA 1967 built British Rail Derby Mark 2 TSO railway carriage, No. 5344. Recovered from Long Marston storage depot around 2003 and installed on The Greenway cycle and footpath as a cafe. Close to the site of the former Milcote Station, now a picnic area and access point.0408
409Stannals Bridge151SP188533STRThe Greenway, Stratford upon AvonRail:BridgesAStannals Bridge - a steel girder bridge, now partly derelict which formerly carried the G.W.R. Stratford to Cheltenham line over the River Avon. One half of the bridge now carries The Greenway footpath and cycle route.0409
410Water Fountain, Coventry140SP330798COVTop Green, Warwick Road, CoventryWater:AncillaryAThis drinking fountain located on the eastern side of Top Green near Warwick Road, Coventry was donated to the community by Mayoress Alick Sergeant Hill. Designed and modified by Glenfield & Kennedy Ltd., this late 19th century design is known as Kennedy's patent, self closing, anti-freezing Pillar fountain. It consists of a short fluted shaft with a fluted domed cap and a (missing) small moulded finial resembling a pineapple. An attached plaque is embossed with the legend:'A Gift By Mrs Alick S Hill Mayoress Of Coventry 1916-1918'. Water, which was released by turning a decorative knob located directly above a lion mascaron spout, was captured in a tin cup suspended on a chain from the domed top. A small demi-lune trough at ground level captured overflow water for the use of dogs.0410
411Double Water Pump, Kineton151SP339510STRBanbury Street, KinetonWater:AncillaryAA double water pump on the verge in Banbury Street, Kineton. At the front, facing the road, is a large pump with two threaded spouts. The bottom spout also carries a bucket hook. Manuufacturer unknown. Mounted behind this pump is a smaller one complete with a side branch and an air vessel which leads to a high outlet pipe. Manufacturer Joseph Evans.0411
412Street Lantern, Kineton151SP337510STRFixed to wall of coittages in Mill Street, KinetonRoad:StreetfurnitureAA cast iron 'swan neck' street lantern fixed to the wall of cottages in Mill Street, Kineton.0412
413Iron Railings, St. Mary's Church151SP282650WARSt. Mary's Church, Church St., WarwickBuildings:AncillaryAIron railings located on both sides of the small door north of the main entrance to the church. Both sets of railings have a built in boot scraper.0413
414Barrage Balloon Defences, Coventry140SP322767COVWar Memorial Park, Coat of Arms Bridge Road, CoventryDefemce:ArmyADuring the Second World War, barrage balloons and anti-aircraft guns were sited in the Memorial Park as part of the defence of the City. The three large concrete blocks near Coat of Arms Bridge Road were tethering points for the barrage balloons. Similar blocks remain in place in Banner Lane, Coventry.0414
415Royal Pump Rooms, Leamington Spa151SP318655WARVictoria Terrace, Leamington SpaBuildings:ArchtecturOThe New Pump Rooms and Baths were opened in 1814 to take advantage of the rising tide of visitors wanting to enjoy the benefits of 'taking the waters' of the expanding town of Leamington. It was the largest of several spa baths built in the town, but the only one north of the River Leam. Despite the fall in popularity of such treatments from 1850, the landmark Royal Pump Rooms managed to survive as local investors refurbished the building in the 1860s with the addition of a Turkish bath and a swimming pool. A further swimming pool was added in 1890 (see photo entry 0040) and treatments developed further in the twentieth century (e.g. physiotherapy and hydrotherapy). Despite various changes to the building, the core remains to this day and, after closure, it was converted in the 1990s to a cultural centre that includes Art Gallery, Museum and Library. Part of the Museum's display presents a history of the Pump Rooms.0415
416WWII Pill Box140SP353649WAROn the former Leamington Spa to Rugby line close to Radford Bottom Lock, OffchurchDefence:ArmyVA WWII Pill Box located on the former Leamington Spa to Rugby railway line close to Radford Bottom Lock near Offchurch. Note: the location is often obscured by seasonal undergrowth.0416
417WWII Concrete Defences140SP276782COVBanner Lane, CoventryDefence:ArmyAWWII Concrete Defences, Banner Lane, Tile Hill, Coventry. Four extremely large concrete blocks, identical to others in the Coventry Warw Memorial Park (see record No.0414). There is some debate as to whether they were anchorages for barrage balloons to protect the many factories and shadow factories or were tank traps.0417
418Bandstand, Pump Room Gardens151SP318766WARPump Room Gardens, Leamington SpaRecreationABuilt at the end of the 19th century (dates vary according to source), this cast iron bandstand was manufactured by Walter Macfarlane & Co., Saracen Foundry, Glasgow. It is listed as sample 224 in the Macfarlane Catalogue. It received a major - and generously funded - restoration in 2018-19.0418
419Tea Pavilion, Jephson Gardens151SP321656WARJephson Gardens, Leamington SpaRecreationOA ninteenth century ornately decorated cast iron tea pavilion, which was converted to an aviary for a period, only to be recently restored as The Aviary Cafe. Manufactured by James Allan, Embank Foundry, Glasgow.0419
420Lamp Bases, Mill Bridge151SP321655WARMill Bridge, Leamington SpaRoad:StreetfurnitureACast iron lamp bases on the northern and southern approaches to Mill Bridge, Leamington Spa. Manufactured by Walter Macfarlane, Saracen Foundry, Glasgow. The lamps are missing.0420
421Park Gates, Leamington151SP313656WARVictoria Park, LeamingtonRoad:StreetfurnitureACast iron gates to the eastern entrances of Victoria Park, Leamington Spa, manufactured by Hill & Smith, Brierly Hill, acknowledged experts in this field. There are gates at the Archery Road entrance (this listing) and at the Park Avenue entrance SP3136540421
422Post Box, Ratley151SP368479STRWest End, RatleyComms:PostalAEdward VII (1901-1910) post box, West End, Ratley. Quite rare with an extremely small slot for letters. Attached to a telegraph pole. Makers name not visible.0422
423Finger Post, Hampton Rd. Warwick151SP275645WARHampton Rd./Hampton St. WarwickRoad:StreetfurnitureAA 1930s 'finger post' possibly manufactured by the Royal Label Factory, Stratford on Avon. Restored 2018. Warwickshire CC finial missing.0423
424Finger Post, Friars St. Warwick151SP279647WARFriars St./Bowling Green Rd. WarwickRoad:StreetfurnitureAA 1930s 'finger post' manufactured by the Royal Label Factory, Stratford on Avon (marked on the base of the sign). Restored 2018. 'Warwickshire CC' finials missing.0424
425Former Nuclear Bomb Store151SP321544STRLighthorne RoughDefence:AirforcePA former nuclear bomb remote weapons 'clutch' store for V-bombers constructed in 1955 at Lighthorne Rough to serve adjacent RAF Gaydon. Some of the original bunkers srill exist although the site has recently been subject to major re-building and upgrading. (Full details www.warwickshireias.org). This site was originally acquired in the early 1950s by the Ministry of Defence. Heavy reinforced bunkers were constructed for the assembly and storage of nuclear weapons which would be carried by the V-bombers stationed at RAF Gaydon. In the 1970s the UK nuclear weapons strategy changed from an 'air capable nucear defence' to a submarine based deterrent, leading to the closure of both the airfield and the weapons store. The British Film Institute purchased the site in 1976 to use as a store for film and media collections and particularly its nitrate film collection, which is presently stored in a series of buildings constructed in 1979 and 1999. Because it is not possible to extinguish nitrate films if they catch fire, these stores are designed with pressure relief vents to allow ventilation to outside air and the film to burn out safely. Another problem is that chemical reactions cause decay in these films over time. Once film is in an active state of decay, only storage at sub-zero temperatures and low humidity will arrest further decay and prevent ultimate loss (Warks. CC)0425
426George Clifford Stone Masons151SP198544STRSanctus Street, Stratford upon AvonMfg:StoneOOne of the oldest surviving firms in Stratford, the Clifford family have been stone masons in the Stratford area since 1770. The current firm was founded by George Clifford and has been operating on the Sanctus Street site since 1891.0426
427Cold War Lay-bys151SP323533STRLighthorne RoadDevence:AirforceAIn 1955 a nuclear bomb storage facility was constructed at Lighthorne Rough to strore nuclear weapons for V-bombers based at nearby RAF Gaydon. (See Record No. 0425). Weapons and equipment were brought to the store by road and large concrete lay-bys or passing places were constructed along Lighthorne Road which is particularly remote and quite narrow.0427
428Aga/Rangemaster Foundry151SP322649WARClarance Street, Leamington SpaMfg:metalsVOriginally built in its canal-side location by William Carter and others in 1833 as The Eagle Foundry, the site has long been associated with the production of kitchen stoves and cookers. In 1856 it was taken over by Sidney Flavel, a member of the Leamington family that pioneered the development of the closed iron range - the Leamington kitchener. It has expanded and diversified considerably since that date and buildings of various ages make up the large site. Perhaps the most interesting is the 1930s re-build after a fire, constructed in an Art Deco style (viewable from the Eagle Recreation Ground). There have been various changes in ownership, but production has been continuous since the 1830s and Rangemaster cookers are still produced on site. One of the early ranges is om display in the entrance foyer of the Company.0428
429The Old Coffee Tavern, Warwick151SP281650WAROld Square, WarwickBldgs:archtecturalVBuilt in 1880 by Warwick manufacturer and philanthropist Thomas Bellamy Dal;e as a teetotal venue to counter the temptations for local workmen provided by the public houses in the town. Dale was in partnership with his cousin George Nelson, of Nelson Dale & Co. Gelatine Manufacturers of Warwick. The building was designed by Frederick H. Moore, who also designed the Nelson Club in Charles Street (see photo No. 0161) The building is of brick with terrcotta detailing, including the lettering COFFEE TAVERN AD 1880 and two floral panels and other detailing in Arts and Crafts style. After Dale's death it continued as the Dale Temperence Hotel until it was bought in 1936 ny Warwickshire County Coucil and used as the Council's Staff Club. In later years the interior was partinioned for use as office space. In its latest incarnation it was re-opened in 2017 as a restaurant - The Old Coffee Tavern - but this time serving alcohol as well!0429
430Aircraft Hanger, Kineton151SP345519STRNear 'New Farm', KinetonAir:BuildingsPIn the 1930s the then Lord Willoughby de Broke was an aviator and used a field near Kineton as a private landing ground. Although the date that the landing ground was first used is not known, Lord Willoughby is known to have hosted a flying display at Kineton on the 23rd July 1932. An original wooden hanger was replaced by the following structure in the late 1930s. A steel framed building in two bays originally giving clear floor area of about 40 ft. (12m) by 30 ft. (9m) deep. The remaining wall cladding is galvanised corrugated iron but the nroof is corrugated asbestos sheeting. The hanger has four sliding doors 10ft. (3m) wide and high, hung from one of two overhead rails that extend beyond the hanger to be terminated on fabricated rivetted steel 'A' frames. This arrangement allows the doors to be fully retracted from the hanger entrance and thus maximise the width of the access. Across the hanger the door gear is protected by a weather shield but betyond the hanger the rails are exposed. A small side door gives access for personnel without the need to open the main doors. On this door a nameplate gives the manufacturer as 'Boulton and Paul Ltd. of Norwich'.0430
431Alfred Herbert Laboratory140SP345818COVCanal Road, CoventryMachine ToolsVOne of the few remaining buildings of the Alfred Herbert Machine Tools site at Edgwick. Previously the company's laboratory, it is now occupied by a car repair works.0431
432Atritor, Coventry140SP345818COVThe Stampings, Blue Ribbon Park, CoventryMachine ToolsVIn the early 1920s a relative of Alfred Herbert devised a new concept to supply fuel to the rotary kilns at his cement works. This involved the continuous feeding of lump coal into a machine where it was dried and pulverised before being blown into the kiln burner via an integral internal fan. He turned to Alfred Herbert for assistance in developing this idea and the multifunctional machine that emerged was known as the 'Atritor'. In order to withstand the rigours of coal pulervisating, high chrome iron castings were used, cast at the Herbert foundry - which remains in operation to this day. The firm of Atritor - occupying the Herbert site - was formed in 1980 and produces a range of drying and milling machines (including the latest version of the Atritor Dryer-Pulverisor) for a number of different industry groups.0432
433Railway carriage dwelling151SP249449STRLane to Armscote off the A3400.Rail:VehiclesVA residence constructed from a pair of 19th century railway carriages on the right of the lane leading from the A3400 in the direction of Armscote when approaching from Halford. Arranged in a T shape, the carriage facing the road is an 1884 ex Taff Vale Railway carriage and the one at the rear is an ex 1875 Brecon and Merthyr Tydfil Railway carriage. Believed to have been purchsed in 1930 from the G.W.R. Swindon and brought to the present site by Mayo's the timber hauliers of Shipston on Stour on a timber carriage drawn by a traction engine.0433
434Leamington Valve & Piston Co.151SP321654WARClinton Street, Leamington SpaMfg:MetalsVThe former Leamington Valve and Piston Ring Co. Engineering Workshop on the west side of Clinton Street, Leamington Spa. The business of Moses Whittle, the father of Sir Frank Whittle. Now converted into accommodation - 'Frank Whittle Mews'.0434
435S. & M. Tramway rail151SP151660STRGuildhall Gardens, High St. Henley in ArdenRail:TramwaysOA length of fish bellied iron rail from the Strtford & Moreton Tramway. Mounted on a wall in the Guild Hall Gardens in Henley in Arden. Visible when gardens are open.0435
436Horn Comb Factory140SP281724WARCastle Hill, KenilworthAnimal:HornPThe attics of a number of properties on the north side of Castle Hill (New Row|), Kenilworth were used in connection with the horn-comb industry. Horn-comb manufacturers were reliant upon a supply of animal horn from slaughterhouses. The horn was soaked for two months then boiled for at least an hour to soften them. After trimnming, the horn would be split longitudinally before being flattened between hot iron plates. The next stage involved smoothing and polishing. The 1841 census shows that out of 22 properties, 15 were occupied by persons employed in the horn-comb industry. There wasa horn-comb factory at 58 High Street.0436
437The Old Mill, Kineton151SP339511STRMill Lane, KinetonPower:VA former working mill, now converted to business units.0437
438Stoneleigh Abbey Post Box140SP321713WARStoneleigh Abbey, StoneleighComms:PostalAA Victorian post box with vertucal letter posting slot and VR casting on the front. Manufactured by Handyside & Co. of Derby and London. Located at the rear of the former riding school.0438
439Sewer Ventilation Pipe140SP275737WARBirmingham Road near junction with Red LaneWater:AncillaryAA cast iron sewer ventilation pipe, silver in colour. Date unknown, some ornate work in the castings. Located on the verge in the southbound carriageway.0439
440Sewer Ventilation Pipe140SP285723WARAbbey Fields, Bridge St. KenilworthWater:AncillaryAA sewer ventilation pipe, possibly dating from 1881 when a sewer was laid across Abbey Fields (see 'The Abbey Fields' by Robin Leach). According to local historian Peter James, the pipe used to have a crown finial at the top. It must have looked like the one in Codsall Road, Wolverhampton (see http://www.historywebsite.co.uk/pipecodsall.htm). Kenilworth photograph taken in 2003 but there has been no significant change to the pipe since then.0440
441Long Compton Watermill151SP278333STRBarton Road, Long ComptonPower:WaterVSituated on Nethercote Brook, a tributary of the River Stour, Long Compton Mill adjoins the Miill House. The mill is a stone structure, three storeys high, the mill house, also stone, is two storeys high with a date stone 'R.H. 1758'. The mill ceased working in the 1950s, but the building is not converted and some machinery and the waterwheel remain.0441
442Whichford Watermill151SP316635STRWhichfordPower:WaterVThe mill is a stone building of three storeys, with an adjoining mill cottage carrying a date stone 'R.M.E. 1711'. Other than the external structure of the mill building there is little evidence of mill activity, having been converted into residential accommodation. Outside, some evidence of the millpond and the leat to the mill from the River Stour remains.0442
443Halford Mill151SP258455STRMill Lane, Halford BridgePower:WaterPThis mill on the River Stour is a three storey stone building, with considerable brick infilling. A wheelhpouse covering the waterwheel was positioned at the eastern end of the mill building. This wheelhouse has been demolished, the wheel removed, and the mill is thought not to have worked since the late 1930s, with parts now converted into residential accommodation. The mill house adjoins the mill at right angles.0443
444Reservoir House, Crewe Lane140SP303726WARCrew Lane, KenilworthWater:ReservoirsVBuiult in 1925 by Kenilworth Urban District Council, the circular concrete structure was one vast tank that formerly was used to pump water to the local populace. Redundant for many years it was converted in 1991 into a home which includes an indoor swimming pool and roof terrace. At 105m the location is one of the highest in the Kenilworth area.0444
445Cherrington Mill151SP291368STRCherington, Shipston on StourPower:WaterVA mill on the River Stour, with the mill building dating from the mid nineteenth century, although there had been a mill at Cherrington for many years prior to that date. Unusually, the three storey building is built of alternate red and yellow brick, with a (sadly illegible) date stone high on the front wall. It is situated between the mill house to the south and farm buildings to the north and has been much altered in order to fulfiill its current function as bed and breakfast accommodation.0445
446Forge & Blacksmith, Kenilworth140SP292710WAR200, Warwick Road, KenilworthBldgs:AncillaryVFormer forge and blacksmith.0446
447Bramcote Waterworks140SK271039NORLinden Lane, WartonWater:PumpingPAfter much debate in the 1880s, the waterworks was constructed adjacent to Bramcote Brook to supply the village of Polesworth. The original building has been much altered and extended, is now a residence, but retains a (re-positioned) plaque recording its opening in 1888 and those involved with the project. These included:_x000d_
BALDWIN LATHAM M.INST.C.E. ENGINEER_x000d_
J.W.FERRIDAY CONTRACTOR
0447
448Old Pump House, Birchley Heath140SK280942NORGreen Lane, Birchley HeathWater:PumpingVA Pump House constructed in 1885 as another contribution to the supply of water to the town of Atherstone. Now converted into a residence, with features of the original building retained such as the roof supports and an access trap door in the lounge into the well below (specially revealed as part of the visit).. Waterworks Cottage (presumably originally for operatives of the waterworks) is located next door.0448
449Old Pump House, Warton140SK280026NORKisses Barn Lane, WartonWater:PumpingVBuilt in 1923, this Pump House was designed to boost existing supplies of water nto the town of Atherstone. Now sensitively converted to a residence, the building includes a p;laque over the front door ATHERSTONE DISTRICT WATERWORKS 1923 as well as rainwater hoppers carrying the 1923 date.0449
450Blackford Watermill151SP153651STRStratford Road, Henley in ArdenPower:WaterVThis mill on the River Alne just south of Henley in Arden is a fine set of buildings and associated water features. Milling has a long history on the site, with the production of animal foodstuffs continuing until the 1950s. The three storey brick building with central lucam is the main feature - now converted into offices - with the mill house on the eastern side of the mill. The breast-shot waterwheel was housed externally, protected by a whell house. The cast iron machinery is marked: R.SUMMERS WHEELWRIGHT TANWORTH. The mill building is Listed Grade 2.0450
451Abbey Fields Footbridge140SP285722WARAbbey Fields, KenilworthRoad:BridgesAA single span cast iron footbridge adjacent to Abbey Fields Swimming Pool over the Finham Brook. 17th 6in span, 4ft 3in wide. Two cast iron beams 9in deep, I section with possible bolted joint at mid-span. Macadam footway. Cast iron parapet handrail 36in high. Sandstone abutments which may date from an earlier bridge destroyed by a flood. Present bridge possibly 18th century._x000d_
_x000d_
Warwickshire Bridges Database ref. 161.
0451
452Town Pool Bridge140SP288724WARBridge Street, KenilworthRoad:BridgesAA masonry bridge with two separate spans. The southern span carrties Bridge Street over the Finham Brook with a single segmental arch of 32ft. span and 6ft rise. Single row of voussoirs 14in deep. Prominent keystone.The face of the arch is in sandstone with V joints. Arch interior is in red brick. Overall width of the bridge is 32ft. Arch springs from low sandstone abutment walls about 18in high. _x000d_
To the north is a separate dry flood arch also used for pedestrian access. A single masonry wegmental arch with voussoirs 14in deep with a prominent keystone. Arch interior is in red brick. Arch springs from low sandstone abutment walls about 18in high. _x000d_
Both arches have snadtsone parapet walls 45in above a prominent string clourse on the outer face and 30in high above the footway. _x000d_
_x000d_
Warwickshire Bridges Database ref. 135.
0452
453Park Hill Viaduct140SP294725WARPark Hill, KenilworthRoad:BridgesAA viaduct of 7 mostly semi-circular sanstone arches which carry Park Hill on a rising gradient. Tanyard Brook flows through arch 6 (from the north end). Arches 3 to 7 are semi-circular with a span of about 15ft. 9in. Arches 1 and 2 are segmental. Arch height varies with the inclination of the road, the arch springing from a low wall from arch 3 onwards. Voussoirs are single, 18in. deep. Deep V-joints, sandstone much weathered. Arch 1 is bricked ip. Arches 2 to 5 are bricked up, recessed on the west side with locked doorways. Arch 6 is half blocked with the brook passing through the other half. All arches are bricked up flush with the east face. Stone parapet walls on both sides. Roadway width, including a single footway on the east side, is about 25ft. Total length of the viaduct is 200ft.0453
454Park Hill Railway Bridge140SP294725WARPark Hill, KenilworthRoad:BridgesAA single span beam bridge carrying Park Hill over the Coventry to Leamington railway line. Possibly cast iron beams with a span of about 26ft. Recent red brick parapet wall with stone capping. Total length of bridge about 93ft. Stone abutments. Railway opened 1844, Engineer Robert Dockray. The bridge may have been rebuilt.0454
455Common Lane Brook Bridge140SP301730WARCommon Lane, KenilworthRoad:BridgesAA single span beam bridge carrying Commn Lane over the Finham Brook. Cast iron beams with later reinforced concrete beams above. Stone abutments with brick wing walls. Red brick parapet walls with stone capping. Height varies with the slope of the roadway. Width 18". Modern separate pedestrian footbridge on the east side. Plaque on the west parapet wall records that the bridge was strengthened by Warwickshire Counbty Council in 1992.0455
456A. Herbert Factored Premises140SP350807COVWaterman Road, CoventryMachine TolsVPurchased by Alfred Herbert in 1946 to serve as the location for the comany's (important) Factored Division. Previously in the ownership of ?Rover. Currently (2021) used as a tile and bathroom distribution cente 'Tubs and Tiles'. The brick abd stone frontage carries the date above 1937.0456
457Spon End Viaduct140SP322791COVSpon End, CoventryRail:BridgesVThe railway between Coventry and Nuneaton was opened in 1850 by the L.N.W.R. A viaduct was built across the valley of the River Sherbourne. In 1857 part of the viaduct collapsed and the railway was closed for 3 years until it was rebuilt. The present structure has 23 arches and a total length of about 350 yards. Araches 1 to 5 (from the south) are blue brick with sandstone outer rings, spendrels and piers. Arch 6 is a similar but smaller arch over the footway on the south side of Spon End. Arches 7 to 17 are in blue brickwork with brick piers (presumably the rebuilt section). Arches 18 to 23 are similar to arches 1 to 5. Arches span about 40 ft.0457
458Broom West Signal Box150SP080523STROff A46 between Broom and Salford PriorsRail:AncillaryABroom West Signal Box was on the former Evesham to Birmingham route and was built to a wartime Air Raid Precautions (ARP) specification which was designed to prevent blast damage rather than a direct hit from a bomb. The ARP signal boxes were generally built with 13.5 inch brick walls (the equivalent of one and a half bricks thick) topped by a reinforced concrete roof with concrete floors and lintels.0458
459Salford Prios Railway Station150SP080513STRStation Road, Salford PriorsRail:BuildingsVA railway station and goods shed opened im 1866 for the Evesham & Redditch Railway. The station closed in 1963. The station is still extant, it is little altered and used as an office. The brick goods shed still stands in the yard behind.0459
460Upper Tysoe indmill151SP331427STRWimdmill Hill, Upper TysoePower:WindAUpper Tysoe Windmill - built in the early 18th centruy. The structure is a 12 sided barrel shaped stone tower with batter. There are four sails. The conical cap is covered in aluminium with finial and tail projection for winding gear, two stones and the windmill still contains all its machinery. The mill operated until 1915 when it was struck by lightening.0460
461Cob Wall, Claverdon151SP291648WARWheelbarrow Lane, ClaverdonBldgs:ArchitecturalVThis cob-constructed wall is approximately 72 ft. long , 6 ft. high and 2 ft. wide. A shaped corrugated iron coping with a good overhang is in place to keep the cob dry. This wall is adjacent to a public road (Wheelbarrow Lane) and is quite rare in this part of the county.0461
462Long Marston Railway Sidings150SP154475STRStation Road, Long MarstonRail:AncillaryVSince the privatisation of Britoish Rail in the mid-1990s, rolling stock operating companies have used the former Ministry of Defence site to store out-of-lease rolling stock. The Long Marston site covers 135 acres and consists of 12 miles of storage sidings, a two mile test-track loop, a short length of electrified line and a number oif rail served light meintenance structures.0462
463Kineton Military Railway151SP373523STRBanbury Road, KinetonRail:RoutesVKineton Military Railway has 76 miles of track and extends over a 2,200 acre site. It is linked to the Network Rail main line system by a branch line consisting of part of the former main line of the Stratford-upon-Avon and Midland Junction Railway from Fenny Compton. During the 1980s the extensive network of sidings was cut back when internal road transport to serve a central rai/road transfer facility was introduced. The depot stores spare railway carriages and locomotives on behalf of various U.K. Train Operating Companies, utilising some of the redundanty railway sidings for this purpose.0463
464Stoneleigh Abbey Ice House No.2140SP319713WARStoneleigh Abbey, StoneleighBldgs:AncillaryPA second ice house constructted close to the abbey building and used to store ice locally. The main ice house on the Repton Walk is a considerable distance away. Stone construction (date unknown, possibly Georgian) and tunnel shaped under grass, earth and trees. Thought to have been used as an air raid shelter in WWII, the entrance sealed up in c.1958. Please note: in private grounds and not accessible.0464
465Watchbury Ice House151SP274611WARLittle Watchbury, High Street, BarfordBldgs:AncillaryPThought to have been built in the 1800s and altered around 1870. The ice house is oblong in plan, measuring approximately 19 ft. by 14 ft. 9 in. and 4 ft. 4 in. high to the springing and 6 ft. high to the crown of the brick vaulted ceiling internally. Walls are built in Warwick stone. The vaulting itself is constructed in fine 2 1/4 inch bricks. Note - the location is private porperty and not accessible or visible from the road.0465
466Old Water Pump, Hunningham151SP375683WARLeigh Terrace, HunninghamWater:PumpoingARestored cast iron water pump on the side of the road opposite Leigh Terrace Cottages, Hunningham. Located in a pupose built brick surround, the makers name cast into the left side is 'J.H. Clarke & Son, Kenilworth.0466
467Bombing Range Tower,Radway151SP358478STRWestcote Farm, Tysoie Road, RadwayAir:BuildingsVOne of two WWII brick towers (the other one demolished) used to control the bombing range below Edge Hill escarpment. The site was used mainly by Wellington bombers from RAF Moreton in Marsh. Located on Westcote Farm, with various equestrian developments now to the fore, it is just visible from the road.0467
468Spurfoot Bridge, Oxford Canal151SP461563STROxford Canal, Priors HardwickCanal:BridgesAA brick bridge, with steep approaches, carrying a farm access and a public bridleway across the Oxford Canal near the village of Priors Hardwick.0468
469Well, Middle Tysope151SP340442STRMain Street, Middle TysoeWater:WellsANow disused, village well located in the main street of the village. One of two in the vicinity.0469
470Old Water Pump, Warwick151SP280647WARLord Leycester Hospital, 60, High St. WarwickWater:PumpingAAn old water pump with wooden casing at the entrance to the 700 years old Lord Leycester Hospital, High Street, Warwick.0470
471Water Tower, Warwick151SP287659WARLakin Road, WarwickWater:TowersVA large elevated sectiona;l steel water tower located off Lakin Road in a car park to Warwick Hospital. Tank supprted on four steel legs with cross-bracing. Capacity unknown. Carries an array of cell 'phone aerials. Pipework appears to be adjacent to the leg in the south-east corner.0471
472Combrook Well Head151SP307569STRSpring Lane, CombrookWater:WellsAOne of two wellheads, built around the same time as the church and probably designed by the same architect, John Gibson. It has an ogee arch, the double curveed design that is characteristic of the 14th-century Gothic that inspired the church's west front. The opening is decorated with ballflowers, another 14th-century motif.0472
473Drinking Fountain, Middle Tysoe151SP340443STRMain Street Back Lane, Middle TysoeWater :WellsAA stone built drinking fountain. An inscription is in the arch above the fountain, painted black and reads "The fear of the Lord is a fountain of life Prov. 14.27". Two stones are set in the wall either side of the fountain with inscriptions painted in black with black crosses and read "My soul is athirst for God" (left hand stone), "Yea, even for the living God psalm 42.2" (right hand stone). This is one of several stone-biuilt drinking fountains which still stand on their original sites in S. Warwickshire. The village water supply was, in the 19th century, the responsibility of the Marquis of Northampton.0473
474Pillar Box, Holyhead Road140SP326793COVHolhead Rd./Minster RoadRoad:StreetfurnitureAA Victorian pillar box situtated at the junction of Holyhead Road and Minster Road, Coventry. VR insignia. Pre 1901.0474
475Holyhead Road Railway Bridge140SP323795COVHolyhead Road, CoventryRail:BridgesVA bridge carrying the Coventry to Nuneaton line over Holyhead Road. Steel beams with cast iron fascia beams. Cast iron parapet rails. span 35ft 3in. Width about 38ft. Rock faced sandstone abutments on the west side, blue brick on the east. West side has riveted steel I beams. East side has two iron or steel beams supporting cross beams with blue brick jack arches. East side possibly a widening of the original bridge, the original section being subsequently rebuilt. There are two rail tracks on the west side. The east side area is not used.0475
476Tusses Bridge140SP363839COVAldermans Green Road, CoventryCanal:BridgesAA large reinforced concrete bridge carrying Aldermans Green Road over the Oxford Canal. 13 RC beams. Span 26ft 6in, width about 50ft. and total length about 370ft. Replaced an earlier brick bridge. Parallel concrete vertical abutment walls. Towpath on south side of canal. Date not yet established but not before 1925.0476
477Brownshill Green Pumping Station140SP306827COVWall Hill Road, CoventryWater:PumpingPA small red brick pumping ststaion built by Coventry Water Works and dated 1930. Stone dressings and 12 light windows on front elevation to main block. Locally Listed. Now in the ownership of Severn Trent Water.0477
478Coundon Hall Water Tower140SP314827COVCoundon Road, CoventryWater:TowersVA red brick tower adjoining a private house adjacent to the Old Hall Hotel on Coundon Road in Coventry. Round headed windows on ground and first floor. Lower part rendered. Pitched slate roof. Disused.0478
479North Waste Water Tower140SP288784COVBluebell Walk, off Tile Hill Lane, CoventryWater:TowersVA crenelated brick tower about 15 to 20 feet high originally immediately behind a public house (now demolished). Area redeveloped for housing.but the tower, listed Grade 2, is preserved. Possibly latte 19th or early 20th century.0479
480Atherstone 3M Works Water Tower140SP318982NORRatcliffe Road, AtherstoneWater:TowersVA spherical steel tank on steel legs at the 3M Works, Atherstone. Date given as 1965.0480
481Idlicote House Water Tower151SP283443STRIn the gounds of a house in Idlicote villageWater:TowersVAn octagonal nasonry tower built in the 18th century. Castellated top with pointed roof. Windows on each of two storeys. A water tower and dovecote. Probably disused.0481
482Nelsons Cement Works Water Tower151sp441648STRIn woods north of the Stockton to Long Itchington RoadWater:TowersVA reinforced concrete circular talnk on slender reinforced concrete legs. Built 1913 to the Hennebique system. Capacity 20,000 gallons. Reported in 'Ferro Concrete' magazine of 1917. Served the now disused cement works. Disused.0482
483Hampton on the Hill Water Tower151SP252644WARGrove Park, Hampton on the HillWater:TowersVA circular reinforced concrete drum 45 ft. diameter with domed floor supported on eight reinforced concrete columns. 52 ft. overall height. 200,000 gallons capacity. Alongside brivate drive to Grove Park. Central access shaft through drum. Brick buiulding housing control valves. Remote level indicator.0483
484Offchurch Water Tower151SP375655WARBurnt Heath Farm, OffchurchWater:TowersVAn elevated steel tank of 30,000 gallons capacity.0484
485Rugby Radio Station site140SP553746RUGHoulton School., Signal Drive, RugbyComms:TelegraphVA major radio transmission facility, first opened in 1926, which by the 1950s was to become the largest radio transmitting station in the world. The station's masts (some of which were 820ft. high) became a familiar local landmark. _x000d_
_x000d_
From the 1980s traffic diminished and eventually the site was fully closed in 2007. The Grade 2 Listed buildings have been recently (2021 onwards) converted into a school serving the new community of Houlton, named after Houlton, Maine, USA which received the first transatlantic 'phone call from the station in 1927._x000d_
_x000d_
A good deal of information is available on the internet including rugbyradiostation.co.uk and former station manager Malcolm Hancock has produced a book 'A History of Rugby Radio Station'.
0485
486Victorian Pillar Box151SP287653WARCoventry Road/Station Road junction, WarwickCommms:PostalAA Victorian Pillar Box with 'VR' insignia situated on Coventry Road, Warwick, at its junction with Station Road.0486
487Dray Bridge140SP448707RUGLane between Straight Mile and DraycoteRail:BridgesAA railway bridge constructed primarily of blue brick but with much evidence of repair using red brick. The bridge (slightly skewed) carried the disused Leamington Spa to Rugby railway line and now carries part of the 'Sustrans' national cycle network.0487
488Lower Tysoe Milepost151SP354462STRA422 at foot of Sunrising HillRoad:StreetfurnitureAA cast iron mileost on the A422 at the foot of Sunrising Hill, Lower Tysoe. Manufactured by W. Glover & Sons, Warwick. Distances shown to Stratford, Banbury and London. Located on verge at the junction of the lane to Lower Tysoe.0488
489Kineton Milepost151SP329513STRB4086 Warwick Road, Pittern Hill, KinetonRoad:StreetfurnitureAA cast iron milepost located on the B4086 Warwick Road at Pittern Hill, just west of Kineton village. Manufactured by Glovers of Warwick, it is located on the West side of the road and is complete. Mileages shown to Warwick, Stratford, Banbury and London.0489
490Shotteswell Milepost151SP421454STROn Warwock-Banbury Rd. at junction for Shotteswell.Road:StreetfurnitureAA stone milepost and Bench Mark situated by the main Warwick to Banbury road (B4100) close to the 'First Turn' junction for Shotteswell.0490
491Willes Bridge151SP324658WARWilles Road, Leamington SpaRoad:BridgesAA late 19th century bridge carrying Willes Road over the River Leam. Pinkish-brown brick arches with ashlar and moulded terracotta parapet, cast iron rails and an inscription tablet. Three segmental arches with gauged brick heads and cornices. Frieze, chamfered copings. The Willes family coat of arms displayed.0491
492Victoria Bridge, Leamington151SP319654WARParade, Leamington SpaRoad:BridgesAA bridge over the River Leam, built 1808. Designed by Henry Couchman Jnr. Later widened in 1839 from 23 ft. to 40.ft wide on the east side by J.G.Jackson, Architect of Leamington, with Mr. Green as builder. In 1847 a footway was added on the west side supported by two cast iron beams. In circa 2001 the footway was removed and extensive repairs carried out on the west side. Three segmental arches in ashlar with repairs in concrete. A memorial stone laid by Henry Jephson MD on 25th May 1840 in south-east corner.0492
493Motor Depot & Showrooms151SP316662WARRussell Street, Leamington SpaMotor VehiclesVA variety of functions associated with the motor trade, including a transport depot for Sidney Flavell Ltd. and showrooms for Midland Autocar. Now converted to Gainsborough Hsll Care Home.0493
494Lapworth Lock Flight139SP180713WARStratford Canal, LapworthCanal:LocksAThe Stratford Canal is noted for several features, including the sequence of narrow locks which takes the northern section of the canal from KIngs Norton on the Worcester & Birmingham Canal to Kingswood Junction (with a link to the Grand Union) then from Kingswood to Stratford and the River Avon on its southern section. The flight is particularly tight at Lapworth between locks 6 and 14, with single top gates and double bottom gates.0494
495Stratford Canal Split Bridge139SP186704WARBridge 38, Strtaford CanalCanal:BridgesAOne of a series of cast iron split bridges to be found on the Stratford Canal, mostly on its southern section. They were an ingenious, cost-saving device in that it was mot necessry to provide a towpath beneath the bridges, but instead the tow rope was passed through a gap in the bridge. The bridge is formed of two separate cantilevers which do not quite meet, thus providing the slot in the centre of the bridge. The photograph is of Bridge 38, located between Kingswood Junction and Dick's Lane wharf.0495
496Binton Bridges (South)151SP145530STRWelford-on-AvonRoad:BridgesAThe southern section of Binton Bridges carries the Binton Road over the River Avon to the village of Welford-on-Avon, linking an island in the river to the southern bank. An original crossing is recorded in the 13th century but much of the current bridge dates from the early 19th century. Construicted of limestone masonry and brickwork with five arches of different sizes. List Grade II.0496
497Binton Bridges (North)151SP145531STRWelford-on-AvonRoad:BridgesAThe northern section of the Binton Bridges links the two islands in the River Avon to the northern bank towards Binton. Twentieth century renovatioon of the seven arch bridge, replacing earlier versions.0497
498Upton Milestone151SP373548STRA422 Stratford Road, UptonRoad:StreetfurnitureAA milestone beside the A422 in the Parish of Ratley and Upton (Stratford on Avon District), Stratford Road. South-east of Upton House, opposite Laurel Drive. 300m south of brown sign on wide verge. Now protecetd by two bollards.0498
499Long Compton Drinking Fountain151SP286333STRCockwell Street, Long ComptonWater:AncillaryAPart of a 19th century water system used to supply drinking fountains dotted around the village. Dressed stone with gabled canopy and set against a stone boundary wall.0499
500Beechwood Tunnel140SP261774SOLCoventry-Birmingham Railway, E. of Berkswell StationRail:TunnelsPA short tunnel on the railway between Tile Hill and Berkswell stations on the Coventry to Birmingham New Street line. Opened 1838 by the London & Birmingham Railway. Engineer Robert Stephenson, local Engineer Bernard L. Dickinson*. Length 292 yards*. Egyptian style portals (c.f. Kilsby Tunnel). An interesting road overbridge just to the east on B4101._x000d_
*Information from warwickshirerailways.com. Further images on web._x000d_
Noit accessible.
0500
501Grendon Bridge (New)140SK288006NOROn B5000 over River Anker SE of PolesworthRoad:BridgesAA single span masonry arch bridge carrying the B5000 road over the River Anker. Sandstone ashlar. Arch has 'stepped' voussoirs witth deep V joints. Span approximately 65 ft. Built 1827 to replace an earlier bridge. Prominent semi-circular string course. Curved abutments terminated by large octagonal pillars. Pillars capped with large octagonal blocks 48" across flats. Sandstone parapet walls 30" high and 13.5 " wide. Listed Grade 2.0501
502Alderminster Milepost151SP214501STROn B3400 at junctioon with Preston RoadRoad:StreetfurnitureAAn iron milepost installed in 1901 and repainted in 2023. Inscribed: ALDERMINSTER PARISH. Finger pointingf NW to STRATFORD 3 1/4 MILES HENLEY 11 1/4 BIRMINGHAM 26 1/2. Finger pointing SE to SHIPSTON 7 MILES CHIPPING NORTON 17 1/2 OXFORD 35.0502
503David Strasburger Ltd. Factory151SP326655WARLeam Street, Leamington SpaMfg:MetalsVThe former factory premises of David Strasburger Ltd, a small manufacturing company that once operated in Leamington Spa. Its range of products, marketed under the "Regent of London" trademark, included Dressing Table Vanity Sets, Hair Brushes, Hand Mirrors, Powder Compacts, Trinket Boxes, Photograph Frames, Smoking Requisites, Decorative Small Clocks etc. In the 1940s and 50s these were quite desireable items to have.0503